Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Thursday 2nd December 2021 - 06:57:35

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > NOM Double Dipped Almonds - Caramel Love review

« Graze Skinny Dipped Almonds - Berry Dusted White Chocolate reviewGraze Skinny Dipped Almonds - Berry Dusted White ChocolateNOM Double Dipped Almonds - Raspberry Tang reviewNOM Double Dipped Almonds - Raspberry Tang »

Score: 9.3/10  [8 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 8970 - NOM Double Dipped Almonds - Caramel Love
Brand / Manufactured by: NOM

NOM Double Dipped Almonds - Caramel Love
Price:
$7.00 / 160g bag
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by NOM

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by NOM or their agents for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets nationwide
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

NOM Double Dipped Almonds - Caramel Love product reviews

Crazy in love with caramel
Once you've experienced these almonds, covered in the finest, lusciously smooth Belgian caramel chocolate, it'll be tempting to keep them all to yourself as they are completely and utterly irresistible. But remember, sharing is true love!

We batch roast whole almonds to crunchy, nutty perfection, then lovingly double dip them in two layers of exquisite Belgian chocolate. You'll be in caramel love. Open up and say NOM. You're welcome.

Check out NOM onlineClick here to see all the listings for NOM Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel They do not have a TikTok channel



Tags:
almonds   canola oil   caramel   chocolate   cocoa butter   milk   nom   paprika   soy   sugar   vanilla
Other listings you may be interested in:
NOM Double Dipped Almonds - Raspberry TangNOM Double Dipped Almonds - Raspberry Tang
Rating: 9.1
NOM Double Dipped Almonds - Creamy MochaNOM Double Dipped Almonds - Creamy Mocha
Rating: 8.9
St John's Wort PlusSt John's Wort Plus
Rating: 8.3
Maketu Lamb & Mint PieMaketu Lamb & Mint Pie
Rating: 7.5
Lefty's Gourmet Pizza BasesLefty's Gourmet Pizza Bases
Rating: 8.8
GoNatural Macadamia DreamGoNatural Macadamia Dream
Rating: 8.8
Pitango Kids Organic Spaghetti BolognesePitango Kids Organic Spaghetti Bolognese
Rating: 9.6
Tip Top Crammed Choc EruptionTip Top Crammed Choc Eruption
Rating: 8.9
Pitango Organic Spring Lamb, Red Wine and Rosemary SoupPitango Organic Spring Lamb, Red Wine and Rosemary Soup
Rating: 9.7
New Generation Liquorice Waikato - Combo PackNew Generation Liquorice Waikato - Combo Pack
Rating: 9.3
Cocavo - OriginalCocavo - Original
Rating: 8.3
In-Salt - FusionIn-Salt - Fusion
Rating: 9.1
Barker's Meal Sauce - Easy Sweet'n StickyBarker's Meal Sauce - Easy Sweet'n Sticky
Rating: 7.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 24th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Chocolate in any form with nuts is usually a winning combination. My personal favourite, especially at Christmas time, is the Scorched Almond. Scorched Almonds are almonds covered in a thick chocolate, and I usually end up with several boxes over the holiday period, which surprisingly never last long. When I saw KIWIreviews had a new range of Double Dipped Almonds, I was extremely intrigued and eager to try them.

The packaging is vibrant, and if I saw these on a shelf I would definitely pick them up and investigate them. The 160g packet is a bright yellow colour, with an eye-catching image of the product surrounded by bright colours, with a cute giraffe. The product is roasted almonds which are double dipped in Belgian caramel chocolate. According to the nutrition information on the reverse of the packet, there are 6.4 servings.

I tore the top off the resealable pouch and was instantly met with a mouthwatering aroma, my impulsiveness took over and I grabbed a handful of the almonds and shoved them in my mouth. Oh my goodness, the flavour was amazing! I decided to try eating just one at a time, the almond was encompassed by a smooth, rich, Belgian chocolate, which was the perfect thickness. In the packet, there were only a couple of the almonds that were quite hard to chew. There is a delicious aftertaste once finished eating, and this left me craving more and more.

I personally loved this product, and unfortunately for my family, they missed out on trying these, as they disappeared ridiculously fast into my stomach. I actually do not know if I can go back to eating Scorched Almonds now, I will definitely be trying the other flavours in this range. These are sure to be a perfect gift, and we will be having these as a snack on Christmas Day.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 20th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

NOM Double Dipped Almonds - Caramel Love, nom nom nom. This was the first flavour I opened to try as it would be my favourite and I was not wrong there. My partner and I opened these and we both said wow those are amazing at the same time. There is nothing to fault about the product. The coating is just enough to get a good taste without over powering the almond. The bag is easy to open, and great it can be sealed back up. I love the simple cool design and pouch.

The bag has plenty of nuts inside, plenty to be shared around or for a mega yum snack on your own, or if you have will power to close the bag up and save some for another day. We did not do that though, my partner I sat down and ate the bag in one good. Once you pop you can't stop. In this case that is so true, we just wanted more and more. I will be looking forward to trying the other flavours. I do think at $7 its a little steep, but the product is yum and so tasty so if I manage to pick them up on sale even better.

Another great product and just very tasty. I will be telling my friends and family to keep an eye for these, I sent out a snap chat to some mates as we were eating them about how good they were and a couple replied saying they seen them before, couple said yes I know I love them, and one went of to look for them and then later replied oh wow those were worth the trip to find them. Very happy with this product.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 19th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I have a sweet tooth and love anything chocolate, I noticed this for review and thought it would be interesting.

The packaging has some interesting information on it, I have been advised to check labels for salt content in my food and this information was easy to find and well within my sodium limit. I found that the information was easy to read (I often find that I can see there is writing on the packet but I can't read it so have to ask my son to read it to me) which is a good start and there was no funny colours or fonts used so that made it easier to read. The packet was a good size. I am trying to eat and snack a bit more healthy so I did a test of could I eat a few and leave the rest to another day and I'm glad to say that I could. The taste was simply amazing, most the almonds were quite small and there was a lot of caramel chocolate. I had thought to let the kids have a taste but it was simply too good to share.

I would consider making these a regular treat but not at that price, just a little too high for my liking. I really liked the taste and that it is a lot healthier than a lot of treats.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 15th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have always had a sweet tooth, but caramel is one of the few sweet flavours that has never really grabbed me. However, with some of my taste preferences being tested and proven no longer as un/appealing, I figured these would be a good way to see how my taste buds felt about caramel these days. After all, having found the Raspberry variant to be surprisingly tasty, the odds looked good.

The first thing I noticed is that I should have stored them in the fridge. Because there haven't been many sunny days here recently, I have had the fire lit to warm the house and these had gone a wee bit soft, melting together in the pack. It was difficult to poull out a single nut, as they were clumping into groups of 3-5 - too many for me to have at once because the caramel flavour is quite pronounced.

While I did find them enjoyable, I don't think I would eat them in any great quantity... which is probably a good thing considering I am trying to lose weight, I suppose. LOL Icon I decided to put the rest aside until I am in the mood to do some baking, at which point I think these will be an absolutely awesome 'secret weapon' in some peanut brownie cookies, or to add the extra-something in some choc chip cookies!

Overall, these were a pleasant surprise, but alas did confirm that while my tolerance for caramel has risen slightly, it's still not a flavour I'm going to opt for if other varieties are available. However, if I were to be utterly objective, I would have to say that if caramel is your thing, these really should be on your 'must try' list. They would also go really well in a mix of the other flavours as little party-favours or as part of a snack-platter for family gatherings over the Christmas season. Just remember to pop them in the fridge for an hour or three before you serve them.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 14th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This product has a nice quality resealable foil pack. So it keeps everything fresh. The only real note that I have regarding the packaging is that it seems to be quite a tall pack. One would assume this is more for marketing's sake, as the product doesn't need that much space, but it will give it more presence on the shelf in the supermarket. So I would personally prefer that the pack have more product in it, or the shape of the packet be adjusted as I like my products and brands to try and be less wasteful. The artwork is vibrant and aesthetically pleasing as well.

Cracking open the pack, there is a very strong aroma of caramel which gets the saliva glands working. Surprisingly, these treats are tasty but aren't overpowering by any sense of the word. Perhaps the name "Caramel Love" makes you think they may be double dipped in caramel, but read the pack properly and you will see that this is in fact Belgian caramel chocolate. So the intense flavour I was expecting is actually a lot smoother and more subtle.

the chocolate really melts in your mouth. It has a very low melting point, so after a couple of seconds of being held in your hands, and it will start melting and sliding around. The flavour and textures are very enjoyable and remind me of the traditional treat, Scorched Almonds; I also find myself wanting to enjoy the chocolate first before biting into the almonds. You know you have a good mix of flavours in your "dip" when you can enjoy it separately from the almond as well as with it.

This is a bit on the expensive side but is absolutely gorgeous chocolate with a subtle flavour that makes me want to keep on eating it. It never becomes too intense a flavour. A perfect example of a moreish treat.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 14th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Personally I have never understood everyone's fascination with nuts especially Almonds. I work in the Bulk Bins and people go absolutely crazy for Brazil, Walnuts and Almonds. They have never appealed to me, although my husbands and girls absolutely adore them. The closest I get to eating nuts is Scorched Almonds but I have to admit it is for the chocolate as I really hate eating the nut. When I saw these up for review I was reluctant to apply but I am so glad I did.

My daughters and husband have been nagging me from day one to open this packet. I have to say the packet itself colour is vibrant and extremely eye catching and more than inviting. I finally relented as it does have Belgian Chocolate and I am a huge fan. The first thing I noted after easily ripping open the packet was the delectable smell. You could definitely smell the rich aroma of caramel. The next thing I noted was how small the almonds were which is fantastic. They are the perfect little bite size.

My daughter dove in and squealed at how yummy they are and dived in for more. My youngest took a handful and disappeared - only to reappear shortly after to grab another. My husband said that the caramel was not over powering and not too sweet and would be perfect for caramel lovers - although he prefers dark chocolate. Where as I am really taken with them. I think they are a fantastic combination of chocolate and just the right amount of nut.

I have found the whole time writing this I keep going back for more. I love how the chocolate melts in your mouth and then the nut itself is easily to digest soon after. Bonus is there is no nut fragments lingering afterwards. I love as you put them in your mouth your senses jump alive with the smell approaching your nose. They are a small sense of wonder.

I honestly did not expect to enjoy these but I am so taken with them. They are very dangerous as once you start it is very hard to stop. These are something I am going to have to seriously consider purchasing again as they are rather on the expensive side but in saying that nuts full stop are expensive. Considering how much I have ate and then throw in the rest of the family I am shocked there are any left. I am definitely hiding the last 12 or so from the rest of them cause this is my little bag of heaven.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 13th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The smell of warm chocolate caramel that wafted out of the packet was just wonderful. Before we took any of the contents out, we passed the packet round so everybody could enjoy the aroma. It was an extremely hot day, and we were sitting outside, so it was a given that the contents would get a bit soft - but we had forgotten that the heat would also bring out the smell. Mr 11 said it was the most wonderful thing his nose had ever encountered! I think he may have been exaggerating slightly, but I know what he meant.

After we had all taken a nut and licked the chocolate off our fingers, we agreed on one thing - the pack needs to be stored in a cool place during the summer weather. Although we were outside in casual clothes so a couple of chocolate streaks here and there would not matter, it would have been a different story if any of us had been in school or work gear. However, that is a technicality - and we did not dwell on it for too long as we were busy enjoying the treat.

There were plenty of nuts to go round; this was a bonus as we all really enjoyed them. There were even a few left, and my partner decided to use them in place of walnuts and chocolate icing on top of an afghan. The biscuits were duly baked, and we were more than pleased with the results. The chocolate caramel had melted across the surface of the biscuit and the nut had stuck firmly in place. Once the biscuits had cooled, the melted chocolate had set again and the almond in the middle was super-crisp. It may be that this was not what the manufacturers intended, but we certainly enjoyed the result. And the caramel overtones took the treat to a whole new level.

The price is quite high for a snack, but nuts tend to be expensive anyway. The coated nuts are also very rich so it would be sensible to have just a small helping. According to the packet, there are 6.4 servings inside which still means a good two tablespoons apiece. I did not stop to count the contents, but the weight of a serving is 25g. (I am not sure who is supposed to get the .4 of a serving as we were not actually counting but I think that might have been the leftovers that went on the afghans.)

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 10th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love almonds, they are a relatively inexpensive nut that tastes great. My mouth was watering just looking at NOM's Double Dipped Almonds - Caramel Love. The crunchy whole roasted almonds and double dipped in Belgian caramel chocolate and we all know that Belgian chocolate is renowned for its deliciously cream chocolate. My giraffe-loving daughter noticed that there was a picture of a giraffe on the front of the packet so I had a good read to see what, if any, the relevance of it was. I could find none, my only thought was the colours of the nut and the Belgian chocolate was similar to the colouring of a giraffe? Anyway, I digress... I did find out that these are made in New Zealand and surprisingly (to me) have paprika extract.

The packet is resealable and contains 160 grams of deliciousness! They are shaped more like scorched almonds but have a matt milk chocolate finish. The fact that they are double-dipped in Belgian chocolate means every nut has good coverage of chocolate. The brand is called Nom for a reason... these are definitely nom, nom, nom treats, and once opened, it took an awful lot of willpower not to polish off the whole bag. I thought I'd call for help by asking my daughters to try them and gave them one each (I didn't really want to share!) My eldest said 'mmmmmm' in a dreamy voice and my youngest said the chocolate was delicious. They then both asked for another one which I begrudgingly gave them.

I can't get over how delicious they are! The chocolate is creamy with a sweet caramel taste and I would wholeheartedly recommend these over Scorched Almonds! They may seem a little pricey but they are a quality treat with a decent amount of double-dipped almonds in each bag. They would make the perfect gift, or just keep them for yourself!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 7.4
Product reviews for listing 3405: Corn Nuts - Original -  Brand / Manufactured by: Kraft Foods

Product image for Corn Nuts - OriginalWho doesn't love an original? Since Albert Holloway created his signature snack in 1936, the classic savoury corn flavour and Ultimate Crunch of Original CornNuts stands all on its own.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Did you ever notice that when you blow in a dog's face, he gets mad at you, but when you take him on a car ride, he sticks his head out the window?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide