Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Monday 13th July 2020 - 08:37:57

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Herbs and Spices > Raptor Rubs - Blazing Tex-Mex Rub review

« Raptor Rubs - Smoky Salmon Rub reviewRaptor Rubs - Smoky Salmon RubThe Good Liar reviewThe Good Liar »

Score: 9.4/10  [9 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 8508 - Raptor Rubs - Blazing Tex-Mex Rub
Brand / Manufacturer : Raptor Rubs

Raptor Rubs - Blazing Tex-Mex Rub
Price:
see website
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Raptor Rubs

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via online store and selected outlets
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

Raptor Rubs - Blazing Tex-Mex Rub product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsA bit hot and spicy with smoky Spanish smoked paprika, Tex-Mex herbs and spices and a nice gutsy after-kick of chili. Fantastic on grilled and barbecued beef, steak, chicken and pork added to burritos.

Freshly ground and batch-blended in New Zealand from the highest quality local and imported ingredients: Natural Coconut Sugar, Organic NZ Kosher Sea Salt, Garlic, Onion, Cracked Black Pepper Chilli Powder, Spanish Smoked Paprika, Cumin, Coriander Seeds and Spices.

    •  No Preservatives
    •  No Artificial Flavours or Colours
    •  Non-Irradiated
    •  No MSG
    •  All vegan ingredients

ALLERGEN NOTE: Some ingredients are packed in premises that also handle oats, gluten, soy milk, sesame seeds and tree nuts.

Check out Raptor Rubs onlineClick here to see all the listings for Raptor Rubs Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chilli   coconut sugar   coriander   cumin   garlic   kosher   no msg   no preservatives   onion   organic   paprika   pepper   salt   spices   vegan   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Raptor Rubs - Cowboy Steak RubRaptor Rubs - Cowboy Steak Rub
Rating: 9.8
Raptor Rubs - Vegetable Salt SprinkleRaptor Rubs - Vegetable Salt Sprinkle
Rating: 8.9
Raptor Rubs - Herbes Chicken RubRaptor Rubs - Herbes Chicken Rub
Rating: 9.1
Raptor Rubs - 5-Spice BBQ Pork RubRaptor Rubs - 5-Spice BBQ Pork Rub
Rating: 9.2
Raptor Rubs - Smoky Salmon RubRaptor Rubs - Smoky Salmon Rub
Rating: 9.2
Big Bacon, Ham and Pineapple PizzaBig Bacon, Ham and Pineapple Pizza
Rating: 8.8
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Mushroom RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Mushroom Rice
Rating: 9.1
Farrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted PepperFarrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted Pepper
Rating: 9.3
Whittakers Nelson Pear and Manuka Honey ChocolateWhittakers Nelson Pear and Manuka Honey Chocolate
Rating: 6.0
Dad's Pies - Pepper SteakDad's Pies - Pepper Steak
Rating: 9.2
Marcel's Ooh La La CrepesMarcel's Ooh La La Crepes
Rating: 9.5
Chocolates Are Us - Coconut RoughChocolates Are Us - Coconut Rough
Rating: 9.1
Chocolates Are Us - Peanut Butter BarkChocolates Are Us - Peanut Butter Bark
Rating: 8.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of nikkib90

Review by: nikkib90 (Nikki)
Dated: 20th of May, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We are becoming loyal fans to the Raptor Natural herb and spice rubs for a few reasons. The Raptor Natural Herb and Spice rubs are made in New Zealand with all-natural ingredients. There are no additives, artificial colours or flavours, they are gluten-free and have no MSG. The Blazing Tex Mex came in a 20 gram bag which is perfect for a family size serving of bbq ribs. I love hot and spicy but my family is a little less eager to have the heat, although they love flavour.

I decided this rub would be perfect on some bbq pork ribs. I boil the ribs first to ensure tenderness and then rubbed them with the Raptor Blazing Tex Mex rub and oil. I let them marinate for a few hours before cooking them low and slow on the bbq. The scent of the rub when the packet is opened is one of a mix of sweet spices with a smokey finish. While the ribs were cooking you could smell the various layers of flavour that were of smoked spices, garlic, a little heat of pepper and still a lingering sweetness (I think this is from the coconut sugar). The ribs cooked and browned to perfection with the perfect crispy outer coating that melted in your mouth when you ate them. The flavour was not intense but enjoyable for all of us, a touch of heat hit the pallet as the meal progressed but nothing that made the children run for a big glass of water.

Overall we really enjoyed this product and will ensure it is part of our regular spice options. I'd love to try it on a tex-mex chicken Caesar salad, sprinkled on homemade wedges, and see what it adds to some smoked trout. Thank you for the opportunity to review this product.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 18th of March, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am a lover of spicy food and am always on the lookout for quick and simple, yet delicious ways to add lots of zing to my meals. Recently I have been experimenting with spices to go on potato wedges and potato fries, but nothing has fulfilled my spicy craving. Upon seeing a Raptor Naturals product for review - Blazing Tex-Mex Herb & Spice Rub, I immediately knew that I must try it. The packet had serving suggestions for meat and in burritos, but I had other plans, my wedges!

The packaging is a bit lackluster and not at all exciting to me, however I hoped inside that would be different. This product is Gluten Free with no preservatives, made with natural ingredients and ground here in NZ. The packaging has a symbol that states this is hot in spicy level, this added to my excitement. I chopped my wedges and drizzled oil over them, then piled on the Blazing Tex-Mex mix (the directions said 2 teaspoons, but I went extreme) The smell of the mix is mouth watering to say the least, and I knew I was in for a treat.

The wedges looked delicious when they came out of the oven, but of course the most important thing was how they taste. I impatiently waited until I wouldn't scold my fingers, and then took a bite. Oh my goodness talk about flavour explosion! I have never tasted any wedges so good, the rub mix certainly lives up to its name, my mouth was tingling but in a good way (thank goodness I made plain wedges for the kids) The flavour was addicting and I found I kept going back for more and more. Sadly the packet has been all used after a couple of meals, so I will need to purchase some.

I would recommend this to any spicy food lovers, you will not be disappointed at all. I have decided that I need to stock up as it is that good, fingers crossed for bigger packets in the future. I honestly do not think that Raptor Naturals will be able to top this product for me personally.

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 16th of February, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have tried quite a few of the Raptor Naturals products now and I really appreciate the flavours they can assemble in their mixes as they are full of bold exotic tastes. The Raptor Rub Blazing Tex-Mex is no different with its Mexican inspired mix of herbs and spices consisting of Coconut sugar, cumin seeds, coriander seeds, oregano and more. I opened up the handy 20g packet and the aroma of smoked paprika and cumin was instantly punching at my nostrils and I was a little concerned that it smelt almost too strong but I was about to be proven wrong. The packaging is very simple and effective but I felt there is a missed opportunity to add little illustrations that apply to the flavour of the mix itself by adding things that relate to Mexico.

My wife wanted to be the first to use it by applying it over diced tofu on rice with fresh spinach and as she got to preparing that I sneakily took a dab of the mix blend onto my finger and tried it by itself. It had a very cumin bbq flavour at first and then the chilli kicked in and although it had a strong flavour it was not overwhelming at all. My wife cooked up her meal and it gave the tofu a nice crispy outer coating which looked delicious and after we each had a piece of tofu we agreed that the taste was very lovely and represent Mexican flavours very well.

I decided to cook up a couple of fried eggs and applied the mix over the top of those and it suited the meal very well and gave it a unique flavour that I will definitely be having again. I recommend the Raptor rubs Blazing Tex-Mex rub to anyone who likes to add great flavours into their meals and appreciates bold rich tastes to make their meals more exotic. The Raptor Naturals brand is quickly becoming a staple brand within my household and the family loves the flavours they provide.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 25th of January, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I haven't had a lot of experience using spice rubs and had heard such great things about the raptor rubs range, having tried the bbq pork spice rub I was excited to use this one too. We eat a lot of mexican style foods and spices in our house being a favourite with the children, from tacos and burritos to nachos they just love those spices. Considering my children aren't fans of heat it is surprising how much they love the spiciness of mexican foods. I was slightly concerned this may be a little hot for them as the packet clearly stated the heat level to be hot but we gave it a go.

We have been doing a lot of bbq cooking with the heat it is great to move the cooking outside so the house doesn't get all hot and gross from the oven going so it was a perfect time to use the rub on some beef steak I had bought to have with salad and tortilla wraps. Like with the other raptor rubs it was simple to use, I poured some oil over the steak sprinkled over the spice rub and rubbed it into the meat. Left it to sit for a while to let the flavours get right into the steak and then grilled it on the bbq. You could smell the spices as it was cooking definitely picking out the garlic and the chilli.

I loved how the spice rub didn't come off when the steak was cooking and having the chunky texture rather than a powder you could see the herbs and spices right there on the steak. While the rub is on the outside of the meat, the flavour certainly cooked right through the meat, but I felt doing it like this it did make that heat level a bit more bearable than if it was a sauce as the final result wasn't as hot as I was expecting and even the children enjoyed the level of heat.

We sliced our steak up and assembled some salad, salsa, and the sliced steak on our tortilla wraps. The rub had left some great flavour on the steak with the smoky paprika, chilli, and peppers you expect from mexican seasonings. A big hit here and one we would definitely buy again in the future, this isn't as overpowering as some of the mexican style seasoning mixes you can buy and we loved that it used natural ingredients.

Click here to read the profile of hjproffit

Review by: hjproffit (Heather)
Dated: 22nd of January, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

My husbund loves trying new flavours and is often throwing items in my grocery trolley to try. He really likes food with a bit of spice. As the kids are not a fan of this spice level often I have to cook two seperate portions. When I saw the Blazing Tex-Mex Rub I thought this is right up his alley.

When hubby saw the rub he was excited to try it straight away. He asked what we were having for dinner and when I answered steak he said perfect, lets try this. After a quick look around the packet I noticed that this was rated hot. Luckly, there were very clear instructions that said to apply 2-3 teaspoons over steak and rub in. This mad preparing a meal for him very easy while the kids had plain steak.

While sprinkling on the rub I noticed how chunky it way. It was not ground into a fine powder but left larger chunks of each herbs and spice. I started cooking the steak in the skillet and hubby appeared commenting on the smell. 'Yum, can't wait for dinner'. While cooking the rub tended to stay on the steak well and there were no burnt pieces of rub on the steak when serving.

Next the taste test. After scoffing down half the steak I get a comment 'its not really that spicy, are you sure that this is meant to be hot?' I got hime the packet to look over and yes on the back of the packet is a hot rating. I tried some and I tend to agree that this was not as hot as some of the spicy food he eats. After deciding that he wanted to try and add more of the rub to his steak while t was on his plate he did comment that it was a nice flavour, a bit peppery and that it didn't leave a strong after taste.

Overall, the Blazing Tex-Mex Rub was nice. It wasnt as hot as we were expecting. The fact it had the instructions to use and I was able to prepare the amount I wanted was a bonus for us. As we didn't use the whole packet I have stored the remaining rub for another day. $9.99 for a larger pouch of the rub is a litte expensive for me but I will see how wel it stores, and if stores well it may be an option to have in the pantry. If someone was tossing up weather to try this rub or not I would say go for it. You can control how much you put on your meal and that it is not as hot as it says on the packet.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 14th of January, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I'm not a huge fan of spicy food, but I have been trying new things and embracing the 'try new things and broaden your perspectives' life philosophy, that said 'hot and spicy' is still something my taste buds are adjusting too. Trying something with 'blazing' in the title, did make me a little nervous. The smell test held strong notes of paprika, and garlic? It was hard to pin down the other scent, but it definitely had the aroma of spicy Texan food.

The single serve packet suggest adding the whole amount to 500grams of beef mince, for nachos, being cautious of a new spice, I added half the suggested amount and found the flavour perfectly suited to my family, there was a distinct spicy note to the nachos, but it was not overwhelming, and there were several compliments thrown around. Next up I had some beef steaks, so I rubbed a teaspoon into each steak, the suggested quantity was two teaspoons, but I found one teaspoon amply covered my meat, and the aroma from the spices was delightful. I left my meat sitting for five minutes, and then fried it up, the flavour was perfect, a true Texan taste. Once again the meal was a complete success, the flavour quotient brought the meal from average to a taste sensation.

The challenge with this raptor product is that they are not available at the local supermarket, but in Mitre 10 with the barbeques. I found the rub, value for money, but I probably won't purchase this flavour again, but that says more about me and my taste buds rather than the rub, there are several other Raptor rubs that are more to my taste, the Vegie salt and the Greek goodness. However if you are a fan of Texan or spicy food, I would highly recommend giving the blazing Tex-mex a try.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 2nd of January, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I've known about meat rubs, but had never used the jar of Jamaican Jerk in the pantry in the 18 years I lived with my parents. Since living in my own domicile, utilising meat rubs in the last decade have been almost just as rare, being able to count the number of times I have used a meat rub on my fingers. I have, however, tasted many portions of meat that have had meat rubs used, as many friends have begun experimenting with slow roasting and smoking meats; such as your pulled porks and braised beef which have been cooked for 16+ hours. So while I haven't done it much myself, I know of the flavours that rubs can impart.

A quarter of the size of a gravy or soup sachet, These single-serve portions of Raptor Rub's meat rubs are very handy. A simple paper sachet, the packet is very easy to tear open; no need for scissors or excessive force to get it open. As with most rubs, the ingredients themselves are incredibly fragrant. In fact, this has a very similar scent to that of the 5 Spice BBQ Pork Rub, just with a more intense kick to the nostrils (most likely from the Chilli Powder). While it smells similar, the size of the granules in the rub do involve some larger pieces.

Despite this difference in the size of the ingredients, the rub still applies with ease (with a dollop of cooking oil) and, interestingly, didn't have such a strong colouring (that is to say that my hands were not bright orange by the time I had rubbed it onto the meat). Easily applied, the rub was rubbed on both sides and the edges of the meat while the skillet heated up. While the 5 Spice BBQ Pork Rub, had some similarities to a Cajun Seasoning, this Tex-Mex was even more so, with a nice, measured kick of heat to go along with the pepper, paprika, cumin, and coriander ingredients that go together so well with Mexican-style dishes.

As a lazy male, I simply made a meal of the meat alongside with mushrooms, but the flavour profile works well enough that you could easily slice up the meat and apply it to wraps, burritos, salads, or tacos (all dependent on what style of meat you use it for). Despite literally rubbing it on the meat and cooking it immediately, there was a surprisingly good amount of flavour to be had. One can only imagine how well the flavour could soak into the meat if allowed to marinate in it, or if the meat were to be slow-cooked.


Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 30th of December, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My daughter had requested that I bring home Chicken Drumsticks for dinner tonight with the attention of using her new recipe book and making a Chinese meal with them, but as I received my KiwiReview package today I decided to go with this option instead. I threw all the drumsticks into a freezer bag added a tiny bit of oil and ripped into the packet and shaked for a couple of seconds to give a good coating and then put in the fridge to absorb the flavours. While preparing it my husband picked up the packet and pointed out that it indicated that it was hot - this could of been an issue - but luckily it wasn't a problem at all.

After leaving for a good couple of hours I put into the oven along with a medley of vegetables. I decided the chicken could be the center piece for the night and only loosely seasoned everything else. Every time someone walked into the lounge they commented about the yummy smell coming from the kitchen - and I have to admit it smelled divine. The smell of tex-mex filled the air beautifully and when I opened the oven it was sizzling away and the aroma had me dying to taste. It coated the chicken beautifully and gave it a nice brownish crumbing.

I was a little worried about the word 'hot' so to prepare for the comments of "spice" I gave everyone a drink beforehand. But taking a bite it was full of flavour and I found no heat at all. There was a little spice but nothing that had me coughing or needing a drink. I ate both chickens without an issue and the four of us agreed it added another element to the meal. For such a small packet it sure did offer some flavour. Even the cat was sniffing away at us wanting to try - but unfortunately for him there was nothing left as everyone finished it.

I love that this can be added to so many other dishes and as I had originally requested this flavour to have with steak we will definitely be purchasing again. It would also be ideal to use in burritos or kebabs. The benefits of this flavour really are endless and as it was finished rather quickly I can see it being a family favourite especially as it is so simple to use.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 7th of December, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The description "a bit hot and spicy" matches this spice mix to perfection. Despite being called "Blazing Tex-Mex", the mixture is pleasantly spicy rather than impossibly hot, and even the children found they could eat and enjoy their meat flavoured with this combination. That is important to know because younger ones will often turn their noses up at foods that are described as "hot" and will refuse to try them. I sniffed the contents of the packet when I first opened it, then got each of them to sniff them too. I then asked them to try a little on a teaspoon first; to my surprise - and theirs! - they acknowledged that they could manage it! Nothing like encouraging youngsters to try a new food with an open mind.

We had both beef and chicken in the freezer, but not quite enough of either to make a meal for five of us, so decided to use both packs. The spice mix is advertised as being suitable for use with most meats, so this was a perfect compromise. We just divided the contents of the packet in half and marinated the two meat portions separately in a layer of oil and spice mix, rubbing the spice in well. After a few minutes, we turned them over to make sure both sides were coated with the mix before adding them to the pan. (We cooked the chicken first as it was a thicker cut and would take longer, then added the beef a few minutes before the chicken had quite finished cooking.)

As the meat cooked, the oil and spices turned the surfaces to a dark brown. The aroma from the pan was wonderful; the children were so hungry they refused to leave the kitchen until it was dished up! My daughter had prepared a salad to accompany the meat in order to cool down the heat of the spice. As it turned out, it was not necessary - but it was such a nice salad we ate it all anyway!

I am looking forward to trying Blazing Tex-Mex with other foods. I would particularly like to try it with scallops or prawns, both of which are transformed when certain spices are added. I have had both of them in a tom yam and included in a sambal sauce, but neither of these combinations is especially kid-friendly. Blazing Tex-Mex, on the other hand, is much milder and you can actually distinguish the various spices like coriander and oregano - impossible in a hotter mix as the chili takes over!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.5
Product reviews for listing 227: Le Meal - Cottage Pie -  Produced by La Baguette Bakery

Product image for Le Meal - Cottage PieWeight: 300g
Ingredients:
    •  Wheat Flour
    •  Water
    •  Chopped and Minced Beef (14%)
    •  Potato (12%)
    •  Vegetable ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"What do you do when you discover an endangered animal that only eats endangered plants?"
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream