Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Friday 21st June 2024 - 02:15:13

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  

I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Young Adult > Heartstopper: Volume One review

« Thieves' Gambit reviewThieves' GambitHeartstopper: Volume Two reviewHeartstopper: Volume Two »

Score: 8.3/10  [1 review]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 9170 - Heartstopper: Volume One
Written by: Alice Oseman

Heartstopper: Volume One
Price:
$27.99
Available:
December 2018

Heartstopper: Volume One product reviews

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between - for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon.

Charlie and Nick are at the same school, but they've never met... until one day when they're made to sit together. They quickly become friends, and soon Charlie is falling hard for Nick, even though he doesn't think he has a chance. But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is more interested in Charlie than either of them realized.

Heartstopper is about love, friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie's lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us.



Tags:
alice oseman   bisexual   friendship   gay   high school   homosexual   lesbian   lgbt   lgbtq    romance   straight   transgender
Other listings you may be interested in:
Heartstopper: Volume TwoHeartstopper: Volume Two
Rating: 8.3
Heartstopper: Volume ThreeHeartstopper: Volume Three
Rating: 8.3
Heartstopper: Volume FourHeartstopper: Volume Four
Rating: 8.8
Evergence : 1 : The Prodigal SunEvergence : 1 : The Prodigal Sun
Rating: 7.3
Mathematical OrigamiMathematical Origami
Rating: 9.4
The Karazan Quartet : 2 : Beyond the ShroudThe Karazan Quartet : 2 : Beyond the Shroud
Rating: 9.0
NetherlandNetherland
Rating: 8.3
The Book of RaptureThe Book of Rapture
Rating: 9.3
The Seventh WaveThe Seventh Wave
Rating: 8.5
Hiding PhilHiding Phil
Rating: 9.1
Geronimo Stilton Special Edition: Hunt for the Curious Cheese  Geronimo Stilton Special Edition: Hunt for the Curious Cheese  
Rating: 8.4
Really Professional Internet PersonReally Professional Internet Person
Rating: 9.5
Happily Ever After: The Princess and the PeaHappily Ever After: The Princess and the Pea
Rating: 7.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 17th of September, 2023

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 8 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

So I have a teenager who is absolutely HOOKED on Heartstopper. Initially she watched the first season when it aired on Netflix, and after she had watched it through about three times, I asked her if she would be keen on having a copy of the book. Let's just say it was a VERY emphatic yes, followed through with an order that I buy her all the books in the series. Despite her addiction to the show and books, I have only just read it now and can see what the fuss is. The book follows Charlie (who is gay and 'out') and Nick, who befriends him and begins questioning his sexuality. The book is a graphic novel and if you buy the Netflix edition, you also get some TV script pages at the end.

It took me a little while to get used to the drawings in the book, they are done sketch-like and in black and white but I didn't really like the look of them, they felt a bit too messy for me. By the time I got to the end of the book I liked it enough and though it isn't my top style of illustrations, it won't put me off reading the next in the series. The story itself was very sweet, there was a moment that I wasn't expecting given how sweet I'd heard the series was, but I think it was worth having in the book because so many people do experience such a moment in their life. I can understand why my kiddo loves the book and is eager for more. I'll read the rest, as for me it is such a quick read and why not.

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 7.8
Product reviews for listing 6273: Magpie Learns a lesson -  Author: Sally Morgan and Ezekiel Kwaymullina

Product image for Magpie Learns a lessonMagpie is cross that she can't fly like her friend Brown Falcon. She thinks of mean tricks that will make Brown Falcon look silly.

But she goes too far... and finds out just how much friends need each other.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"What do you do when you discover an endangered animal that only eats endangered plants?"
anonymous