Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Tuesday 9th August 2022 - 08:06:59

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Biscuits and Crackers > Rutherford & Meyer Cracker Bites - Beetroot review

« Grandpa versus Swing reviewGrandpa versus SwingRutherford & Meyer Cracker Bites - Chickpea reviewRutherford & Meyer Cracker Bites - Chickpea »

Score: 8.5/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 8928 - Rutherford & Meyer Cracker Bites - Beetroot
Brand: Rutherford & Meyer

Rutherford & Meyer Cracker Bites - Beetroot
Price:
$4.00 / 140g box
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Rutherford & Meyer NZ

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by Rutherford & Meyer NZ or their agents for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via online store and select retail outlets

Rutherford & Meyer Cracker Bites - Beetroot product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsThese vibrant beetroot cracker bites bring any entertaining plate to life.

TOP them with cheese, DIP them in hummus or EAT them solo! Whichever way you choose, enjoy these delicious crispy snacks guilt-free!

Check out Rutherford & Meyer NZ onlineClick here to see all the listings for Rutherford & Meyer NZ Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board Check them out on Instagram They do not have a TikTok channel



Tags:
baked   beetroot   chia seeds   gluten free   linseed   maize   nzmade   onion   polenta   poppy seeds   rice bran oil   salt
Other listings you may be interested in:
Rutherford & Meyer Cracker Bites - ChickpeaRutherford & Meyer Cracker Bites - Chickpea
Rating: 9.1
Rutherford & Meyer Cracker Bites - Sweet PotatoRutherford & Meyer Cracker Bites - Sweet Potato
Rating: 9.4
Flavour BistroFlavour Bistro
Rating: 8.2
Foil Fresh - Creamy Pumpkin & Roasted Garlic TortelliniFoil Fresh - Creamy Pumpkin & Roasted Garlic Tortellini
Rating: 8.5
Mexicali FreshMexicali Fresh
Rating: 8.8
Mini Gingerbread Men Mini Gingerbread Men 
Rating: 8.5
Verkerks Protein Snack PackVerkerks Protein Snack Pack
Rating: 9.5
Whittakers Braeburn Apple with Vanilla ChocolateWhittakers Braeburn Apple with Vanilla Chocolate
Rating: 8.8
Whittakers Nelson Pear and Manuka Honey ChocolateWhittakers Nelson Pear and Manuka Honey Chocolate
Rating: 6.0
Whittakers Samoan Extra Dark ChocolateWhittakers Samoan Extra Dark Chocolate
Rating: 8.8
Pic's Peanut Butter SlugsPic's Peanut Butter Slugs
Rating: 9.5
Proper Crisps - Kumara Pepper with OnionProper Crisps - Kumara Pepper with Onion
Rating: 8.9
Pa Hill Apricot JamPa Hill Apricot Jam
Rating: 10.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 9th of January, 2022

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

These are my favorite flavor of the Rutherford and Meyer cracker bites as they have a delicious taste that is natural, earthy, and slightly sweet. The packaging is a 140g box that contains two individual 70g bags of the cracker bites and the box is purple-colored to give away that they are the beetroot flavored ones which is great and easy to recognize. I opened up one of the packets and proceeded to try out the crackers and they are very much the same as the other Rutherford and Meyer cracker bites I have tried as they are extremely crunchy, crisp, and full of flavor but these Beetroot ones have an edge over the others as they have a bolder flavor that stands out very nicely.

The crackers easily have a beetroot flavor that carries an onion taste and like the other crackers to there is almost a very subtle cheese flavor although it contains nothing that I can see would cause that. They are very nice by themselves but are also delicious with other condiments and complimenting foods as they hold their own flavor well. I liked them the most dipping them into a jalapeno hummus and could easily finish the entire box in one sitting doing it that way.

If you are looking for an easy-to-grab-and-go snack that stands on its own flavor merits that is natural and good for you then look no further. Get these crackers and give them a try as they are delicious and nutritious. The biggest problem will be trying to hide them from the kids as they all seem to like these so much too. Rutherford and Meyer have got some winning cracker bites on their hands here and I will be making sure to make some pantry space for some more of these to fit.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 20th of December, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Upon receiving my KIWIreviews box, I opened it to find all three flavours of the Rutherford and Meyer crackers to try, so I was quite excited! I love beetroot, and found the idea of it appealing, both in what the crackers would taste like and look like.

I opened the box of crackers to find two individual packs of crackers, which from a freshness point of view is great. I really liked the look of these crackers, one side is a slightly mottled and the other like a waffle cone, and a lovely pinkie red, clearly the beetroot! I am was not 100% sure on the seeds, but reading the ingredients saw it was poppy, chia and linseed. I also noted that these were the second lowest in salt, if that was something you are on the watch for.

The taste of them is quite strong and a bit sweet, and you can definitely taste the onion powder in there too. I really liked it and found that these really jazzed up even a plain bit of edam cheese! I also put a bit of piccalilli relish on top and the tartness of that worked well with the beetroot sweetness.

What I really liked about these crackers was their strength - they were great to put things on top of and also scooped hummus, avocado and cream cheese well. These crackers are really unique and I will definitely be getting them again, as they add a different flavour, texture and a splash of colour to a platter of nibblies!

Click here to read the profile of fliss1

Review by: fliss1 (Felicity)
Dated: 9th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

These were an unusual combination from the description for me. I was keen to try something that sounded very experimental. The three seeds were a bit hard for me to identify individually as I am not completely familiar with them. The overall effect was wonderful though. They held together well (not that many breakages which was good). I also loved that there were two 70g packs inside so you could use one and then not have the rest go stale. A great serving size to go with other things.

The seeds were the unusual aspect that I thought about a bit more too. Poppy seeds for me are usually the runaway item on top of things so it was great to find them embedded well and adding a bit of texture and colour. I did get asked by a child "what are the dots?" Linseed for me just adds a bit of real moistness but I couldn't get a taste from it. Chia was the strongest impact taste wise but I think the combination is great together.

I loved the colour and we did use a combination of these and more "beige" crackers for a lovely platter and visually it was a great success as well. I am a beetroot fan from way back and really like that it is coming back into fashion and this was a wonderful use for it

Rutherford and Meyer was a new company for me and I really felt the quality and consideration came through in all their products I tried (three kinds of crackers). I thought the boxes were a good size that meant nothing got damaged too much and they sat as a lovely combo on the shelf together. I will include these in gift boxes in future as they felt like a real treat. Regarding the beetroot cracker bites I loved the overall interestingness of this experiment and will definitely be trying these again. Perfect with Christmas coming.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 2nd of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.3/10
Taste:
Score 2 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 2 out of 10

I used to adore beetroot when I was a tween but ate so much of it that I made self sick of it and haven't been able to eat the stuff ever since, though I have found in the past few years that I can eat things flavoured with beetroot, which of course means more options in the diet. I opened up just one of the two packets and offered it up to the kids to have a try. My 12yo thought that it tasted ok but given the label and the colour of the crackers, they were expecting more of a beetroot taste and were disappointed that it wasn't a strong flavour, however, they thought it tasted better with some hummus but regretted that they didn't find it tasty enough to be able to snack on as it was out of the packet.

I gave it a try and didn't think much of the flavour on its own, there was something a little off about the initial taste and so I wasn't interested in eating any more of them on their own. I tried it was some cheese and ham but it didn't quite work with the crackers and I ended up feeling a little let-down. I then dipped these in some hummus and again, found it rather ho-hum and moved on to the next crackers. My 14yo thought that they tasted good and had more, my 10yo decided that they didn't like the crackers at all. These crackers weren't a hit for any of us and we won't be getting these again.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 28th of October, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Rutherford & Meyer Cracker Bites Beetroot flavour with three seeds. Chai seeds stand out the most to me and these are so tasty. I really like the texture and taste, the beetroot flavour is there but not overly strong. The size of the crackers are just wonderful, nice wee round bite-size crackers which are just perfect with dips and perfect for sharing with family and friends. Perfect for kids and perfect for the little ones.

I have a couple off little ones, a toddler and a one year old baby and they really enjoyed eating these crackers. For this my niece who can't have gluten she really loved these crackers knowing that they were gluten-free and she was able to share a lovely platter with us when we all sat at the beach camping.

Inside the box there is two packets so you can open one packet and save the other one for another day. With each packet there is heaps of crackers and plenty enough to go around. The Company have definitely been generous with the crackers and the packets and great having two separate bags so sometimes when you open a box a lot of them get wasted because you don't eat the whole box in one sitting so it was great that they come in two separate bags. Overall I really like these crackers and its great value for money.

We definitely would be buying them again, they are great to have in the cupboard. Perfect for when you know friends just stop in and you have a wine and some crackers and dip. Great portion size and one packet to go around everyone without wasting the whole box and you can save the other packet for another day to open. Would definitely recommend these to family and friends and can't wait to buy some more for my cupboard.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 22nd of October, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I adore beetroot and love to have it on most things, so when I saw this up for review I jumped at the opportunity. I have been keeping this one back from everyone else because I wanted it all to myself. So sitting in the sun after work I opened up the box to enjoy alone with Smokey Hummus with Garlic and Tahini.

Having tired another flavour earlier this week I was already aware that there were two packets waiting for me so this time there was not as much as a shock. The crackers were a nice vibrant red and they looked divine. I took my first one covered in the hummus. Taking a bite all I could taste was the hummus so after finishing the cracker I took a plan one and tried that and to be honest I do not like the taste of it on its own. The taste it rather peculiar because it is rather plain to begin with and then a flavour comes out from nowhere and for some reason the flavour to me just tastes wrong. It does not work. I tried again with hummus to which I enjoyed, as the combination works fantastically together - but as a cracker by itself I do not enjoy.

This is rather disappointing to me because I had such high hopes for it. I thought I was going to love it the same one I loved the flavour I had earlier this week. The whole family was taken by it. I assumed this was going to be the same thing. Because, I have opened alone I also have nobody else to get an opinion from. I still did manage to eat half a packet by myself but that is mainly due to the hummus. Unfortunately I can not see us buying this particular flavour again.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 10th of October, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

We love wafer biscuits in our house; I enjoy them equally on their own or with toppings or dips. These crackers are quite different from any others I have found, however; their bright red appearance adds instant cheer to a cheese platter, and I can see they will be useful as a decorative addition to a seasonal meal in December - possibly with sprigs of fresh green herbs so they make a holly themed centerpiece for a fancy dinner party. The only downside of the biscuits was that they did not last very long because they were so nice! Luckily, there were two separate sealed packets in the box, so I opened one for review purposes and put the other one out of reach.

The crunch was the first thing we noticed - they are delightfully crisp, but once you bite into them they melt in your mouth. I opened the second packet to nibble while I was taking review notes, and put some into a tin for later. I did notice that they had lost some of their crispness by the next day, but this was quickly remedied when I put them in a single layer on a paper towel in the microwave and zapped them for a few seconds. Once they had cooled, their original crispness was fully restored.

The taste varied according to who was trying them. There were four of us when I opened the first packet; I could distinguish the slightly earthy beetroot flavour and so could my aunt; the other two, however, said they would not have known they were made from beetroot had it not been for the intense colour. But all of us enjoyed them, and found they were the perfect partner for beetroot hummus; we passed around a pot of this hummus so we could all dip our crackers, and at one stage nearly came to blows because one person was holding on to it for too long!

As there were just two of us to try the second packet, we were able to have more options. There were no surprises in finding the crackers went really well topped with thin slices of pickled beetroots and aged cheddar; as toppings these were hard to beat. We also thought they would be good as a healthier version of nachos, served with a bean and tomato sauce, but we have yet to try that because once again we had run out. I do like the idea of having the contents divided into two smaller packets as you are not left with a half empty box. Not that this particular problem is likely to arise. They are too moreish!

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 7.9
Product reviews for listing 8374: Down to Earth Organic Chutney - Sweet Mango -  Produced by Down to Earth

Product image for Down to Earth Organic Chutney - Sweet MangoOur organic Sweet Mango chutney is the best way to enjoy the essence of ripe mangoes throughout the year. Simply delicious mango chutney with a real traditional Indian flavour can be served as an appetizer to crackers, breads, etc.

Sweet mango chutney blends juicy mango with authentic spices to create an irresistible addition to any Indian meal. Sweet, salty and a touch of vinegar, this mango chutney is guaranteed to be of great taste. It adds taste to exotic cold meats, salads, sandwiches, cheese, jacket potatoes, parantha, bread, baked and roasted chicken, rice, etc.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Who was the first person to say, 'See that chicken there... I'm gonna eat the next thing that comes outta it's bum.'"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide