Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Monday 29th November 2021 - 20:48:27

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Cleaning Products > Eco Turtles Bathroom Eco Cleaning Tablet review

« Eco Turtles Floor Eco Cleaning Tablet reviewEco Turtles Floor Eco Cleaning TabletEco Turtles Kitchen Degreaser Eco Cleaning Tablet reviewEco Turtles Kitchen Degreaser Eco Cleaning Tablet »

Score: 8.2/10  [8 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 8938 - Eco Turtles Bathroom Eco Cleaning Tablet
Brand / Manufactured by: Eco Turtles

Eco Turtles Bathroom Eco Cleaning Tablet
Price:
$10.50 with bottle, $5.99 per refill tablet
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Eco Turtles

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by Eco Turtles or their agents for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via online store and select retail outlets
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

Eco Turtles Bathroom Eco Cleaning Tablet product reviews

Eco Turtles is a range of environmentally friendly cleaning solutions that are easy to use and safe for the home, your family and our planet. Buy the bottle once and just pay for refills. Reduce your contribution to landfill - stop throwing out single-use plastic bottles. Fill your reusable bottle with water. Drop in a cleaning tablet. Clean in minutes - no shaking or stirring required!

100% of the total ingredients are from natural origin.

    •  Quickly dissolves and removes odours with the power of effervescent technology.
    •  Anti-limescale effect for all standard bathroom surfaces (not recommended for acid-sensitive surfaces - marble, limestone, onyx or travertine).
    •  94.2% biodegradable.
    •  Gentle floral scent.
    •  Each tablet makes 750ml of cleaning solution.
    •  One tablet per pack

Check out Eco Turtles onlineClick here to see all the listings for Eco Turtles Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board Check them out on Instagram They do not have a TikTok channel



Tags:
bathroom   biodegradable   cleaning   ecoturtles   floral   reusable
Other listings you may be interested in:
Eco Turtles Floor Eco Cleaning TabletEco Turtles Floor Eco Cleaning Tablet
Rating: 9.2
Eco Turtles Kitchen Degreaser Eco Cleaning TabletEco Turtles Kitchen Degreaser Eco Cleaning Tablet
Rating: 8.2
Eco Turtles Multipurpose Eco Cleaning TabletEco Turtles Multipurpose Eco Cleaning Tablet
Rating: 8.7
Ambi Pur Flush : Green ForestAmbi Pur Flush : Green Forest
Rating: 7.0
Pest Xit UltraPest Xit Ultra
Rating: 9.1
Fructis Nutri-Repair 3 Miraculous OilFructis Nutri-Repair 3 Miraculous Oil
Rating: 10.0
Duck Fresh DiscsDuck Fresh Discs
Rating: 8.5
Natural DeodorantNatural Deodorant
Rating: 9.8
Raid Advance Ant Killer BaitRaid Advance Ant Killer Bait
Rating: 9.4
Tea Tree DeodorantTea Tree Deodorant
Rating: 9.5
Selleys BBQ Tough WipesSelleys BBQ Tough Wipes
Rating: 8.7
Terra Baby Wipes - Manuka HoneyTerra Baby Wipes - Manuka Honey
Rating: 8.6
Ahhh... Grapefruit and Chamomile Shampoo BarAhhh... Grapefruit and Chamomile Shampoo Bar
Rating: 8.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 28th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

The bathroom is not one of my favourite rooms to clean. I find that no matter how much I clean it never lasts long enough. The toilet is probably the least favourite since I have two boys and no matter how much I clean it it often has a strongish smell of urine.

I opened it and read the instructions. I had a look at the bottle and thought "how am I supposed to know how much water to put in?" I was taught at school that one cup equals 250ml so that seemed easy enough, just add 3 cups of water and one cleaning tablet. As I was getting another in the range to try I thought that I could do one with 3 cups of water (as I was taught at school) and one using a measuring cup that had the actual markings on the side (so I measured 200ml x 3 and then another 150ml so that should be 750ml. I knew I was going to get two different measures but I wasn't expecting it to be so noticable. I did the measuring cup first and it got all the way to the top of the bottle (there was no more space at all) and I still had about 30ml left in the measuring cup but the 3 cups of water only got up to the top of the label so I would strongly suggest a fill line mark on the bottle to make sure that the correct amount of water is used. Another issue is telling the bottles apart but that was solved by using my label maker but not everyone has one of those.

I sprayed the bathroom vanity and the toilet and left it about a minute and then started cleaning with a sponge. I was amazed at how clean the vanity became especially since the mirror leans on the vanity near the tap so soap scum builds up and is so hard to clean. I could already smell how much cleaner the toilet smelt, no more urine smell (the boys were highly embarrassed when they found out that I could smell it). I cleaned the top of the toilet and the seat and obviously under the seat (all the parts that don't usually get cleaned by squirting toilet cleaner into the bowl) and it smelt and felt so much better than some of the other brands of multi purpose cleaner.

I liked how easy it was to make, just add water and tablet and watch it dissolve which took about ten minutes. It is eco friendly, so no single use bottles which really appeals. It smells great and keeping the toilet clean should be so much easier. I will be buying some more of the tablets, just got to sort out the measuring of the water issue.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 27th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 2.3/10
Price:
Score 4 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 1 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

Now I love the idea of this product in theory. I care about the environment and the concept of a reusable bottle where you add a tablet and some water and are good to go? It feels futuristic and I like that. The bottle has the capability to be used for all of the varieties of cleaner with colour-coded tablets to help you distinguish between the cleaners. in this case, the bottle (and tablet) tell me that purple is the bathroom cleaner colour. It is slightly confusing that after the tablet dissolved, the water was actually a very subtle blue colour. Not only was it not purple, but it is also identical to the colour of the multi-purpose cleaner. While I knew which was the bathroom cleaner when it was in the bathroom, when I place it next to the multi-purpose cleaner...yeah, I don't remember which is which anymore.

I decided to try the bathroom cleaner on the soap scum on the shower door. Using a quick spray and wipe, there was no noticeable difference in the door. Disappointing. Spraying the whole door down and letting it sit for a while before using an abrasive cloth to scrub at the door and it was still not really making the soap scum come off any easier. It doesn't seem to work well on any stubborn or long-standing stains.

In the end, I tried it on the mirror, giving it a spray and wiping it off with a dry towel and it cleaned the mirror well. I should note that I could literally use water and a dry towel and would have had the same results, so the cleaner is not something that I would consider highly effective, or effective at all.

It comes with the trappings of what the world has come to expect from eco-friendly products. It lacks the effectiveness of chemical cleaners, the spray head is poorly designed (it drips the fluid on your hand when you spray it), it costs more than the effective cleaners, and the scent is so subtle that it is practically non-existent. I'm sorry, but I might as well use water.

Click here to read the profile of fliss1

Review by: fliss1 (Felicity)
Dated: 22nd of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Full disclosure I am not a fan of cleaning my bathroom Smile Icon. I am also probably not the most meticulous with my cleaning as its a household of two adults and most cleaning is done just before the visitors come and think we live like this all the time, or "better improve it a bit for the mother in law".

I used this product as a "distract myself from the horrible job of cleaning with a new shiny approach". It worked so well! It was a completely new process and I really took my time trying to make sense of what to do and how to do it. I needed a measuring cup to identify 750mls as it wasn't marked on the bottle (the end result was that it was basically "fill it up to the top"

I took the table out of its plastic and foil (carefully hidden under a cardboard cover). This did leave me a bit disappointed that the packaging wasn't entirely recyclable but that is probably me being completely unreasonable and trying to find the impossible. There was definitely less packaging than usual for cleaning products. I tend to reuse all my "spray bottles" anyway but it was nice to see the clear instructions to refill it. I will be looking out for this "pill option" to dilute your own (and I do wonder what would happen if I made it "a bit stronger"). It dropped into the bottle and fizzed away for what felt like ages. I guess this is the bit you only do once! Anyway back to the bathroom cleaner and the bathroom cleaning. It looked murky and a bit foamy after the dissolving (see photo)

It took me a couple of test squeezes and a couple more squeezes to work out the mechanism (two off positions and a mist and a direct spray option). It misted beautifully and felt pretty much like every "spray it to make it easier then wipe madly to move it away" product I have used since forever. I felt it was fine but nothing mindblowing or amazing and the key was in the it didn't feel or smell toxic and no paint was removed in the using of the spray. I used it fine on the toilet/sink/shower and the result was great (to be fair hot water probably would have improved it enough to keep me happy though).

I would totally use this again and felt the bathroom spray was the right mix of clean but not strip. The fragrance again was not toxic but not so mild as you couldn't tell afterwards there was a cleaner smell (this might be entirely in my head). I couldn't fault the results but my expectations were probably quite low and it was more a "didn't fail" than a blew me away type thing. I would use it again but really only because I don't have to pay the setup cost for the bottle again. Totally worth the experiment and it did get me into the bathroom and not coming away feeling like I needed to get rid of all the chemicals. A good choice as a regular product in your arsenal for the bathroom.

It was a fizzy fun-filled setup.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 9th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Having a family member with a disability means we have several extra pieces of equipment in our bathroom, all of which need cleaning regularly. They all have a white enamel surface - bathroom chair, shower extender, etc - so they need to be kept spotless and fresh at all times. Add the regular bathroom fittings and you have quite a lot of surfaces that need a daily wipe down.

It is important that any cleaning product used in this area is non-abrasive and does not irritate the skin; some commercial cleaners contain additives which are distinctly harmful, causing rashes and other unpleasant side effects as well as scratching painted surfaces. Even after rinsing they can leave a residue which is invisible but still very active. The Eco Turtles bathroom cleaning tablets, on the other hand, are non-irritant and can safely be used in areas that come into contact with the skin - like the washbasin, toilet seat, and bathroom chair. This is reassuring as it means cleanliness is not sacrificed for safety.

However, it is just as important for the other members of the family that the bathroom is one place that is always super clean. During a time when COVID-19 is an ever-present risk, any member of the family could become infected and bring the disease back home. Having a clean bathroom will not stop COVID but it will help keep everyone otherwise healthy should they contract it. There is also something reassuring about being greeted by a clean, fresh smell when you go into your bathroom.

As with the other items in this range, the eco tablet is designed to be used with a dedicated reusable spray bottle - although it could be used in another bottle if necessary. This means minimal storage space and less plastic waste, both important aspects from a conservationist point of view. I am all for keeping unnecessary rubbish out of landfills, and since I am naturally not the tidiest person in the world, it is useful to declutter where possible.

On so many levels, this product is right for me and my family. I have every intention of replacing the tablet when the first bottle runs out; the price may be a little more than that of some other bathroom cleaners, but the benefits far outweigh the small variation in cost. I have four Eco Turtles bottles now, each containing a different cleaner, and they even look good on the shelf together with their decorative coloured droplets printed down the side. I found a permanent marker useful to tick each one so they could be easily identified, and after a couple of weeks of constant use the mark is still in place.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 3rd of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Cleaning the bathroom is one of my most hated jobs and I have tried to get my girls onboard cleaning the main bathroom. We have a shower liner and bath that gets filthy after they have used it as they don't understand the meaning of rinsing the liner/ bath after you've used it. If ever there was going to be a test for this bathroom cleaner, this was it!

The bottle has no measurement indicators so I filled it reasonably full and then carefully, popped the tablet out of its foil wrapper (which was encased in cardboard) and gently popped it in the bottle. The table is the same size as the bottle opening so you have to be very careful or the tablet crumbles and you're left with bits on the counter. I gave it a shake and then left it for 15 minutes before using it. I sprayed it liberally over the shower liner and bath and then gave it a wipe to make sure all the surface was covered, before going for a cuppa. When I got back, I hosed the cleaner off and was really impressed by how clean it was. Usually, the soap scum needs a good scrub to remove but a wipe did the job.

The bath came up nice and clean although there were bits I had to use cream cleaner for - I don't think that is a reflection on this cleaner though (more on my kids!) Next up was the sink which had dried up bits of toothpaste and other dried up dirt on it. I decided to just spray and wipe clean and this spray was really effective and removed all the gunk leaving it looking spotless. I was really impressed with this spray and would definitely use it again, in fact, I'm already teaching my kids how to use it and I don't have to worry about them touching or inhaling any nasty chemicals.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 2nd of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I hate cleaning the bathroom, I avoid it for far longer than I really should (a habit I⠪m trying to break), and so asked for this to try in the hopes that it could be a product that helps me with my bad habit. There⠪s no handy line to tell you where to fill the water to and measuring it out would be almost at the top, which I didn⠪t want to do out of concern of it overflowing once I put in the cleaning tablet. There is also no handy space to write what product you⠪re using. The bottle shows each available item so maybe they could have been clear for you to colour in the one you⠪re using⦠either way, with no handy spot to put it I printed out a small label to stick on it.

I decided to tackle my bathroom sink, which in this case I had intentionally not cleaned for a week to see how it would do. Given that the kids had gotten muddy, slimy and used various face paints, plus the usual daily use, it looked awful and usually I would need to use JIF to clean it. I sprayed the sink and bench liberally with this and left it for five minutes. I wiped the bench and everything wiped off right away, wiping off the sink provided the same ease of clean and it was as clean as if I had used JIF. This was a big win because I used far less product. Next I used it in the toilet area and not only did it do a good job but I didn‚ ™t have the threat of an asthma attack as a result of being in close quarters with chemicals.

I am very happy with the end result and will be getting more when we run out.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 29th of October, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

As a parent of 3 young children, I try my best to ensure that I use as few chemicals in our household as possible, also having sensitive skin I try to protect myself from having a painful reaction. When I heard that there would be a new range of eco friendly cleaning products available to request from KIWIreviews, I kept my eyes peeled on the page constantly. As soon as I saw them come online I instantly requested the bathroom one, as bathrooms are my pet peeve to clean, and usually require some chemical assistance.

When the product arrived I was lucky enough that it came with the Ecoturtles bottle (otherwise you need to purchase it separately) The bottle itself is a 750ml clear plastic, dishwasher safe, reusable spray bottle, it has an image of a cute turtle at the bottom, and down the side shows the different types of tablet available. The types available include bathroom, floors, sanitiser, degreaser, and multipurpose. On the reverse side of the spray bottle are the instructions for use, first you need to fill the spray bottle with water, then pop in one of the cleaning tablets, wait a while for it to fully dissolve, close the top, and start spraying then wipe clean.

The tablet comes surrounded by a cardboard packet, however when I opened it I found it was encased in foil, I popped the tablet into my already prepared bottle of water and for some reason I expected that it would dissolve quickly, however it took a good 10 minutes for it to fully dissolve. Once ready I started on the bathroom, starting with the vanity I sprayed the sink which had some stubborn soap scum, I was disappointed to see that this cleaning solution didn't really make much difference and I ended up scratching it off with my nails. The rest of the bathroom went well, but I was disappointed there wasn't more of a scent once finished.

I like the idea of being able to store these little tablets in my cupboard as replacements, as opposed to having numerous bottles cluttering the cupboard. I am looking forward to seeing how effective the rest of the tablets in the range are.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 25th of October, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I felt like a scientist preparing the bottle. My youngest was super excited watching me push the tablet thru the opening and watching it slowly dissolve. I assumed it would be rather quick - but it takes a while - we managed to do the dryer, put on another load of washing and cut my nails and we still had time to watch it bubbling in the bottle. The last minute or so was the most exciting when it unexpectedly rose to the the top and disappeared I eagerly jumped up to screw the lid on to find the tablet was still foaming away in the mist of the white cloudy water.

Using the bottle is a breeze and it done the job rather well. I managed to remove a bit of paper which had been annoying me off the vanity unit by giving it a couple of squirts. The scum around the tap removed quickly and my faucet shined after a rub. The bath didn't need much work and neither did the shower and before long I had a nice clean bathroom once again.

The smell is nice and pleasant and not over powering. After finishing the room I could not detect the scent at all - but I could faintly when I was wiping down the vanity unit. It did not require much of the spray at all and I still have a lot left over. It would probably do me for a couple of months. The issue was with the bottle and recording what item was in the bottle. Pens did not work very well so I used a permanent marker - as I am reviewing more than just this item. It would of been nice if the bottle came pre-labeled or if the label had a space for you to write on.

This is something that I am interested in as it only requires purchasing the tablet. The bottle is something that I can keep for the foreseeable future. It is user friendly. I did not use gloves with it and I have overly sensitive skin - I have noticed while typing this my fingers have reacted so that is something to take into consideration for the future. But I am overly pleased with how our bathroom turned out. My eldest loves turtles and saving the environment and commented that I should use ecoturtle for everything. I am excited to trial the other products to see if they done as well as the bathroom.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 4176: Dettol Antiseptic Liquid 750ml -  Brand: Dettol

Product image for Dettol Antiseptic Liquid 750mlDettol Antiseptic's unique formula of dettol is safe and gentle to the skin and yet powerful enough to protect your environment from germs. this clear, non sting liquid gives you the same reassuring day to day family protection against germs.

750ml

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Sometimes only those who love you can tell you what you need to hear, instead of what you want to hear."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide