Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Thursday 29th October 2020 - 10:08:40

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Parenting > Little Scholastic : Please and Thank You review

« Daughters of the Sea - 2 - May reviewDaughters of the Sea - 2 - MayMuncle Trogg reviewMuncle Trogg »

Score: 9.3/10  [6 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 2930 - Little Scholastic : Please and Thank You
Author: Jill Ackerman

Little Scholastic : Please and Thank You
Price:
$16.50
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Scholastic (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
June 2011

Little Scholastic : Please and Thank You product reviews

Please and Thank You are magic words!

This manners board book grows with your child:

Babies: Point to the images, touch the flaps.
1-2 Years: Look at the pictures and text. Listen and repeat the words.

Check out Scholastic (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Scholastic (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
babies   children   conversation   growth   language   linguistic   manners   polite   scholastic
Other listings you may be interested in:
Double VisionDouble Vision
Rating: 8.8
Best-Ever MuffinsBest-Ever Muffins
Rating: 9.3
The Wayfarer Redemption : 1 : SinnerThe Wayfarer Redemption : 1 : Sinner
Rating: 7.0
It's The Best Day Ever, Dad!It's The Best Day Ever, Dad!
Rating: 8.5
Piggity-Wiggity Jiggity Jig and the School ConcertPiggity-Wiggity Jiggity Jig and the School Concert
Rating: 9.5
My Story - Henry VIII's WivesMy Story - Henry VIII's Wives
Rating: 9.8
The RaceThe Race
Rating: 9.0
Captain Underpants and the Terrifying Return of Tippy TinkletrousersCaptain Underpants and the Terrifying Return of Tippy Tinkletrousers
Rating: 9.4
Get into Art: AnimalsGet into Art: Animals
Rating: 9.8
Geronimo Stilton Special Edition: The Journey Through TimeGeronimo Stilton Special Edition: The Journey Through Time
Rating: 10.0
BraveBrave
Rating: 8.3
Dad you are my Super HeroDad you are my Super Hero
Rating: 9.3
The Mysterious World of Cosentino: The Missing Ace + Bonus Trick CardsThe Mysterious World of Cosentino: The Missing Ace + Bonus Trick Cards
Rating: 8.6

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of vettechic

Review by: vettechic (Tash)
Dated: 26th of June, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Easy to understand:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10

This is one of the book hunted out almost daily in this house, Mr 3 can happily 'read' this to Miss 22 months off by heart. Miss 22 months is also getting very clever at remembering the words in the book and also very good at using them in her everyday life. I also get reminded to use the 'magic word'!

The pictures are nice, bright, bold and not over crowded with too much going on.

The fact that it is hardboard makes for a very sturdy book that gets fought over a lot but has stood up to the rigorous testing of little hands, even with the flaps.

A book that I can recommend as a book for all preschoolers, especially for those special bonding times with your child/ren.

Click here to read the profile of fifilemon

Review by: fifilemon (Fiona)
Dated: 4th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Easy to understand:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10

This has been a great book in our household, our toddler has been reading this for 6 months and is still his favourite book. Our boy loves the tabs in the book making it interactive for him. He is starting to use his words now and understands please and thank you and what these words actually mean. Its a great book for 1 to 2 year olds due to its simple message and I would highly recommend!

Click here to read the profile of esme

Review by: esme (Esme)
Dated: 14th of August, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Easy to understand:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10

This is an awesome little book. It was easy to read and understand, so when I got it my 5yo was very excited as he could read it to his little sister, who loves to have stories read by her big brother.

I love the fact that the pages are hardboard so when my children do argue over who is going to change the page they are not going to easily rip pages out (as has been done in the past to other books). My 3yo loves opening up all the flaps and often does before its time to just to see what is under it again.

It has helped my children greatly with remembering their manners and are often reminding each other "what's the magic word" which is cute. They also do think more about their manners before asking so now have to be reminded less.

For the first 2 weeks of owning to book I had to read it to each child 4-5 times in a row which also helped them memorise it and now even my 3yo can "read" the book.

My children also loved discussing who they thought all the characters in the pictures could be "an Aunty, an Uncle, a friend, a big brother, a big sister, a mum or a dad". The pictures are lovely and colourful.

Well illustrated, well written and a well loved little book in our house.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 20th of July, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Easy to understand:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10

This is a darling little board book, and board books are the best in my opinion: no ripped pages, means no tears. yay!

The simplicity of the book is perfect, easy to read and easy to understand, making the message it is intended to get across easily taught. The lift the flap part of the book is also a perfect addition as everybody, young and old, loves lift the flap book Smile Icon

I agree with another reviewer too in that the easy to read story means 'miss nearly 5' has accomplished reading (memorizing) the book and can read it to her niece and nephew which is fantastic, and as an added bonus she feels really proud because she can read it all by herself to them.

The colours are also nice and bright and the pictures very cute, so children are very taken with it. It has everything a younger child's story book needs: bright, colourful, interesting and fun.

The price possibly a little high, but as all children we know have found it very engaging I would more than happily buy more in the series.

We were lucky enough to win our copy in one of KIWIreviews regular competitions, so thank you very much for that, its a fantastic wee book.

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 9th of July, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Easy to understand:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10

This is a great board book that is easy to hold and understand. The interactive flaps hold interest with children and the look of delight when its opened is great.

It has easy to understand words that my 5 year old can read (mostly alone) to her baby sister. Although the 5 year knows her manners, she tends to forget them and with reading this book to baby, it has increased the use of them in our house.

Being a board book i dont have to worry about the pages being ripped or eventually chewed on. I would like to see what other titles there are in this series as good educational, affordable books seem hard to find these days.

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 16th of June, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Easy to understand:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10

Well given the way that Mstr 15months has carted this around everywhere for the last week, I'd say it's safe to say the book is a hit.

It's a nice simple board book about saying please and thank you, it gives us parents vague hope that if we read it enough something might sink in and we manage to instil good manners in our children. (We can live in hope right?). That it's a "lift the flap" book definitely makes it more interesting and engaging for young children and I've found even Mstr 15 months has interacted more with it than just hitting the pages enthusiastically.

The pictures are basic and colourful which is again great for young kids. Simple text describing every day situations also keeps it easy to understand.

As with any kids books these days the price nearly makes me pass out but given the response from our test subject I would buy more in the series assuming there are any.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 9.8
Product reviews for listing 7197: Lego Nexo Knights Graduation Day -  Author: West

Product image for Lego Nexo Knights Graduation DaySet in the futuristic, high tech world of the Kingdom of Knighton, LEGO NEXO Knights follow five young knights in their quest to battle Jestro, his sidekick, the Book of Monsters, and their Lava Monster Army.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Biologically speaking, if something bites you it's more likely to be female"
Desmond Morris

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream