Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Friday 25th September 2020 - 06:09:13

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Herbs and Spices > Raptor Rubs - Vegetable Salt Sprinkle review

« Raptor Rubs - Cowboy Steak Rub reviewRaptor Rubs - Cowboy Steak RubRaptor Rubs - Herbes Chicken Rub reviewRaptor Rubs - Herbes Chicken Rub »

Score: 8.9/10  [13 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 7942 - Raptor Rubs - Vegetable Salt Sprinkle
Brand / Manufacturer : Raptor Rubs

Raptor Rubs - Vegetable Salt Sprinkle
Price:
$9.90 / 100g jar
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Raptor Rubs

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via online store and selected retail outlets
Samples for Review:
This feature is available to members with 5+ approved reviews only

Raptor Rubs - Vegetable Salt Sprinkle product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsNow you can season like a real foodie or masterchef, without having to buy loads of expensive, exotic ingredients or wait for time-consuming wet marinades. Within minutes your favourite cut of beef, steak, chicken, lamb, pork, salmon, seafood and vegetables will be ready to barbecue, roast, pan fry, grill or bake. Out on the bbq or in the kitchen, just drizzle some oil, sprinkle and massage in Raptor Rubs and 5 minutes later you're ready to cook.

    •  No MSG
    •  No artificial colours, additives or preservatives.
    •  Gluten free
    •  Nut and dairy free
    •  Suitable for vegans and vegetarians
    •  Made In New Zealand

An amazing all round superstar for sprinkling over roast & grilled vegetables, white fish, pork, scrambled eggs, hot chips - use on everything you would normally season with salt!

Ingredients: Freshly ground and small batch blended from the highest quality local and imported ingredients: NZ Kosher Sea Salt, Dill Weed, Cracked Black Pepper, Onion Flakes, Garlic, Herbs, Coriander Seeds, Cumin Seeds, Lemon Juice Powder, Spanish Smoked Paprika, Chili Flakes.

Check out Raptor Rubs onlineClick here to see all the listings for Raptor Rubs Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chili   coriander   cumin   dill   garlic   herbs   lemon   nzmade   onion   paprika   pepper   raptor rubs   salt   spices
Other listings you may be interested in:
Raptor Rubs - Cowboy Steak RubRaptor Rubs - Cowboy Steak Rub
Rating: 9.8
Raptor Rubs - Herbes Chicken RubRaptor Rubs - Herbes Chicken Rub
Rating: 9.1
Raptor Rubs - 5-Spice BBQ Pork RubRaptor Rubs - 5-Spice BBQ Pork Rub
Rating: 9.1
Raptor Rubs - Smoky Salmon RubRaptor Rubs - Smoky Salmon Rub
Rating: 9.2
Raptor Rubs - Blazing Tex-Mex RubRaptor Rubs - Blazing Tex-Mex Rub
Rating: 9.2
AqabaAqaba
Rating: 7.3
New Generation Liquorice Waikato - Combo PackNew Generation Liquorice Waikato - Combo Pack
Rating: 9.3
Edmonds Moist Chocolate CakeEdmonds Moist Chocolate Cake
Rating: 10.0
Pacific Crown Tuna - Tomato, Basil & OreganoPacific Crown Tuna - Tomato, Basil & Oregano
Rating: 9.3
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Chicken StockSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Chicken Stock
Rating: 9.3
BAKED Pizza - MoreporkBAKED Pizza - Morepork
Rating: 9.6
Rice Sticks: Hot & SpicyRice Sticks: Hot & Spicy
Rating: 7.9
Hellers Spicy Tomato and Chorizo SoupHellers Spicy Tomato and Chorizo Soup
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 16th of June, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Raptor Naturals range of rubs and seasonings have never disappointed here, packed full of flavours and simple to use they have certainly helped me create more interesting meals at home with natural ingredients. Vegetables are something I cook with often because I pretty much love all vegetables. I was really keen to try the Raptor Rubs Vege Salt sprinkle because I knew it would make an amazing seasoning and I was keen to try it on my favourite roast vegetable salad.

I received the sachet of the Vege Salt Sprinkle which is a bit bigger than single use so a bit of a pain that its not resealable, this was quickly solved due to the fact I had some of the amazing magic lock bag sealers on hand, so I could pop one on and then add it to my container of herbs and spices without risking spills. On opening the sachet I was hit with the aroma of the paprika and garlic which was very pleasant. I sprinkled some over my vegetables both before and after cooking and found it added a great taste to them. It wasn't overpowering but added enough flavour to not require any other seasonings in my salad dressing.

After using it in my roast vegetable salad I still had about half of a sachet left so reading that it also worked well in scrambled eggs I decided to give this a go. I made my scrambled eggs with a small amount of grated cheese and then sprinkled over a bit of the seasoning, and it certainly turned ordinary eggs into something way way more special. I would buy this again simply for this use as I do enjoy scrambled eggs at breakfast and this addition packed the eggs full of savoury flavours.

In terms of price I find it pretty reasonable for the size of the package and the number of ways you can use it it makes for great value for money. The convenience of having the herbs, and other ingredients pre mixed by someone who really knows what combinations work is a real bonus for me as though I have a well stocked herb and spice rack I often wouldn't know what to use for what. I will definitely buy this vegetable salt sprinkle again the flavours used are great and for a vegetable lover like me will be well used.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 11th of April, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I enjoy trying new flavours and things, and have a huge love of EASY, QUICK and NO FUSS flavour, so seeing the Vege Salt Sprinkle, I decided to request it. What I liked and wanted to try with this was to use it in vege omelettes to try and add a bit of zing that I felt was missing, as well as trying it over roasted vegies (the best type in my opinion!)

What first appealed to me about these herb and spice rubs was that they are making a huge effort and push to be natural and full of flavour - letting us showcase ingredients and add to them rather than cover them. A big big plus of these is that they are made and blended in New Zealand. The creator of them (Rachael) had a simple idea of creating easy to use, full of flavour but no nasties seasonings.

The first thing I used the salt sprinkle in was, as I mentioned - a vegie omelette filled with peas, courgette and spinach. I sprinkled a little on the egg as it was cooking to get the flavour really in there. A few of the flavours hit me straight away - the garlic, salt and chili but as the cooking continued I could smell the paprika and cumin also. Upon tasting it, my honest opinion is that it is quite salty. This could be that I added to much, but as I like salt, it was not at all a deal breaker to me, so worth mentioning in case there are heavy handed cooks out there!

I would buy this again, as it has a niced flavour, and is a nice addition to an omelette! I have not yet tried it specifically on vegies, due to a spillage mishap - but I am going to purchase more and will try it!

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 22nd of March, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Homemade wedgies are a firm favourite in our household, along with potato and kumara roasties. I am always looking at ways to spice them up instead of the standard salt and pepper, so I was looking forward to trying Raptor Rubs Vegetable Salt Sprinkle. Upon opening, I had a quick sniff and could smell the garlic, onion, and assortment of herbs.

I currently air fry my wedgies and after pre-boiling them, I sprayed them with oil, generously sprinkled them with the Vegetable Salt and left them to it. When I opened the air fryer to turn them, a lovely aroma greeted me and I couldn't wait to sample the results. My eldest was a little skeptical about trying them (she can be a fussy eater) but upon eating, claimed they were yummy. In fact, the whole family loved the taste and said they would like to have them again. It definitely gave the wedgies a boost from ordinary to extraordinary and the combination of ingredients was spot on.

A big plus for me is that these are made in New Zealand, contain no MSG, artificial colours, additives or preservatives. The rub is extremely versatile and I also used it on some chicken drumsticks to give them some flavour and these were also a big hit. Raptor Rubs Vegetable Salt gets a big thumbs up from me!

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 18th of March, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Experimenting with flavours is a must in our kitchen, mainly because my partner hates bland tasting food. Recently we have been having lots of roast vegetables diced up, covered in oil and mixed herbs, but it is getting boring. I saw a new range of rubs available from Raptor Naturals, specifically I was keen to try the Vegie Salt Sprinkle, hopefully it would add another element of zing to the vegetables.

The packaging states this product is Gluten Free, MSG Free and made right here in NZ. I believe that it is important to support local and try to do so as much as possible. Looking at the Herb & Spice mix you can see there are some larger pieces and the mix is a nice colour.

After dicing up some kumera and potato into cubes, I drizzled some oil over the vegetables and sprinkled the Vegie Sprinkle over the top, I will admit that I was fairly generous with my sprinkle. When the vegetables were ready to be removed from the oven, I was met by a delicious aroma wafting to my nostrils. The children looked intrigued and took their first mouthful, this was met with sounds of delight and my youngest said they were "yumminess." I tried some and instantly I could recognize the oregano, lemon powder, and salt flavours. The ingredients all mixed together and complimented each other, this mix is not overpowering and very versatile with ways to use it. I think in the future that we will put this product in a grinder to make the mix a bit more finer in texture.

I enjoyed this product for the different flavour elements, I wish I had used it more sparingly as there is not much left now. Our next idea is to sprinkle on top of stuffed baked potatoes. I love having this product in the cupboard as it is quick and easy, and saves me trying to concoct my own new flavours (some don't end up being very pleasant) Looking forward to seeing more yummy mixes from Raptor Rubs in the future.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 10th of March, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Anyone who knows me or, has read previous reviews, knows we need meals that take no time at all and are 'yummy' but more importantly extremely quick. That is where Raptor Rubs come in to save the day as they are so versatile and can turn the blandest meal into something fantastic - and they really are just so simple to use.

Today one of my daughters had Canoe Polo while the other one had ballet so both my husband and I were on taxi duty. Walking in the door just after six I still needed to get dinner on the table and finish my youngest homework and my eldest needed to have a hot bath waiting for her. Nothing is simpler than slicing up a medley of vegetables and throwing them into the oven with a dob of butter and a sprinkle of the vegetable salt sprinkle. Carrots, onion, garlic, broccoli, courgette, cabbage, mushrooms and corn all get diced up and put in the oven for about half an hour while the mummy duties are taken care of.

While finishing the reading, my husband and eldest daughter has just returned and she jumped in the bath while I prepared the steak to be fried. I love when dinner is simple! I added the Salsa Brava Chimichurri Sauce to the steak, put some extra butter on the corn and sprinkled some more of the Raptor Rub Vegetable Sprinkle on to it and dinner was ready and served. Dinner was a yummy success - and full of lots of flavour. Best of all it was ready in just under forty minutes which included the prep time. Everyone loved it.

We have a large range of the 'Raptor Rubs' and whenever they are in New Plymouth for shows I make sure I purchase anything I am running low on. This will definitely be making an appearance on the spice rack as I love the taste of it. I am guessing it would be an equally welcome addition to chips instead of salt and basically any vegetables as the ingredients are pretty much all enhancers. The price is a little on the expensive side but when you like at the wide variety of uses and the bottles do seem to last for a while I guess it works out on par with most other toppings out there, but this is a brand that I prefer and I have always trusted. Definitely a winner for us!

Click here to read the profile of fliss1

Review by: fliss1 (Felicity)
Dated: 22nd of January, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I was a bit unoriginal in my uses of this one initially as I tend to have a large assortment of "salts" already and I have favourite blends I buy constantly and use regularly so sometimes a new contender is a bit hard to work out what to do with. Also, we are trying to reduce our salt intake so this was a bit of a mixed blessing. It was a salty taste but you are tempted to add a fair bit and you do need to be careful not to overpower the base items. This worked best for me with vegetables that were cooked slower and I sprinkled lightly before cooking. It was a good potato mixer but don't go mad and use too much (again!). It didn't work as well as a sauce replacement for raw items and I didn't especially like it in salads but that was a stretch of an idea at the time to be fair. Probably would be great with chips but we have given those up Smile Icon

I liked the idea of adding it to egg and it zinged up an omelette nicely. Once I read the instructions it provided a few more suggestions but for me, I already have a lot of favourites to flavour most of those dishes so it was competing with some fairly strong tastes and this is a "subtle enhancer" in my view. I would possibly take this (in the lovely dispenser!) if I was off to the inlaws as they tend to cook a lot of bland foods and if I could smuggle this in it would help give them a quick lift. The dispenser lots great so I would, over time, work it into my selection but given we are trying to minimise the spices shelf this one might not make the cut for me personally immediately. So, in general, I would say - great with potato/egg and perfect if you are not confident with spicing things up but don't buy it unless you have used up your usual spice combinations.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 14th of January, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Sometimes we all need that one product in the cupboard that we can put on anything, and I'm fairly confident that this Vegie salt sprinkle is it. There are a couple of suggested uses on the packaging, but to be honest I have tried this sprinkle on almost every dish I have cooked over the summer period and found it to be flavour enhancing to everything!

When grilling vegetables, I sprinkled some on top, when I was creating a vegetable bake, I added a sprinkle and when I was making vegetarian wraps, I added a little sprinkle as I had (Shock horror) run out of flavour enhancing sauces and it worked a treat. I even trialled it on roast beef, the combination of garlic, paprika, tumeric, and chilli, is subtle the blends flavour enhancing rather than overwhelming, and even members of the family who do not like spices enjoyed their meals with no complaints.

What was fantastic about having the vegie salt sprinkle on hand is that it is vegan friendly, which meant I cook whip up a meal for vegan members of the family with out any stress or extra effort. I have purchased a shaker of these for my eldest child, she has just moved out of home, so her spice cupboard is limited, and I feel confident that this will give her the opportunity to make tasty meals, with the limited resources that young people have. The only real negative I can find with this product is that it's not easy to purchase, currently it's not at supermarkets, I had to purchase from the local Mitre10, luckily for me it's a place I shop at regularly. At $10 a shaker it's value for money, my daughters shaker has been used daily for the last few weeks and it's still very full.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 5th of January, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.3/10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

My kids can tell you that I enjoy using various garlic and herb salts and the like when cooking dinner, seeing this available I knew that I wanted to give it a try. Making pasta one night I got a craving for garlic bread, my go to when we have none is to grab some Farrah's wraps and add garlic butter to it and bake for a few minutes. With this lot I coated them in garlic butter and then sprinkled a very light amount to this vegetable salt sprinkle on them. I found one or two ended up slightly too salty but they were a big hit with my son and one of his friends who finished off all the leftover pieces.

I made a quiche for another dinner and decided to mix a little of this in instead of my usual vege stock cube. I did find that having added this, there was no need for salt on top, as it was salty enough without adding more but that the herbs and such didn't really add much to the dish. I did find I was stuck at a bit of a crossroad with this, use a bit too much and it was far too salty to the point of almost being unable to eat the food, add too little and we couldn't taste the herbs and such, which was a big shame as I would have loved being able to taste even a hint of them.

For the meals that I would use this in, it was too salty, sad to say I won't be buying this.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 11th of December, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I find that salts and spice rubs can make the difference between an ok meal and something that makes me wish I had taken note of what exactly I used to make it taste wonderful. I almost forgot to add this to dinner one night which happened to be French toast so I sprinkled some on the top and eagerly took a bite and almost spat it right out again as all I could taste was pure salt.

Put my thinking cap on and decided to give scrambled eggs a go for the next night and to add the salt/rub into the mixture before cooking to see if that made a difference. It did, I actually liked it but the rest of the family gave it a thumbs down as the comments I got was "it was far too salty and I definitely don't like it" and a few others that were a bit more positive. I found that it was pleasant, not too salty and made the scrambled eggs taste nice instead of too bland.

I'm not sure how much is left as I didn't do the scrambled eggs but I'm sure I can find other ways to use any left overs. I would buy this again as I did like it but since I'm about the only one that did ti would hardly ever get used. I did not like the way it tasted when added after cooking but might try and experiment with how to sneak it into the dinner before cooking and see if the rest of the family slowly learn to appreciate it.

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 8th of August, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

As soon as I saw Raptor rubs salt range I thought they looked like they would definitely be worthwhile trying. I have been looking at products that I can use to cut down on salt intake and I believe I have found one that works really well at not only still maintaining a salty taste but adding other flavour elements to the meals also. It's good to see products that are gluten-free and vegan-friendly because my partner is limited to the food she can eat having products like this available makes it easier for me to prepare meals she can also have.

Being New Zealand made is a big positive for me as I am always in favour of supporting local brands first and love to try things our country can provide. The first thing I used the vege salt sprinkle for was to season a mixture of roasted vegetables and was thoroughly satisfied with the flavour this mix supplied. I found it added an ample herb taste to all of the vegetables and was a hit with all the kids as well. Even the eldest daughter who cannot stand kumara enjoyed the different taste it provided.

My partner used this to add into meatballs for dinner as well and it added more character to the flavour of the meal and my youngest son who we struggle to get him to finish most dinners seemed to get through this with no problems or moans. We have since used this on wedges, homemade bread rolls and find it to be a great addition to many of our standard dinner's. We have used the entire bottle and have since been on the lookout to purchase more of this particular one and the other flavours in the range. The only gripe I really can come up with on this product is that it is more expensive than other similar products but is easily foreshadowed by the unique strong flavour I feel this brand succeeds with. I recommend this to anyone that likes adding new mixtures to their meals or is looking for a product that acts as a salt alternative.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 7th of August, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

So normally I wouldn't use salt on my food as we don't really need it. I have started using mixed herbs and we enjoy that for a lot of things, so when it was time to try out some raptor rubs I thought why not. I chose the vegie salt sprinkle as that sounded like it could go with more food options that the others. When I opened it, it gave off a lovely smell of salt and herbs, I love the smell of herbs.

When I first tried it, I thought to put it on roast veges for our roast and well eating it afterwards we thought it didn't work, we couldn't taste anything unless it was on the pumpkin. The next night I tried it again with left over roast meat and made a gravy and in that gravy I added the vegie salt and then a quick sprinkle over the meal once served on mash potato. Everyone really enjoyed dinner that night and noone could work out what I had added different. Had to try it again with the roast veges so I cut up some vegetables added some oil and rubbed the salt into the veges and left it like the back of the jar says, after a while I put them in the oven the kitchen started smelling really good of herbs and spices and the veges tasted really good, you could taste the lovely herbs and spices, which isnt too salty.

The next meal I tried out was a shepards pie cause I love these and always use mixed herbs for this. Tonight I changed it up and added raptor rub vegie salt sprinkle into the mince mixture, you could smell the flavours coming up out of the fry pan and fill the kitchen. Once all put together, added cheese on top then sprinkled the salt over the top of that. After baking in the oven, the flavours infused into the cheese and potato and gave the dish a new dimension and everyone enjoyed this dish.

What I love is this is gluten free, which means my oldest daughter can enjoy the new flavours aswell, its easy to use and the jar is large. I have done 5 meals so far and still have so much left, it says 18 serviings on the jar but I reckon I can get more out of it. I'm sure there are other ways I can use this, like hot chips since I like chicken salt on them, I can always give this one a try. Its much easier to use this that 4-5 different packets of spices and herbs and the mixed herb well sorry its out now, this taste so much better.

If I can get 18 meals or more out of 100g jar of this, then I would be happy to pay the price for a jar. It def value for money there is so much that it can be used for and enhance the meals with different flavours.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 27th of May, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I had just used up the last of my Tuscan seasoning so the timing for this review could not have been better - while not exactly the same as the Tuscan blend, this product tastes very similar so I decided to try it out on the same dishes I would normally use for this combination of seasonings. As someone who has to go easy on the salt, I am always ready to try a product that combines salt with other seasonings so that you need less of it (and get enhanced flavour at the same time).

After taking that initial sniff and then sprinkling a little on my finger to taste, I knew that I was going to approve! You can actually smell the oregano above all else, and since that is one of my favourite herbs, I was ready to put it to the test. A plus for me was the size of the bottle. It is tall, so less likely to get lost on a cluttered shelf, and there is a generous 105g inside, so this puts the price in perspective. And the larger jar size means there is more room for printed information and you can read it without a magnifying glass. This is important as, among other things, there is information about allergens as well as a full list of the contents and their nutritional value.

I tested it out in half a dozen dishes, some prepared just for myself, and others for guests as well, but every single person who tried it (including me!) was 100% positive. I served it mixed with breadcrumbs to top a macaroni cheese which was then browned under a grill, stirred into partially baked vegetables (potato, kumara, pumpkin) which were then baked for a further 20 minutes to ensure the flavours were absorbed, and mixed with toasted sunflower seeds to top poached eggs. These three meals were all shared with at least one other person.

The other meals were single servings - goujons of fish with oven chips and a salad was my favourite. Well, you can't serve chips without salt, can you? This was such a good compromise. I also used it (mixed with grated cheese) to top a mug of tomato soup, and finally I got to rub it on something instead of sprinkling or stirring: a piece of Wiener schnitzel which needed something to liven it up before being grilled for my dinner.

I would like to say I will buy it again, but I am not sure when that will be. Six uses and I have still gone through only a fraction of the contents! Great taste, great value for money, and a must for anyone who is travelling and looking at preparing food in odd kitchens as you have pretty well all the condiments you need in a single bottle.

Click here to read the profile of nzgeekgirl

Review by: nzgeekgirl (Genevieve)
Dated: 27th of May, 2018

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My partner and I love using spices and seasonings to flavour our meals, being on a budget, using spices and seasonings can really make "plain" meals really interesting. I've seen Raptor Rubs around and was keen to try these out.

Opening the bottle the first thing I noticed was just how appealing the smell is! I don't think there was one scent in particular that really stood out, it is a combination that smells frankly mouth watering and a little fancy. Rather than using this one on meat I thought I'd be a little bit different and first try it in scrambled eggs as suggested on the bottle. It really added a wonderful combination of flavours. Although it is vegetable salt, the salt is not overpowering in flavour and I could taste the lemon and chilli coming through. I also added it to mashed potatoes and again it gave it a really nice flavour lift. Also a really nice, healthier alternative to using butter to add flavour! My partner really enjoyed it also and I think we should have made more potatoes just to enjoy the seasoning. I'm thinking it will also be amazing as a seasoning on homemade wedges or chips.

Finally, I also like that a little bit seems to go a long way, you don't need to be heavy handed with the seasoning to get fantastic flavours through and because it's all premixed seasoning, it is convenient and saves time rather than mixing all my own spices to create a similar mix. Will definitely buy this in the future.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.0
Product reviews for listing 8328: Beak & Sons Rosemary & Garlic Lamb -  Brand: Beak & Sons

Product image for Beak & Sons Rosemary & Garlic LambSucculent NZ lamb paired with aromatic rosemary: a match made in heaven. Slow cooked so it's succulent and juicy. Simply carve the lamb joint into chunky slices, heat and baste with the sauce and serve.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why is it that people say they 'slept like a baby' when babies wake up every two hours?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream