Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Thursday 2nd December 2021 - 07:44:03

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Proper Crisps - Big Cut review

« Proper Crisps - Barbeque Rub reviewProper Crisps - Barbeque RubShowmores.com reviewShowmores.com »

Score: 9.1/10  [7 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 8962 - Proper Crisps - Big Cut
Brand / Manufactured by: Proper Crisps

Proper Crisps - Big Cut
Price:
$4.80 / 150g bag
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Proper Crisps

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by Proper Crisps or their agents for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets nationwide
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

Proper Crisps - Big Cut product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsThe perfect crisps for the perfect IPA, two new creations to redefine your snack time! Proper's OG has gone BC - that Big Cut. Unpeeled, thickly sliced golden potatoes dusted in finely ground sea salt, and hand cooked to extremely crispy glowing perfection. For the ultimate flavour experience eat with Garage Project's Proper Crisp IPA.

Ingredients: Potatoes, High Oleic Sunflower Oil, Sea Salt

Check out Proper Crisps onlineClick here to see all the listings for Proper Crisps Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel They do not have a TikTok channel



Tags:
crisps   home compostable   potato   salt   sea salt   sunflower   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Proper Crisps - Smoked PaprikaProper Crisps - Smoked Paprika
Rating: 8.6
Proper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea SaltProper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea Salt
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crisps - Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 9.0
Proper Crisps - Rosemary and ThymeProper Crisps - Rosemary and Thyme
Rating: 8.2
Proper Crisps - Kumara CrispsProper Crisps - Kumara Crisps
Rating: 9.2
Proper Crisps - Parsnip CrispsProper Crisps - Parsnip Crisps
Rating: 9.2
Proper Crisps - Chipotle & Garlic Kumara CrispsProper Crisps - Chipotle & Garlic Kumara Crisps
Rating: 9.0
Proper Crunch Corn Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crunch Corn Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 8.4
Proper Crunch Corn Cider Vinegar & Sea SaltProper Crunch Corn Cider Vinegar & Sea Salt
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Onion with Green ChivesProper Crisps - Onion with Green Chives
Rating: 8.6
Proper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 9.3
Proper Crisps - Purple & Gold Potatoes with Cracked Pepper & Sea SaltProper Crisps - Purple & Gold Potatoes with Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt
Rating: 9.6
Proper Crisps - Kumara Pepper with OnionProper Crisps - Kumara Pepper with Onion
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Cracked Pepper & Sea SaltProper Crisps - Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt
Rating: 8.6
Proper Crisps Tortilla Chips - SaltedProper Crisps Tortilla Chips - Salted
Rating: 8.8
Proper Crisps Tortilla Chips - Cheeza-penoProper Crisps Tortilla Chips - Cheeza-peno
Rating: 9.1
Proper Crisps - Dill Pickle with Apple Cider VinegarProper Crisps - Dill Pickle with Apple Cider Vinegar
Rating: 7.6
Proper Crackerbread - OriginalProper Crackerbread - Original
Rating: 9.2
Proper Pineapple Salsa Tortilla ChipsProper Pineapple Salsa Tortilla Chips
Rating: 8.2
Proper Free Range Sage and Onion CrispsProper Free Range Sage and Onion Crisps
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Barbeque RubProper Crisps - Barbeque Rub
Rating: 9.2
Scone Toast: Apricot and HoneyScone Toast: Apricot and Honey
Rating: 8.2
Sunday Best - Bacon, Egg and PestoSunday Best - Bacon, Egg and Pesto
Rating: 9.1
Dr. Oetker Designer Icing - WhiteDr. Oetker Designer Icing - White
Rating: 10.0
Barker's Fruit For Cheese - Blackberry & BrandyBarker's Fruit For Cheese - Blackberry & Brandy
Rating: 9.5
Barker's Antipasto - Roasted Tomato & Green OliveBarker's Antipasto - Roasted Tomato & Green Olive
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 24th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Finding a decent crisp that lives up to its name, and also has flavour can be a challenge at times. When I saw Proper Crisps had a 'Big Cut' crisp out I was rather keen to taste it. Another aspect I liked when I saw this product was that it comes in a compostable bag - how cool and innovative is that!

Looking at the packaging it is quite simple with only 3 colours, the bag is 150g and feels not much different in texture to a normal crisp packet, however this one is home compostable. The crisps themselves are gluten free and vegan friendly, with no added MSG and are GMO free.

I picked up my first crisp out of the bag, it was thick and golden, I was quite concerned that being so thick it may have limited flavour throughout. No need to be worried though as the crisp was full of crunch, and flavour, the balance between the potato crisp and the Marlborough Sea Salt is perfect, and there is not that strong aftertaste of salt that leaves you craving a drink.

These crisps are now on the shopping list for when we have guests over, I could not fault these crisps in any way. I am now looking forward to see if Proper Crisps will make different flavours for the 'Big Cut' crisps. My friend said after trying a handful with his beer. that the crisps are perfect accompanying a cold beverage of the alcoholic variety, on a nice summers day - bring on Summer!

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 24th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love Proper Crisps as they are hand cooked and have a uniquely delicious taste. I was looking forward to trying their Big Cut crisps and when I opened the pack, I wasn't surprised to find myself surrounded by the whole family. The bag was about half full which I have come to expect with packets of crisps nowadays. What did surprise me was the size of the crisps. Although the packet said 'Big Cut' I really wasn't expecting them to be so big, and so thick! When I put one in my mouth (well, half of one as even my mouth couldn't fit a whole one!) there was the most delicious and satisfying crunch. Hubby and kids tried one and all I could hear was crunching with my daughter likened them to eating crackling! They had just the right amount of salt on them without being too salty and you could tell they had been fried to perfection. Indeed, the packet says that each spud is hand-sorted, hand-trimmed, sliced double thick, and then cooked in small batches with the time and temperature adjusted to suit. They aim for perfect golden crispness and that is exactly what you get.

Whoever HUIA is, they are doing a great job of making my crisps. Although it is a name I recognise on the majority of Proper Crisp packs, I haven't been disappointed yet! The ingredients are simple - potatoes, high oleic sunflower oil, and salt. No nasties, no added MSG, and vegan and gluten-free. The bonus with Proper Crisps is that they also come in a compostable bag. My biggest complaint would be the size as these didn't last long with four people munching on them. I was impressed that most of the crisps were huge, and not just a token few. They are quite pricey for the amount but these are the nicest salted crisps I have ever tried and they are cooked in small batches. Whilst they won't be a regular addition because of the price, I will be purchasing them as a treat (which won't be shared with the kids!) It would also be great to see these in some other flavours - I'd bet they'd be great in BBQ flavour!

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 20th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

These are by far the most crunchy chips I have easten. My partner and I decided to eat these once the kids were in bed, and wow did we make the right call. Otherwise we would have had none to ourselves. We both talked about how amazing these chips were, every single bite, every single chip. Cooked to perfection, the best flavouring and right amount of salt, not to greeasy and just an all round amazing chip.

I love the packaging, the strong bag which is easy to open and great for the environment. Bright yellow so it catches your eye. All the healthier ingredients used. This is one brand of chips I always rate, they have the best chips. But these are next level, I really look forward to trying more flavours and eating them again. My partner is a snack monster and nearly every night while watching tv when the kids are in bed he will eat a bag of chips. These are now to be added to the shopping list he says.

We also have lots of friends over and head camping so I can't wait to eat these while we are camping and watching the ocean, what a perfect combo to enjoy summer with. I will recommend these to friends and family. We did have a few left in the bad, not much which we left for my toddler. He ate them up saying these are yummy aye mummy. He relly enjoyed them. As he was eating them I was thinking, you lucky thing. If you buy these, I do say hide them from the kids if you want to keep some for yourself. Anything like my kids they munch them down so fast. A all rounder amazing chip and flavour from the best brand out.

Click here to read the profile of loten10

Review by: loten10 (Katie)
Dated: 19th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When it comes to snack products, the one company which consistently delivers on quality, taste and all-round style is Proper Crisps. I have been a huge fan of theirs for a long time, and have never been disappointed in a product from their, now extensive, range. I am always keen to put their new offerings to the test, especially when the words 'Big Cut' feature as the product name, as I am all about the chip crunch. I have very high expectations, so I was eager to see if these chips could live up to my own hype, never mind anyone elses.

As expected, the bag was a great sharing size- perfect for a few snack attacks, but not so many that they start to go sad before you can get to them. Once again the ingredients list was reassuringly short, another big tick for me. I could tell from feeling the bag that these chips certainly seemed to be as thick as the description, but nothing quite prepared me for what was inside. The first thing which hit me was the smell- like the most gloriously crunchy roast potatoes you have ever eaten. Just one look at the rich golden colour of the really thick crisps and that was it- I was going in!

The flavour and texture of these not-so-wee beauties certainly didn't disappoint. They were everything I had hoped- rich, perfectly seasoned and amazingly crunchy. The big cut here actually means what it says, larger and thicker than even the Proper Crisps standard. The sea salt was the perfect compliment to the overall taste- just enough without being overwhelming. Because they were made to be partnered with The Garage Project's IPA, I thought I'd better sample them with that too, you know, just to make the review thorough. What a combination- the pair are a match made in heaven.

So, in short, I loved these chips and you will too. They were everything my high standards expected and more. My family didn't get a look in with them as they were too delicious to share. I will definitely be buying these again to partner with The Garage Project's IPA- believe the hype of these two things together and give them a try if you are able to. Once again, a triumph in snacking supplied by Proper Crisps- a company continuously raising the bar.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 17th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

It is not really a movie unless you have a snack to go with it. Waiting for the girls to go to bed I sat on the couch planning out what steps I were going to do to prepare for the movie with my husband. Chips, cheese and crackers and a yummy passionfruit cider. Perfect. After years of doing this we have become very good at eliminating any unnecessary noise from packets, so I dipped the contents of the crisp bag in to a bowl. Bonus is the bag is compostable so instead of hiding in the rubbish bin I put into our compost bin with a mental note to empty before girls get home from school.

One thing I was not expecting was how much of a crunch noise we would be making each time we ate a chip. They feel rather hard and there really is no easy way or subtle way of eating them. Nor is there any potential way of eating quietly. Lucky the movie was not quiet as my husband got massive delight crunching down on the chip and it sounded like he was making as much noise as he possibly could.

The chips themselves were a great size and I do like how they curl on top of each other. They were rather salty which was perfect with the cider, but on there own I would guess the salt would be very over powering. I am not a huge fan of salted chips and do prefer flavours over the plain ones unless I have dips of some sort to help me out. Unlike other varieties of chips there were a good helping of them and I wasn't just faced with an empty bag where most of it is just air which I was very thankful for.

The chips did last pretty much for the whole movie which was great as you only need a few at a time to satisfy that hunger. Although nice I would not recommend with a quiet movie or eating with someone if you can not handle the crunch. The price is getting up there compared to other varieties but in all honesty Proper Crisps are definitely the best on the market.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 16th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Having tried and enjoyed Proper Crisps before, and living in the beautiful Marlborough area that the sea salt used on these is from, I was very happy to see them included in my review box. Whilst neither my husband nor I are huge fans of IPA beer, next time around we would definitely take the recommendation and try having the Garage Project's IPA with them to see if there was any flavour change/difference.

As the name alluded to with Big Cut crisps, I guessed they would either be big potatoes used, or thickly cut, and was pleased to see they were a little of both. They are similar to a kettle chip, feeling more handmade and less of the stock standard potato chip. There was a lot of big chips in the bag, which I thought was good - I was less able or likely to ''hoover'' them as my Grandma used to say. My kids on the other hand seemed to be like penguins or seagulls and open their mouths wider to accommodate the big chips!! They are a really lovely taste and texture - beautifully cooked, crispy and crunchy, but are, at the end of the day most a ready salted. They are nice and strong though and stood the test of dipping and scooping.

These are on the fancier side of potato chips and are not the ones I would buy for my kids, but rather for hubby and I to enjoy. One thing I really like about Proper Crisps back is that the are compostable, and I'm supporting an NZ company by buying them. I will buy these again as I really enjoyed them and look forward to other flavours too!

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 13th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

It's certainly not usual to find a packet of crisps that pairs with a specific craft beer. Part of a collaboration with Wellington brewery Garage Project, these Proper Big Cut crisps are supposedly best eaten paired with the Garage Project Proper IPA. Unfortunately, I couldnā ™t try them out this way. In fact, despite driving to six different liquor stores, the three that did sell Garage Project beers did not sell Proper IPA (most citing that it did not sell well). Honestly, not a promising start.

Having to compromise and try the crisps with a Monteiths IPA instead, I can't really speak to how well the crisps pair with the Proper IPA. With a Monteith's IPA though, it clearly did not match well at all. The IPA came across lacking flavour but having some refreshing acidic tones. This refreshing acidic nature of the drink actually ended up completely separating the drink and food elements, as the crisp was unable to break through that alcohol flavour in any fashion. Both flavours remained completely separate.

Having completely lost faith in the odd choice to try and pair a crisp with a craft beer, there is nothing left but to judge these chips on the product alone. The packet is an odd texture and feeling, but that is due to the product having compostable packaging, which I love. A packet of chips never lasts long, so it's always going to be a big source of rubbish is if it has a plastic or foil packet. I don't know how they did it, but compostable packaging is an amazing feat.

The crisps themselves are beautifully yellow and golden. These big cut crisps are actually something that I really enjoy. The thickness adds to the sturdiness and strength of the chip and closer matches the texture and consistency that I have come to expect from the kumara crisp varieties. The big cut gives them a brilliant level of crunch. Nice and airy with a huge crunch these would be a lovely chip with the Barbecue Rub flavouring.

The only real downside is that the flavour is effectively Ready Salted. Nothing new or spectacular. having a packet of Big Cut Proper Crisps in my possession, the saltiness is great and is a lovely burst of flavour that creates a moreish nature that will have you consuming half of the packet before you realise it. But is the flavour enough to have me searching it out at the supermarket? Probably not. If I had to pick a Ready Salted variety, this would probably win, but it pales in comparison to other flavours. for entertaining purposes, it's definitely a good choice, because while it doesn't pair great with an IPA, it certainly does pair well with salsa and hummus.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.9
Product reviews for listing 7120: Chilli Lime Chutney
Produced by Castle Rock Cafe

Product image for Chilli Lime ChutneySpread on eye fillet before cooking, stir through prawns, use as base with ginger and garlic for any stir fry meat or vegetable dish, mix in with sour cream to go with fresh pasta or as a side to any seafood, drop on with cheese and crackers.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I'm tired of all this nonsense about beauty being only skin-deep. That's deep enough. What do you want, an adorable pancreas?"
Jean Kerr

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide