Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Monday 23rd May 2022 - 17:32:23

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > NOM Double Dipped Almonds - Raspberry Tang review

« NOM Double Dipped Almonds - Caramel Love reviewNOM Double Dipped Almonds - Caramel LoveNOM Double Dipped Almonds - Creamy Mocha reviewNOM Double Dipped Almonds - Creamy Mocha »

Score: 9.2/10  [10 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 8971 - NOM Double Dipped Almonds - Raspberry Tang
Brand / Manufactured by: NOM

NOM Double Dipped Almonds - Raspberry Tang
Price:
$7.00 / 160g bag
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by NOM

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by NOM or their agents for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets nationwide

NOM Double Dipped Almonds - Raspberry Tang product reviews

Zing, tang, boom!
When zingy, tangy raspberry meets smooth and creamy milk chocolate, sparks fly, making it a match made in heaven. It's a flavour combination that we Kiwis love.

We batch roast whole almonds to crunchy, nutty perfection, then lovingly double dip them in two layers of creamy milk chocolate. We then dust them with tangy raspberry to make your taste buds zing. Open up and say NOM. You're welcome.

Check out NOM onlineClick here to see all the listings for NOM Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel They do not have a TikTok channel



Tags:
almonds   canola oil   chocolate   cocoa   milk   nom   raspberries   soy   sugar   vanilla
Other listings you may be interested in:
NOM Double Dipped Almonds - Caramel LoveNOM Double Dipped Almonds - Caramel Love
Rating: 9.3
NOM Double Dipped Almonds - Creamy MochaNOM Double Dipped Almonds - Creamy Mocha
Rating: 9.2
Pork BolognesePork Bolognese
Rating: 8.3
EXTRA Drops - LemonEXTRA Drops - Lemon
Rating: 9.3
Veal Cordon Bleu dinnerVeal Cordon Bleu dinner
Rating: 8.8
Easy Carrot CakeEasy Carrot Cake
Rating: 9.4
Sids Feijoa and Chilli SauceSids Feijoa and Chilli Sauce
Rating: 9.6
Puhoi Valley Lemon Delicious YoghurtPuhoi Valley Lemon Delicious Yoghurt
Rating: 10.0
Kiwi Party MixKiwi Party Mix
Rating: 10.0
Continental Cook in Bag Garlic and HerbContinental Cook in Bag Garlic and Herb
Rating: 10.0
Veggie Delights - Casserole MinceVeggie Delights - Casserole Mince
Rating: 9.8
Manuka Smoked Kawakawa Horopito SaltManuka Smoked Kawakawa Horopito Salt
Rating: 9.9
Sachie's Kitchen - Lemongrass ChickenSachie's Kitchen - Lemongrass Chicken
Rating: 8.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 1st of May, 2022

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Back in my day there only used to be one source of chocolate-coated almonds or at least as I knew it to be that was the case but now there seems to be a lot my variety on offer and I'm here for it. I opened up the Nom double-dipped almonds which are coated in a raspberry tang dusting and popped a few in my mouth. The chocolate coating was a lot less thick than I had anticipated but that was a very welcome thing as I like them not to be too overly powering of chocolate. The Raspberry dusting really sets these off with a lovely tang and tart taste that blends well with the milk chocolate.

The almond itself is exactly like I had expected which was hard and crunchy. The packaging is well suited with the red coloring and picture of raspberry. There is a picture of a flamingo as well on the front of the bag which I couldn't work out the connection unless it is purely off adding something colored pink so I looked at their range and found that a lot of their products contain other animals or insects that match those color schemes. These would make fantastic additions to baking cakes and biscuits and spreading them around on top of or in. I added some to plain vanilla ice cream and it gave the dessert an extra added flavor that was lovely.

I recommend trying out these almonds if you want tasty, on-the-go snacks that are delicious and fast to pack away. Great for school lunches or daytime snacking. My kids absolutely loved these and wish there were more to go around in the 160g bag. I will be purchasing other products from Nom as they have really Impressed me with these and the whole family agrees.

Click here to read the profile of fliss1

Review by: fliss1 (Felicity)
Dated: 21st of February, 2022

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I grew like a lot of older kiwis on the classic scorched almonds and beyond that, I am not sure I had ever seen almonds and chocolate together. I wasn't really that enamoured by the whole almond/choc Christmas sensation all those years ago. But other than that almonds appeared on some cakes and was a flavour I associated with royal icing and Christmas. So this was quite an experiment for me as I love love love raspberry - fresh/frozen/flavoured/whatever I find the flavour so preferable to other berries. This seemed a very modern and up to date idea - nuts have really come into their own in the last decade with so many more available.

So I was very excited to try this product. I have loved that this modern "raspberry dusting" has become a really enjoyable baking addition to jazz up fairly ordinary things and these almonds are a great example of this. They seem really quite an indulgent treat and the packaging adds to this. Bright and clear with a real treat vibe about the packet (I mean seriously there is a flamingo on the pack!)

The packet wasn't the easiest to open but all was forgiven when it was identified as resealable. Sadly it is probably not recyclable. The mid size oblong balls did not shed dust inside the packet and were a great size to pop in your mouth. They were very uniform in size which is great when you lay them out in a bowl/container.

To kick off the tang really caught you on the first taste. Then the chocolate hit a bit later and then the nutty chocolate finish. A great taste combo! The tang is not sour or overpowering and the chocolate is not too much and not too little - a great balance.

I personally wouldn't have these as a snack as much as an after-dinner treat or a gift for someone instead of sweets etc. They were very filling and will last a while in our house even though they are super yummy. Definitely a treat I am keeping in mind for next Christmas and well-done NOM.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 11th of December, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I shared this product with my family as we all enjoy fresh raspberries, and I thought this might be a new way of trying their flavour. My daughter was interested in the packet before we had even opened it to sample the contents as she thought it looked rather Christmassy, and with the holiday season coming up might make a suitably festive gift. She also liked the ziplock closure because it meant the chocolate could travel with you safely, essential on a hot day when unsecured packaging might leak hot chocolate!

Having admired the packet, we opened it and offered them round. Everyone enjoyed the initial tang of the raspberry coating, although it was not prolonged - the chocolate took over almost immediately. I actually liked that because the result was not too acid; there was a nice balance of sweet and fruity. The chocolate itself was delicious; I could not eat too much of it, but Mr 11 said he could eat the whole packet on his own if he were given the chance. (He wasn't!)

The almonds were crisp and fresh despite the chocolate having become a bit soft; the weather was warm and they had travelled in my car. However, it was not melting, and a few minutes in the fridge restored the firmness. I don't think that would be an issue as either way it tasted good. Mr 11 tipped the remainder of the packet into a small bowl because he thought the packet opening was quite small. He does not have huge hands, but I can imagine that an older (and bigger) person would find getting the contents out even more of a challenge. Having set them out, he then took charge of offering them round to anyone who wanted to try one.

I think it is good to have sweets that are relatively healthy. Children are better eating a high protein nut and chocolate combination than an artificially flavoured lolly. The nuts fill them up, and if they are to have a snack between meals, I would prefer it to be something that is reasonably nutritious. Nuts on their own are less attractive as they imply that the child should be eating something that is good for them. Wrap the same nut in chocolate, however, and it becomes a special treat! Even I, who eat very little chocolate, am happy to eat a small amount when it is presented like this. I am sure I will be buying them again as a treat to share with the children.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 30th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Raspberry tang almond, this flavour wasnt my favourite one of them all, but my partner loved these ones so each to your own aye. I am not sure what it was about this flavour but it didn't work for me, where as my partner on the other hand was happy as more for him. He was dissapointed when I said I would take some to work to try with the ladies, but was glad I left him some in a container. I lvoe the re sealable bag, so good for traveling and them not rolling out everywhere.

The work ladies enjoyed this flavour, some were the same as me and enjoyed the other flavours better and some really loved this flavour so I guess it comes down to personal choice on this one it was a 50 50 split vote. Like the other flavours I have said they are good for the price and you get a lot in the bag, and the nut sizes themselves are great. The coating is the right balance with not to much coating on the nut.

The packaging is eye catching and great and the overall product is a winner. These would go so well on a platter, on their own, to share, for a snack, for the kids as a treat, in your baking and great for trips in the car. I would suggest you go buy some and try them your self and see what you think.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 24th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

If you know me personally, you will know just how much of a sweet tooth I have, it is uncommon for me to not eat something chocolate each day. At Christmas time it seems to be the tradition with lots of households I have noticed, to usually have the good old Scorched Almonds on the table, not going to lie, I am obsessed with these. While browsing the KIWIreviews website this product jumped out at me, it looked like chocolate covered almonds - but with a twist, of course I knew I had to sample these.

Firstly the packaging is absolutely eye catching, the bold red is undeniably bright and going to catch your attention, no matter where it is on the shelf. The brand name is NOM and stands out, the first thing I thought was "I hope these are NOM-my to eat" The image at the top shows a fresh looking raspberry and one of these delicious looking double dipped almonds. According to the nutrition information there is supposed to be 6.4 servings in this bag - let's see if I can control myself.

Ripping open the packet there was no doubt that there was raspberry involved, I pulled out an almond and it was a decent size, and had the ruby coloured raspberry dust over the chocolate. I popped it in my mouth and took a bite, I was met first with the tangy raspberry, then the smooth chocolate, and lastly the crunch of the almond. The flavours are so well balanced, and I was left craving more, needless to say that my lack of self control meant I only got 2 servings out of the packet.

I do not think that I can go back to having plain old Scorched Almonds anymore, the flavour explosion that comes from one of these double dipped almonds is sensational! I love that the pack is resealable to keep the freshness in once opened, these NOM treats will be taking centre place on our snacks table at Christmas, these are worth every cent, you will not be disappointed.

Click here to read the profile of loten10

Review by: loten10 (Katie)
Dated: 21st of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Chocolate-dipped almonds- has there ever been a more quintessential Kiwi sweet treat? Smooth and rich chocolate surrounding the creamy toasted nut. Chocolate and raspberry is also a classic combination with the sweet but tangy raspberry cutting through the creamy richness of the chocolate. So what would it be like to smash all of those things together in one glorious mouthful? Wonder no more, as Nom Double Dipped Almonds in raspberry tang flavour are here to answer your question.

The bag is pretty hard to ignore when you first see it, and distinctive enough that you could never fail to find it on a shop shelf. The bag has a re-sealable opening, perfect for keeping your snacks fresh if you aren't going to eat them all immediately. Of course, the environmental drawbacks of these kinds of plastics can be large, so we try and recycle using soft plastics recycling schemes where we can to reduce that effect.

The almonds themselves are a good size, but not so big that you struggle to eat them in one mouthful. The chocolate is perfectly smooth, and with being double-dipped there is a fantastic ratio of chocolate to nut. The nut is wonderfully toasty, and this compliments the creamy chocolate. The raspberry powder coating cuts through the richness of the chocolate and almond without overwhelming it, giving a lovely fruity tang with each mouthful. The flavour combinations have obviously been carefully thought out, as the combination is flawless, with each of the flavours complimenting the others perfectly. My whole family really loved these almonds, so much so that we have had to ration them out to make sure that they didn't disappear too quickly.

What a delicious snack these are. Incredibly moreish, creamy and rich, yet tangy and light, it is truly hard not to devour the whole bag at once. Perfect for sharing, or keep them all to yourself, nobody eating these could ever be disappointed. We will definitely be eating these again.

Click here to read the profile of cath_champ

Review by: cath_champ (Catherine)
Dated: 18th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have two qualms about this product. First that I had a bit of trouble getting into them. The packet didn't seemingly rip open from the foil opening. And secondly I had trouble staying out of the packet. They were deliciously more-ish that I had to restrain myself from devouring the entire packet in one sitting.

All elements of this was yummy. The almond was crunchy, the chocolate was creamy and the dusted raspberries was sharp and tangy giving each bite something to savour. However even though I tried to only eat one at a time and let it melt into my mouth I got overly excited and managed to scoff half the packet in one go. The raspberry element gave it a bit of something else and gave these chocolates to another level. The chocolate was not overly sweet and not waxy but a nice consistency.

These would be dangerous in my house as even though they are in a resealable pouch to maximise freshness, social distancing is definitely required to maintain proper portion control. These would also make a great gift from an alternative to traditional Scorched Almonds but has a bit more flare with them being dusted with raspberry.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 15th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I'm always so conflicted about the resealable foil packets. I like knowing that the food isn't going to spoil, and the rats and ants aren't going to get to them, but I also care about the environment and would like to reduce the amount of packaging that ends up in the bin. The pack is brightly coloured and eye catching, but ultimately twice the size that it needs to be. No glass half-full or half-empty metaphors here, from an engineering standpoint, the packet is inefficient (but does look nice and visible on the shop shelf).

Raspberry Tang. It is quite a suitable name for the product. Where the "Caramel Love" variety warmed and melted in the mouth, the raspberry tang cools the mouth as you breathe and maintains a more solid structure in the chocolate. It's an interesting cooling sensation that I would usually have thought unique to the "mint" family, but regardless, this raspberry variety is almost the complete opposite of its caramel counterpart. By no means do I mean that the chocolate is hard, but it is noticeably firmer to the bite. Softer than the Nestle Scorched Almonds, but still a firmness that makes this treat more enjoyable to bite into than wait for the chocolate to melt in your mouth.

Unlike the caramel chocolate variety where the caramel and chocolate were blended into a single flavour, this treat is split into three different transitions in flavour; the raspberry, the chocolate, and the almond. That being said, the raspberry is simply a coating. It jumps in and out of the flavour profile, often completely absent from the flavour apart from the familiar sense of cooling refreshment, until a slight tang comes through in the after taste. The milk chocolate is the primary flavour though, and it's a pretty standard flavour, which is why this is a "bite" treat, rather than a "savour" treat. If you try and savour it, the structural integrity of the chocolate makes it last so long that the raspberry has completely disappeared from the palette. If, however, you savour the raspberry before biting into the chocolate and almond, the chocolate is nicely accentuated and complemented by the slight sour of the raspberry dust, with the refreshing element bringing out the earthy roast of the almonds.

As someone that has quite a sweet tooth, I love the thickness of the chocolate. It makes this treat feel super decadent and luxurious. On the other hand, as someone that is trying not to get tempted back into eating a poor diet, I know that the double dipping isn't necessary. But for a "once in a while" treat, this was pretty good.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 14th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

These almonds come in an attractive, resealable foil bag with an enlarged picture of an almond coated in thick chocolate with what looks like a raspberry powder coating. Double dipped in creamy milk chocolate and with a raspberry tang, these looked like they were going to be a big hit.

The packet was easy to open and the pack smelt of decadent chocolate. When I pulled an almond out, I noted that it was indeed covered in a pink powder, but not overly so that your fingers get covered. When I popped one in my mouth, I instantly noticed the tart raspberry tang. I found that when I rolled it around my tongue the flavour soon disappeared and was replaced with smooth and creamy milk chocolate. Thanks to being double-dipped, there was a solid chocolate covering, and once the raspberry tang had dissipated, the chocolate nutty flavour took over. Both daughters tried them and when I asked what they thought, I got a "meh" and an "okay" but I noticed that they both asked for more. I think these may be wasted on younger kids!

I thoroughly enjoyed these and although they may seem a little pricey, there are a lot of almonds in the bag. I would class these as a more luxurious treat and they would make great gifts for people. They would also up the ante if you were entertaining and wanted to impress, although you would probably need quite a few bags as they are incredibly moreish! I'd definitely recommend them if you love chocolate almonds with a raspberry twist!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 25th of October, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Almonds are one of those nuts that were everywhere when I was a kid. Every party had a bowl of nuts that was at least 50% almonds. Almond slivers were on every salad, and the taste of marzipan was the taste of my youth - the consequences of my mother's brief but dedicated flirtation with cake decorating. Then, they seemed to just vanish for a while, and when I next found myself noting their presence, the price tag they carried was pretty scary.

They are still one of the more costly nuts, which is reflected in the price of these sweet treats, but I found myself impressed by the quality in the bag. The almonds were mostly a good size, had a generous layer of chocolate - no doubt due to being dipped twice - and rolled in a freeze-dried raspberry powder that gave them a distinctive tang, offsetting the high sweetness of the white chocolate to give a really nice balance.

Though the flavours are well balanced overall, depending on how you eat them, the flavour profile can vary. If you simply chuck a few in your mouth and start to chomp on them, the flavours will combine very quickly into a single tangy-sweet nuttiness as you mash them into a paste. This is a great way to abuse the delicate flavours, and you miss out on the best of them.

It took me about 1/4 of the packet to find the best way to enjoy them, giving them the respect they deserve. I popped two in my mouth, and rolled them around on my tongue for a bit to enjoy the tartness of the raspberry flavour - which is nothing at all like the flavour of fresh raspberries. The flavour gently morphed between a soft sweetness and something almost more like cranberries. Then the white chocolate started to melt, and added that sweet creamy texture that turned the tart raspberry into a flavour I can only describe as a berry smoothy. Finally, just befoire the chocolate was all gone, the subtle notes of almond broke through, and that was the signal to bite down and enjoy the rich earthy notes of the almond itself, rounding out the journey with a satisfying crisp texture.

After that... the packet didn't stand a chance. Gone in a single sitting, which is a real shame as I should really have saved some to experiment with.

Overall, these are not going to be everyone go-to snack, especially as they are on the high side of the pricetag, but even as someone who is not a big fan of berries, I found them to be a delicate and decadent treat that somewhat justifies the ticket price. Should you ever stumble across them on sale, they are so very well worth grabbing!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 7.8
Product reviews for listing 3210: Curry Infused Oil
Manufacturer / Brand Cannon Hill Gourmet Foods

Product image for Curry Infused OilA very unique oil, not found easily. A lively full bodied oil that is bursting with life and matched perfectly with our dukkah.

    •  Gluten Free
    •  Dairy Free

www.cannonhillgourmet.co.nzClick out to an external site

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Does pushing the elevator button more than once make it arrive faster?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide