Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Monday 6th February 2023 - 00:12:48

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Kids - Preschool > 8: An Animal Alphabet review

« Daddies Are Great reviewDaddies Are GreatPup Patrol #4: Outback Rescue reviewPup Patrol #4: Outback Rescue »

Score: 10.0/10  [2 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 6571 - 8: An Animal Alphabet
Written by Elisha Cooper

8: An Animal Alphabet
Price:
$21.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Scholastic (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by Scholastic (NZ) or their agents for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
August 2015

8: An Animal Alphabet product reviews

Explore the animal world, from aardvark to zebu!

Discover hundreds of animals, great and small. Lion and lizard, whale and wombat. Learn one wild fact about each animal. (Did you know that gorillas yawn when they are nervous?) Look carefully, because for each letter of the alphabet, one animal is pictured eight times. Why 8? Come inside and find out.

Check out Scholastic (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Scholastic (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel They do not have a TikTok channel



Tags:
alphabet   animals   counting   learning to read   phonics   picture book   preschool   scholastic
Other listings you may be interested in:
Pete the SheepPete the Sheep
Rating: 8.8
Discworld : Monstrous RegimentDiscworld : Monstrous Regiment
Rating: 8.0
Thieves - A NovelThieves - A Novel
Rating: 8.3
Ripley's Believe It Or Not! Expect the UnexpectedRipley's Believe It Or Not! Expect the Unexpected
Rating: 8.8
LoamhedgeLoamhedge
Rating: 9.8
Flash CS3 for DummiesFlash CS3 for Dummies
Rating: 9.5
Seven TroopSeven Troop
Rating: 9.0
A Fury of Aces 2 - Crystal VenomA Fury of Aces 2 - Crystal Venom
Rating: 10.0
A Kiwi Christmas CarolA Kiwi Christmas Carol
Rating: 10.0
The 39 Clues Doublecross: 2  HindenburgThe 39 Clues Doublecross: 2  Hindenburg
Rating: 9.8
Barking MadBarking Mad
Rating: 9.8
Geronimo Stilton #65: Bollywood BurglaryGeronimo Stilton #65: Bollywood Burglary
Rating: 9.1
Diary of a Minecraft Zombie #6: Zombie Goes To CampDiary of a Minecraft Zombie #6: Zombie Goes To Camp
Rating: 7.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 15th of September, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Age Appropriate:
Score 10 out of 10
Durable:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

8: An Animal Alphabet has a page dedicated to each letter of the Alphabet, I love it! It is going to be great for helping Mr Three recognize letters and also great to help Mr Seven to learn about animals. Above and beyond that it will also be a great "Lear to Count" tool with a challenge set at the start of the book to find one animal that is featured on a page 8 times, it is different on each page. The fact that the featured animal were not all the same for example for letter "F" the animal is a frog, there are green frogs and brown frogs. This makes it more challenging which is great.

There are animals featured in the book my kids have never heard of such as an Abalone, Booby a Falcon so we had fun looking these up and learning about each one. Once we reached the end of the book we were surprised and delighted to find facts about each animal in the book. We learnt new things such as the fact that a Starfish can loose an arm and it will grow right back!

The kids all loved this book and so did Mum!

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 23rd of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Age Appropriate:
Score 10 out of 10
Durable:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have a five year old daughter that is crazy about animals and facts so a book that helps teach the letters of the alphabet as well as learn about animals would have been perfect for her last year. Now she has been at school for six months she knows all the letters but still really enjoyed 8: An Animal Alphabet for all the other things it has to offer.

In this book there is a page devoted to each letter of the alphabet. It has the common animals you would expect along with some I had never heard of. I was grateful for the glossary at the back of the book that helped me to identify the more obscure ones. The glossary also had an interesting fact about each animal. It certainly taught me several new things.

The 8 part of the title refers to the fact there are 8 of one type of animal on the page. This isn't an identical illustrated repeated on the page which is what the children looked for at first. On the L page there were 8 lions but a few had manes, others without as well as cubs. On the F page their were different species of frogs. I thought this was very well done as it encouraged the children to think about the animals.

This book has it all. It teaches the alphabet, counting, identifying animals and facts. It is aimed for an international market with its wide range of animals. It even includes New Zealand natives the kakapo and the kiwi which we were delighted to see especially given the author/illustrator Elisha Cooper lives in New York.

This is a great book that my 5 year old has returned to many times in the few weeks we have had it. I have also shared it with three 4 year olds that I have for homebased childcare and that have asked for it again and again. The illustrations are beautiful and it makes a great gift or book to share with any young child. It is a book that you can read from cover to cover or just read your favourite page. For this reason it will be one I would take with me to share with my daughter while we kill time in a waiting room or on a flight.

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 6653: The Unicorne Files 2: Alexander's Army -  Author: Chris D’Lacey

Product image for The Unicorne Files 2: Alexander's ArmyThe second installment in critically acclaimed Chris d'Lacey's The UNICORNE Files series. A gripping and original paranormal adventure, perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz's Power of Five books.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Ever notice that 'what the hell' is always the right decision?"
Marilyn Monroe (1926 - 1962)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide