Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Thursday 2nd December 2021 - 08:15:51

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Proper Crisps - Barbeque Rub review

« The Little Yellow Digger and the Big Ship reviewThe Little Yellow Digger and the Big ShipProper Crisps - Big Cut reviewProper Crisps - Big Cut »

Score: 9.2/10  [8 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 8961 - Proper Crisps - Barbeque Rub
Brand / Manufactured by: Proper Crisps

Proper Crisps - Barbeque Rub
Price:
$4.20 / 150g bag
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Proper Crisps

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by Proper Crisps or their agents for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets nationwide
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

Proper Crisps - Barbeque Rub product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsLow and slow or a red hot sizzle, we love a good Barbeque! We've crafted a spicy, smoky rub that pairs perfectly with our spuds. A bag of Proper Barbeque Rub crisps is the only side needed for your BBQs this summer.

Ingredients: Potatoes, High Oleic Sunflower Oil, Yeast Extracts, Sea Salt, Smoked Paprika, Raw Sugar, Onion, Garlic, Ground Black Pepper, Citric Acid, Chipotle.

Check out Proper Crisps onlineClick here to see all the listings for Proper Crisps Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel They do not have a TikTok channel



Tags:
chipotle   garlic   onion   paprika   pepper   potato   salt   sea salt   sugar   sunflower   yeast   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Proper Crisps - Smoked PaprikaProper Crisps - Smoked Paprika
Rating: 8.6
Proper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea SaltProper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea Salt
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crisps - Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 9.0
Proper Crisps - Rosemary and ThymeProper Crisps - Rosemary and Thyme
Rating: 8.2
Proper Crisps - Kumara CrispsProper Crisps - Kumara Crisps
Rating: 9.2
Proper Crisps - Parsnip CrispsProper Crisps - Parsnip Crisps
Rating: 9.2
Proper Crisps - Chipotle & Garlic Kumara CrispsProper Crisps - Chipotle & Garlic Kumara Crisps
Rating: 9.0
Proper Crunch Corn Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crunch Corn Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 8.4
Proper Crunch Corn Cider Vinegar & Sea SaltProper Crunch Corn Cider Vinegar & Sea Salt
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Onion with Green ChivesProper Crisps - Onion with Green Chives
Rating: 8.6
Proper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 9.3
Proper Crisps - Purple & Gold Potatoes with Cracked Pepper & Sea SaltProper Crisps - Purple & Gold Potatoes with Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt
Rating: 9.6
Proper Crisps - Kumara Pepper with OnionProper Crisps - Kumara Pepper with Onion
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Cracked Pepper & Sea SaltProper Crisps - Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt
Rating: 8.6
Proper Crisps Tortilla Chips - SaltedProper Crisps Tortilla Chips - Salted
Rating: 8.8
Proper Crisps Tortilla Chips - Cheeza-penoProper Crisps Tortilla Chips - Cheeza-peno
Rating: 9.1
Proper Crisps - Dill Pickle with Apple Cider VinegarProper Crisps - Dill Pickle with Apple Cider Vinegar
Rating: 7.6
Proper Crackerbread - OriginalProper Crackerbread - Original
Rating: 9.2
Proper Pineapple Salsa Tortilla ChipsProper Pineapple Salsa Tortilla Chips
Rating: 8.2
Proper Free Range Sage and Onion CrispsProper Free Range Sage and Onion Crisps
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Big CutProper Crisps - Big Cut
Rating: 9.1
Breadbowl with Meatball SaladBreadbowl with Meatball Salad
Rating: 9.3
Shredded Roast Chicken Classic RoastShredded Roast Chicken Classic Roast
Rating: 9.6
Sids Fenugreek MustardSids Fenugreek Mustard
Rating: 9.3
Honey, Soy & Garlic Chicken Stir FryHoney, Soy & Garlic Chicken Stir Fry
Rating: 10.0
IAM Super Food - Souper: Peppered Beef and SuperbeansIAM Super Food - Souper: Peppered Beef and Superbeans
Rating: 8.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 24th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Our household absolutely loves to eat potato chips, every grocery shop we will buy several bags to last the week. Lately we have just been buying the standard potato chips, but while browsing the KIWIreviews site I noticed these BBQ Rub crisps from Proper Crisps. Personally I had never tried this brand to my recollection, but had heard good things from friends and reviews online. I requested a packet and was stoked to be able to review them.

The packaging is quite different in an eye catching way, the contrasting colours teamed with the artwork of potatoes, seasoning and crisps, draws your attention to the packet. This product in its 150g bag, has a 3.5 health star rating, is gluten free and vegan friendly. On the reverse side of the bag there is a brief rundown on how the crisps are created lovingly. There are approximately 3.7 servings in the packet, which I was going to share between the family.

When it came time to try the crisps, the packaging was easy to open, and a delicious smokey BBQ scent wafted out of the bag and to my nose. I grabbed some bowls and dished out the contents, adults got more than children, as in the past BBQ has not been a favourite flavour for them. The smell of the crisps was making my mouth salivate, I picked a crisp up, the crisps are thin and coated in the BBQ spice mix. I took a bite and was met with an incredible crunch, the perfect way to deal a decent crisp!
I was surprised by just how much flavour the company had managed to get into such a thin crisp. The spices all work well together, but I found the chipotle the strongest, especially with the aftertaste. I asked the children what they thought - 2 liked them and quickly demolished their helping, whereas my youngest said they were too spicy for him, and he didn't want to finish them - more for me.

In my opinion these crisps are a winner, but as mean as it sounds I probably wouldn't share them with my children, as the 2 older kids just hoovered them down like it was a race, and at that price I think these should be savoured. After trying these BBQ Rub crisps I am now intrigued to find some different flavoured products from this brand to try.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 22nd of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I think there is very little I can say about Proper Crisps that has not already been said. Quite simply, these are some of the crunchiest, most flavoursome crisps on the market today - and our family always look for this brand when they are shopping because they know they are going to get a quality product. However, this new flavour stands out as an extra special variety because it packs a punch with its smoky flavour and heady aroma. We all like barbequed meals, especially as the weather gets warmer, and these crisps are the perfect side dish to serve with the seared fish or grilled steaks. They even went well with my cousin's vegan hemp burger, which was added to the grill well away from the meat and fish.

Having eaten two-thirds of the packet with our various barbequed protein items and a large green salad, we rescued the rest of the packet so we could try them next day. It was clear that the contents were going to disappear very quickly if I did not remove the remainder! I had good intentions - I was going to put them in an airtight container overnight so they did not lose their crispness. Alas, I forgot, and when I checked the packet next day, I was prepared to find the contents had gone soft. To my delight, the crispness was still there. I am not sure how long it would have lasted as we were not going to have them around that long, but it was reassuring to find that they were still in peak condition 24 hours after being opened.

The plan was to have a bean and tomato dish pie for dinner, topped with filo pastry and served with a side dish of crisps and salad. Unfortunately, the filo pastry was past its best so we had to discard it - unlike the crisps, it had not survived being open for a couple of days and was already displaying a couple of mouldy patches. That went straight into the compost bucket, and it was Proper Crisps to the rescue! Instead of serving the crisps as a side dish, I sprinkled them on top of the pie and put the dish into a hot oven just long enough to warm them through - the rest of the pie was already hot and I did not want to burn the topping.

Everyone was intrigued at the innovative "pie-crust", but their surprise turned to delight when they actually tasted it. The beans were laced with chilli and tomato puree, but the crisps added a subtle sweetness with a hint of paprika and onion. Couple that with the crispness that still remained and the whole family gave it the thumbs up. The only complaint was that they would have liked more crisps. We could probably have used the entire packet and next time I may well do that. There are already plans to replicate this meal with a larger helping of crisps and possibly a dollop of yoghurt and guacamole on top. What started as a fusion "make do" may well turn out to be a family favourite. Goodbye pastry!

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 21st of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I am a big savoury food fan, and so when these popped up in my online shopping as a "new product" I might like to try, I put them into the weekly shopping. My husband and I do buy treats that are adult only, generally because the kids do not appreciate the more fancy treats, and rather just hoover them down! We also have in the past given them BBQ flavoured things to try and they do not like the spiciness, and they end up wasted.

After the kids went to bed, we decided to open the bag, and, as I do not always tend to have a stop switch for crisps, served out a small bowl each. Proper Crisps are one of our favourites as they make such crispy, light and golden chips that are great every time, and this time is no exception. Whilst the majority of the chips were on the medium side, I do not mind this, as there is nothing worse than crunching into a chip and losing most of it down your front in crumbs! You can clearly see the flavour on them and again, as per expectations from Proper Crisps, they are not frugal with it. Now whilst there is a lot of flavour on them, for both my husband and myself, we found that it was only okay, not great. It tastes good, there is lots of it, but it just seemed to not quite hit the mark with anything really distinctive or stand out about it. I do feel like the chipotle and citric acid were the strongest flavours, and felt like the saltiness was on the mild side, so personally would have like a bit more.

I decided that the next day I would give some to the kids to see if they liked them, as they would be the first to tell me if they disliked them! As a complete contrast to hubby and I, they all loved them and said the flavour was great - not too strong or spicy, which is great - because often we have to stick to plain (and boring??) ready salted - so them loving these opened up a little window of "family snack treat goodness". I did enjoy these chips and would buy them again, but I do feel that they would not be my favourite Proper Crisps.

Click here to read the profile of loten10

Review by: loten10 (Katie)
Dated: 21st of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When it comes to snack flavours, barbeque would have to be up there with the very best. Super savoury yet delightfully sweet, the combination alongside smoked paprika is truly magical. So when your favourite snack brand produces a barbeque flavoured chip, you have to give it a try. We were really excited to put these Barbeque Rub chips by Proper Crisps to the test, particularly given how much we have loved their other varieties.

The first thing I always like to check out on a new product is the packaging. As I have come to expect from Proper Crisps, the ingredients list was reassuringly short, and it was also really cool to see that they were vegan and gluten free. On opening the bag the wonderfully savoury barbecue smell immediately hit me, and I was excited to dive in.

The chips were, as you would expect, beautifully golden and crispy looking. On sampling my first one I was really happy to see how generously and evenly the seasoning was applied. The flavour was intense- a true barbeque flavour, with a hit of heat which grows the more that you eat. I found them truly addictive, each time I stopped I found myself going back for a few more. They were quite devisive in our household though, as neither my hubby nor my two children like spice in food, and so didn't really like these so much. As always with Proper Crisps, the crunch was legendary, and the quality of thr ingredients shine through to make a truly luxurious snack.

These crisps were crunchy, delicious and utterly moreish. The attention to detail in the production and ingredients choice shines through, and lives up to my expectations of this epic company. However, if you don't like spice in your snacks, maybe give these ones a miss and try another one of their epic range. Overall I would highly recommend these to any barbeque fan- but be prepared to eat the whole bag pretty fast, they are truly addictive.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 20th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Proper crisps provide some of the best chips on earth. The flavours and textures are always on point. Providing healthier options, earth friendly chip bags and some new and exciting flavours. This Bbq rub flavour was so good. My partner and I took these to the local speedway one night to watch racing cars and to share with our friends. We wished we had of kept them at home for ourselves in the end. The Flavour was amazing, the texture of the chip even better. Every bite was just perfection. Everyone raved about how good and delious they were.

Between 4 adults and 3 kids they dissapeared pretty fast, hand after hand reaching in to the bag wanting more and more.Everyone licking the flavour of there fingers which was always plenty left on the fingers for licking of which is the best part of eating flavoured chips. Even better when plenty of flavouring is left in the bottom of the bag and one lucky person gets to lick and dip there finger in the bag to soak it all up. I was that lucky person and wow I was so happy to be doing that. Amazing flavours and the best past to end the bag of chips.

Another great product and flavour from Proper crisps. They really do a great job when it comes to selecting flavours for chips and how the chips are cooked. So much thought must go into the whole process and also becoming more and more eco friendly with the bags is another positive. I can't wait to buy these again and have them for movies or when we head away camping with a cider. The adults and kids both enjoy these, and great for the price. Very happy, and I will be recommending these to other friends who hadnt tried them.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 13th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Heaven on earth can be described as watching a movie with the family on a rainy afternoon and eating a bag of chips. After years of practice we have learnt you never leave chips in the bag instead you put in small bowls and everyone has their own portions. Opening the bag is nice and easy - the hardest part was not sampling any till everyone had an equal sized bowl.

The chips looked nice and golden with a fantastic amount of seasoning on them. My hands were coated in the rub and although dying to lick my fingers I had promised everyone we would do together. When we were given the green light all you could hear was a massive collective crunch. My first thought was it had more heat then I was expecting and there was a slight burning on my lips. My husband said it was more acidic then expecting and could taste a little bit of Chili and Vinegar (although neither are listed in the ingredients). My girls both thought they were fantastic.

As much as I adore Proper Crisps this one was a bit of a let down for me. I enjoy the variety of shapes and I love how fresh and crunchy they are but as for the taste I think personally it was a bit of a miss for me. There is a subtle barbeque flavour there but it is not as sweet as I like and was more heat orientated. I didn't find my mouth was bursting with flavour. I do love kettle fried chips and this company definitely excels in that area but this is not one of their finest.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 13th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Now, this was potentially the product I was most looking forward to. Copper Kettle BBQ has always been one of my top chips due to its tough and crunchy yet voluminous and airy texture, and its very distinctive flavour. It was a BBQ flavour that no other chip brand was able to beat. When I first came to know Proper Crisps, I fell in love with their kumara chips because they also had that perfect level of firm and crunchy that I look for in a chip. And here we have a proper crisp with barbecue flavouring.

Is it a new favourite? Have they finally been able to figure out what it would take to be my favourite chip overall? Well, I love the ingredients list because it feels so homely. Potatoes, Sunflower Oil, Chipotle, Garlic, Ground Black Pepper, Raw Sugar, Onion. With the exception of some yeast extract, every ingredient is sitting in my pantry. This feels like something I could easily make at home should I feel the need. I like that feeling.

Opening up the pack, and it almost looks exactly like the Copper Kettle crisps I love. It is a little dottier from the seasoning and the little expansions and air bubbles in the chips are much smaller. But at a quick glance, nobody would know the difference from how it looks. Chucking one in my mouth and that crunch is just absolutely divine. Every movement of my mouth extends the crunch. It has a crispness that makes the packet feel like the freshest crisps ever made. Real proper crisps. The flavour is on point and is almost identical to the Copper Kettle crisps with just a slight extra tanginess to it. The only real noticeable difference between these and my fave chips is that despite that amazing crunch, they still are weaker chips. They lack the strength that the kumara chips have.

These are good. Well, they are great. But they mimicked my favourite chip. They got so close to it that I frankly believe that they may be using the exact same seasoning. But it's too close. I already have a favourite BBQ chip. To be the top dog it needed to beat it, not match it. And as it stands, I wouldn't be able to pick one over the other, so if I wanted crisps in the supermarket, it would simply come down to cost. An amazing feat to replicate that flavour profile so well, but I want something more!

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 10th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

These crisps nearly caused a domestic argument between my hubby and me. As soon as he saw them, he wanted to open them, which was just before we were having dinner. Every five minutes I got, "can we open them yet?" and I basically told him if he opened them and ate them, he would be sitting down and writing the review, to which he replied, "I'll leave you a couple!" So, after much hassling, I succumbed and opened the bag, knowing that I had to get in quick or I'd just be sampling crumbs. Hubby opened the bag, inhaled, and looked like he was in Heaven. I grabbed the bag off him and gave him a small bowl to enjoy, claiming that I needed a decent amount so I could review them.

The back of the packet has lots of information about how only natural flavours are used (smoked paprika, onion, chipotle, garlic) and how they are lovingly made. Each spud is hand-sorted, hand-trimmed, and sliced to the right thickness depending on the season. They are cooked in small batches the traditional way with times and temperatures adjusted to get a perfect golden crispness. I could also tell that Huia had made my crisps - I really like this personal touch as it feels like crisps have been made by real people and not on a huge production line.

The crisps themselves were delicious. There were a few very large crips but most were medium to small. You could see the flavour on each crisp and they were lovely and crunchy. They had a lovely BBQ flavour and needless to say, hubby was like a puppy dog begging for more. The whole family agreed that these were lovely and tasty and had a wonderful crunch to them. They are a little more expensive than the 'run of the mill' crisps but you can really taste the difference in quality so as the adage goes, you get what you pay for!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.9
Product reviews for listing 1243: The Sicilian Gourmet Pizza -  Produced by The Chicago Pizza Company

Product image for The Sicilian Gourmet PizzaBig Al runs the outfit, (with Mama's guidance of course), and it ain't easy being the boss. Which is why he goes for The Sicilian - the Godfather of frozen pizzas.

It's got a premium base, quality toppings as far as the eye can see, and of course - our famous secret herbed sauce. Big on looks and big on taste. So the next time you gotta reload, whether it's a sit-down with the family - or something to feed the crew - think Big Al's Chicago Grand - the Pizza made by a made guy.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"The man with a new idea is a crank until the idea succeeds."
Mark Twain (1835-1910)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide