Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Thursday 2nd December 2021 - 08:24:07

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Peanut Butter Dunx - Dark Chocolate review

« Peanut Butter Dunx - Salted Caramel reviewPeanut Butter Dunx - Salted CaramelGraze Skinny Dipped Almonds - Dark Chocolate reviewGraze Skinny Dipped Almonds - Dark Chocolate »

Score: 9.0/10  [7 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 8966 - Peanut Butter Dunx - Dark Chocolate
Brand / Manufactured by: Graze

Peanut Butter Dunx - Dark Chocolate
Price:
$5.99 / 170g bag
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Graze

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by Graze or their agents for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets nationwide
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

Peanut Butter Dunx - Dark Chocolate product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsAt Graze, we're huge fans of smothering crafted peanut butter on anything and everything! We've taken humble roasted peanuts and lovingly dunked them in a smooth, dark chocolate peanut butter blend. You'll sink your pearly whites into a smooth, dark chocolate peanut butter blend, that gives way to crunchy, roasted, peanutty goodness. So, take the plunge!

Have your peanut butter and eat it too. Happy days!

Ingredients: Chocolate Peanut Butter Coating (60%) (Dark Chocolate (60%) (87% Cocoa Solids Min.) (Cocoa Butter, Cocoa Mass, Sugar, Cocoa Powder, Emulsifier (Soy Lecithin), Milk), Roasted Peanut Flour (30%), Icing Sugar (Sugar, Starch), Salt), Roasted Peanuts (40%) (Roasted Peanuts, Canola Oil).

Check out Graze onlineClick here to see all the listings for Graze Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board Check them out on Instagram They do not have a TikTok channel



Tags:
canola oil   chocolate   dunx   graze   milk   peanuts   salt   soy   sugar   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Peanut Butter Dunx - Slightly SaltedPeanut Butter Dunx - Slightly Salted
Rating: 8.7
Peanut Butter Dunx - Salted CaramelPeanut Butter Dunx - Salted Caramel
Rating: 8.2
DJ's TakeawaysDJ's Takeaways
Rating: 3.8
Mr HangiMr Hangi
Rating: 9.0
VavasseurVavasseur
Rating: 9.0
Triple Cheese CrustTriple Cheese Crust
Rating: 8.8
Kumara RostiKumara Rosti
Rating: 8.8
Hot Dog Harry PizzaHot Dog Harry Pizza
Rating: 8.5
Proper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea SaltProper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea Salt
Rating: 8.9
Santa Rosa - Shaved Roast TurkeySanta Rosa - Shaved Roast Turkey
Rating: 9.3
Villars Classic Swiss Smooth Dark Chocolate BarVillars Classic Swiss Smooth Dark Chocolate Bar
Rating: 9.2
Proper Crunch Corn Cider Vinegar & Sea SaltProper Crunch Corn Cider Vinegar & Sea Salt
Rating: 8.9
Farrah's Mexican Fajita Meal KitFarrah's Mexican Fajita Meal Kit
Rating: 9.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 30th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Peanut Butter Dunx Dark Chocolate nuts, if you have not tried these yet, then I suggest you head on down to the local supermarket and snap you up a bag as you will be very happy. These are just amazing and insane how yummy these are. The creator of these was bang on with the flavours and who ever thought to mix the peanut butter with the peanut and add other flavours wow, good on them as they nailed it.

The dark chocloate flavour is just bang on and so tasty, and peanut butter taste just explodes in your mouth. I find you get lots in the bag and for the price of $5.99 for a bag it is very worth it. The best treat to have in the pantry, a snack for work, a treat with the kids or with friends. These would be nice to have with a platter, with a glass of wine with friends, add to the baking, the ways you use could enjoy these are endless.

I took half the bag to work to share with the ladies as I couldn't stop eating them at home so it was hard to seal the bag up again and take some to work. The ladies were very happy with trying these and all talked about how yum they were, they couldn't get their hand into the bag fast enough to get more to slap into the mouth. They all talked with their mouth full and said yum as reached for more. Please go out and buy some and try them for yourself as you will be very happy and your taste buds will thank you for it.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 24th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This household has numerous people living here that love peanut butter, we tend to go through a large jar every fortnight. When I saw that there was a new product available to request, and that it had peanut butter I knew we had to try them, after all chocolate and peanut butter are a perfect combination.

The packaging is striking, with the cream down the bottom, and the rest predominantly brown. The brand name Graze stands out and under it says 'Good Snacks', there is no mistaking that this product is Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Dunx, there are 3 delicious balls on the packet to tempt you. The packet is 170g in size, and according to the Nutrition Information there are 8.5 servings in here, I doubted our family would get that many, the packet is resealable so if they aren't finished all at once, they can stay fresh.

When I opened the packet I was pleasantly surprised to see how full it was, the aroma that met my nostrils was certainly that of a deep, chocolatey, nutty scent. I shook out some of the Dunx into my open hand, they were all different sizes, obviously due to the different sized peanuts. I popped one in my mouth and took a bite, the mix of peanut butter and dark chocolate, over the peanut worked well together, not one flavour overpowered the others, but the dark chocolate did leave a lingering aftertaste. I grabbed another as the taste was very moreish, the teeny tiny balls in the pack did not have peanuts inside, but were still delicious.

These Dunx would be good to have on hand as a treat for every once in a while, but at this price I can't just let the kids go wild with them. I think these would be an ideal item to put in a gift basket, or as a present.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 23rd of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Dark chocolate peanut butter and roasted peanuts, this sounded like a beautiful combination! Graze's DUNX in Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter come in an attractive foil-lined, resealable pouch with some enlarged illustrations of the nuts on the cover. There is a nice picture on the back with a nut cut in half so you can clearly see the crunch roasted peanut on the inside and the yummy dark chocolate peanut butter on the outside. I pulled three nuts out and they were all different shapes, some were almost perfectly round with just over a centimetre diameter whilst others were shaped just like a peanut. I discovered that the bigger the morsel, typically, the more dark chocolate peanut butter covering it had, whilst the smaller pieces were thinly covered. The initial bite was quite soft until you reached the peanut and the dark chocolate was velvety smooth. The real peanut taste came in at the end once the peanut had been bitten. These were delicious and decidedly moreish, although the dark chocolate peanut butter was quite rich so a serving of 10 nuts was more than sufficient.

My kids asked to try some and whilst my eldest wasn't a fan (she doesn't like dark chocolate so I wasn't really surprised) my youngest loved them and asked for more. I decided to give her a few in her lunch box as a sweet treat and she was really happy to see them there in the morning. I also rationed 10 of them into a container for my lunch and found that they were a sweet treat to give me a bit of an energy boost in the afternoon when levels started to flag. I really enjoyed these tasty treats and you can definitely taste the quality of the ingredients used. Because they are quite rich, it is difficult to have too many at once, even if the mind is willing, which makes them an affordable treat!

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 16th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Peanut butter, chocolate and nuts, ummm, hello - yes please!! I am a fan of all of those and have to admit I was intrigued as usually the nut in this situation would be an almond, so I was really keen to try these and see if peanuts could work just as well as the heavenly match of chocolate and almonds, as well as never having tried a double combo dipped variety.

The come in a resealable foil package to help keep them fresh and maybe to encourage you to stick to the serving size recommendation of approximately 20 g. I will be the first to say I did not measure them out to see how much 20g is, rather just put a small amount into a bowl to eat. They have a good ratio of chocolate peanut covering and nuts and have not used too much extra sugar (well icing sugar) or other unneeded things.

I did notice in my bag that there is a variety of sizes in the nuts and also that they are not completely covered - but this is shown in the picture on the front too, so is not a complete surprise. The flavours of the peanut butter and dark chocolate I found to be quite subtle, but feel like it would be hard to cater for all tastes - I personally would like more of the peanut butter flavour, but I may be in the minority. I did like that rubbery texture on the outside, which is due to the icing sugar, I think?

Would I buy these again - the answer is yes, even though they are on the more expensive side, as I think they are a little bit special and different and would be great in a gift box or basket or as part of a platter or similar. Also they are easy to put down ( in my opinion) and not over indulge as they are not super sweet so having a few really hits the spot!

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 15th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Why do all of these treats come in foil packs that are way too tall for the amount of product that they hold? As soon as you open the pack, everything slinks away, down to the deep recesses of the pack, down so far that I feel like I'm trying to eat a packet of pringles by how much I'm struggling to get my hand down there. At least the pack is clean, so I'm not pulling my hand out absolutely covered in chocolate of anything.

Well, it is safe to say that this product caught me completely off-guard. After trying a few different varieties of smooth caramel, white and milk chocolate covered almonds, I was not prepared for the intense heavily roasted flavour of these treats. Of course, when you switch from almonds to peanuts, you would definitely expect a boost in flavour, but these are the darkest roasted peanuts that I have consumed in a very long time.

This appears to be a very thinly dipped treat, with the dark roasted peanuts showing through in many places, so the ratio of surface chocolate to the inner volume of peanut, it's very heavily in favour of the nut. It is certainly a difficult flavour to compete with normally, but when you heavily roast a peanut, that intensifies the earthiness of the flavour even further. Combine it with dark chocolate and you will find that you don't actually have enough sweetness to balance that earthy peanut savouriness. The chocolate certainly takes the edge off of the harshness that the dark roast creates, but it doesn't create a treat that hits the moreish element that my tastebuds crave.

What it does hit, is the "healthier alternative" button. The dark chocolate does have enough sweetness and richness to register its existence, and the overall calories per treat are pretty reasonable and low compared to other comparable treat types with nearly half of the calories of other "double-dipped" varieties. The lack of a moreish component does actually work in the favour of this treat. I don't feel like I need to be afraid of purchasing this product. I won't feel tempted to eat the entire pack in one sitting. I can actually let it sit in the cupboard, and have one or two pieces to satisfy a particular craving and leave the packet for a while. I can trust it to sit in my pantry until I need some fuel food, not fun food. And that's a rare somposition to come by.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 12th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

According to my husband I have became immune to the taste of Garlic and I need a lot of it before I taste it. I have decided that my family must be immune to Peanut Butter! For them the taste of Peanut Butter needs to be extremely strong for them to detect it - where as someone like me who absolutely hates the consistency and the taste of the stuff just needs the most subtle amount to be able to identify the presence of it.

I opened this after dinner last night. We were all still a little peckish and the packet was just screaming to me. The word Chocolate jumped at me and well my sweet tooth gave it. Opening the packet the three little Vultures did not take their eyes off me. I gave my two girls two each and my husband a handful. They all eagerly popped them in their mouths and all I could hear was fighting over who would finish the packet. They were all in love and wanted more. I asked if they could detect the peanut butter and what it was like and my youngest replied with 'what peanut butter - could not taste any just chocolate'. Now I must point out that this child loves her peanut butter and she smoothers her bread in it. Not even considering this fact I was elated thinking yay a yummy chocolate ball.

Wrong! I put it in my mouth and it was just like putting a spoonful of peanut butter in your mouth - the thickness of the stuff was in my mouth and my roof was coated in it. There was an underlining taste of chocolate but mostly it was peanut butter. There were fragments of peanuts and basically I sat there with a mouth of chocolate peanut butter. After coughing and spluttering and not one bit of concern for me the three of them argued over who would get the packet to finish. The bribing started shortly after and then the begging.

Where as three of my family think this is the cats pyjamas and are already asking if we can get again - for me not so much. I honestly do not think this packet will last five minutes after it is put on the table. My husband is already asking if I have finished my review yet as he is dying to have the rest. Definitely a winner if you like peanut butter and chocolate.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 24th of October, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Peanuts... peanut butter... dark chocolate... that's basically the holy trinity of 'naughty snacks' for me so to have all three wrapped up in one tasty treat was simply too much temptation for me to resist.

I found these to be quite magical, when it came to eating them. Sweet enough to be a treat, but with the slight dry bitterness that highlighted the darkness of the chocolate, the smoothness of the outer choc shell that melted away on my tongue contrasted by the crisp crunch of the roasted peanut at its heart. Seriously, it's hard to write this review with it turning into a gushy love-letter to these delicate delights.

While I wanted to be good and just have a couple to start with, leaving the majority of the packet to use as a star ingredient in something else - maybe a mug-cake, maybe cookies, who knows - I found myself popping them into my mouth one after another, savouring the flavour and finding new layers each time which only encouraged me to have "...just one more...".

While these are a bit on the high side when it comes to price, you really do get what you pay for and I was very pleased to see that canola opil was used instead of the cheaper, and environmentally unwelcome, palm oil. The dark cocoa has that distinctive slightly-dry taste on the tongue that speaks to a clean, rich and pure cocoa, undiluted by bulking agents.

Overall, these are going to be high on my list of 'guilty pleasures' and when I feel like a really special treat to celebrate something special, I'll be making a bee-line for a packet of these. OK, maybe two packets. Wink Icon

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 7.5
Product reviews for listing 1271: Fisherman's Table
Located: 1st Floor, Cnr Fitzherbet Ave & The Square

Product image for FishermanFishermans Table, Palmerston North - (06) 357 2157

This first floor restaurant offers views of 'The Square' and cityscape. The Nautical theme is complemented with old photos of the Foxton Wharf & Palmerston North. The dining area is set to cater for both large groups and casual diners. In 'knowledge' City it pays to know where to go for value.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Fiction is obliged to stick to possibilities. Truth isn't."
Mark Twain (1835 - 1910)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide