Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Sunday 21st July 2024 - 17:02:52

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  

I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Fiction > Double Vision review

« Sony-Ericsson T610 reviewSony-Ericsson T610Want To Play? reviewWant To Play? »

Score: 8.8/10  [1 review]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 75 - Double Vision
Written by Pat Barker

Double Vision
Price:
$34.95
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Penguin Random House

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been provided to KIWIreviews by Penguin Random House or their agents for the sole purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was requested, offered nor accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
5th November 2003

Double Vision product reviews

Insomnia, exhaustion, recurring nightmares - Steven Sharkey is suffering the after-effects of his career as a war reporter, most recently in Afghanistan, where Ben Frobisher, war photographer and friend, has been shot dead on assignment. Hanging up his flak jacket and turning his back on the everyday reality of war, Stephen moves into a quiet and peaceful cottage in the north of England. It seems the perfect environment in which to write his book on the representations of war - a book that will be based largely on Ben Frobisher's work.

Here Stephen meets Kate Frobisher, Ben's widow, and the mysterious Peter Wingrave, who seems to generate nothing but unease in those around him - and Justine, a woman twenty years Stephen's junior, with whom he soon finds himself involved. Even far from the war-torn countries he has left behind, Stephen's supposed isolation offers no protection from other people's suffering or the shattering effects of human brutality...

In Double Vision Pat Barker brilliantly explores the ways people succeed in achieving balance and hope in lives disrupted by violence.

Check out Penguin Random House onlineClick here to see all the listings for Penguin Random House Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel They do not have a TikTok channel



Tags:
-none-
Other listings you may be interested in:
Greg Mandel : 3 : The Nano FlowerGreg Mandel : 3 : The Nano Flower
Rating: 9.8
The 48-Hour Day : Working mothers tell it like it is.The 48-Hour Day : Working mothers tell it like it is.
Rating: 9.3
The Meaning of it AllThe Meaning of it All
Rating: 9.5
Feersum EndjinnFeersum Endjinn
Rating: 8.5
The Tide Lords #3 - The Palace Of Impossible DreamsThe Tide Lords #3 - The Palace Of Impossible Dreams
Rating: 10.0
BaboonBaboon
Rating: 9.0
The Mirage Makers 2: The Shadow of TyrThe Mirage Makers 2: The Shadow of Tyr
Rating: 9.0
My Story - 1900 - A Brand New CenturyMy Story - 1900 - A Brand New Century
Rating: 9.0
The Three Doors - 2 : The Silver DoorThe Three Doors - 2 : The Silver Door
Rating: 10.0
I Wonder why Animals are AmazingI Wonder why Animals are Amazing
Rating: 9.1
My Daddy Ate an AppleMy Daddy Ate an Apple
Rating: 9.4
Weirdo #2:  Even Weirder!Weirdo #2:  Even Weirder!
Rating: 8.8
Ki Te Moe AotearoaKi Te Moe Aotearoa
Rating: 9.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 21st of April, 2004

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Level of Realism:
Score 10 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 9 out of 10

It is not often a book of this genre impresses me, however this was most assuredly one of those times.

The book is not a high-energy thriller, but it does build up to many minor climaxes, giving you a sense of continuing plot. With an ending both a little predictable, and yet still surprising.

With many small crisis points, love, lust, therapy, wierdness, suspense and release, this seems to have a bit of something for everyone. With a few disturbing patches (Watch out for Peter's short stories) and a few moments that provoke some serious thought for any married person, you should be able to enjoy this book no matter what your tastes.

Not sure whether the pricetag would appeal to everyone who might be captured by the story, but it certainly is not above and beyond other books of this size and style, so it's affordable. Would make a good gift for someone stuck in bed for health reasons, I would suggest. This is a book that once you get stuck into it, you won't want to put it down.

Overall, I was very happy to be reading this, despite my prior misgivings. I am a die-hard fan of Sci-Fi (heavy on the Sci) but with a bounty of new books in a wide style of genres available to me through this site, I am rapidly become quite an eclectic reader.


Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 4646: Pip Street - A Whiskery Mystery -  Author: Jo Simmons

Product image for Pip Street - A Whiskery MysteryA hilarious new series, perfect for fans of MR GUM.Quirky black-and-white line illustrations throughout as well as fun activity sheets at the back. Bobby Cobbler's family have only just moved to Pip Street when his beloved cat Conkers goes missing. As a mammoth-sized search begins, Bobby makes friends with the tiny and fizzy Imelda who lives next door.

The friends soon discover that a lot of cats from Pip Street are missing. In ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"We don't have much money to do this, so we're going to have to think."
Sir Ernest Rutherford