Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Saturday 22nd June 2024 - 12:43:46

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  

I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Young Adult > Heartstopper: Volume Two review

« Heartstopper: Volume One reviewHeartstopper: Volume OneHeartstopper: Volume Three reviewHeartstopper: Volume Three »

Score: 8.3/10  [1 review]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 9171 - Heartstopper: Volume Two
Written by: Alice Oseman

Heartstopper: Volume Two
Price:
$27.99
Available:
June 2019

Heartstopper: Volume Two product reviews

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the second volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon.

Nick and Charlie are best friends. Nick knows Charlie's gay, and Charlie is sure that Nick isn't. But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is discovering all kinds of things about his friends, his family ... and himself. Heartstopper is about friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie's lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us.



Tags:
alice oseman   bisexual   friendship   gay   graphic novel   high school   homosexual   lesbian   lgbt   lgbtq    romance   straight   transgender
Other listings you may be interested in:
Heartstopper: Volume OneHeartstopper: Volume One
Rating: 8.3
Heartstopper: Volume ThreeHeartstopper: Volume Three
Rating: 8.3
Heartstopper: Volume FourHeartstopper: Volume Four
Rating: 8.8
TripswitchTripswitch
Rating: 8.8
Great Email DisastersGreat Email Disasters
Rating: 9.3
Mortal Engines : 1Mortal Engines : 1
Rating: 9.4
StrandedStranded
Rating: 7.8
There's a Hole in my BucketThere's a Hole in my Bucket
Rating: 8.8
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey ChroniclesThe Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Chronicles
Rating: 8.5
The BootleggerThe Bootlegger
Rating: 9.8
This Hungry DragonThis Hungry Dragon
Rating: 10.0
The Twelve Days of ChristmasThe Twelve Days of Christmas
Rating: 9.6
GodsgraveGodsgrave
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 17th of September, 2023

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 8 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Because I found the first Heartstopper book a nice and quick read, I figured I wasn‚ ™t losing much time out in reading the next in the series (no doubt my 14 year old will be thrilled to hear I‚ ™ve read one of her favourite books ever). Volume 2 takes place right after the events of the first volume, after Charlie and Nick have kissed for the first time. The boys begin to explore their feelings for each other as Charlie is thrilled to find someone who really likes him and isn‚ ™t using him and Nick tries to figure out just who he is. I have to say, this book is SO sweet and usually I find books like this can get sickly sweet, but Oseman seems to have perfected her balance of lovey dovey with other, very real, issues.

This book doesn‚ ™t just deal with Nick trying to figure out his sexuality, there is obvious homophobia from people who have been called friends, there is trying to keep things a secret, Nick coming out to his mother. We also have a nice range of characters, with a lesbian couple (who we get a cute little mini-comic at the end of the book) and a transgender girl. I really enjoyed how much Oseman was able to fit into this book, especially considering that there aren‚ ™t a huge amount of words to be read. I can now say that I will happily read the next two in the series and at the rate I‚ ™m going, I may even watch the series (which Miss14 has rewatched countless times now).


Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 6636: Two Birds on a Wire
Author: Coral Vass and Heidi Cooper Smith

Product image for Two Birds on a WireLittle Bird Blue and Little Bird Black refuse to share. Each wants to sit on the wire alone in this funny rhyming story.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Proof that God doesn't exist: If God created the earth for mankind, why is it that we can only live on a less than a quarter of it?"
anonymous