Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Monday 15th August 2022 - 04:43:02

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Entertainment > Television > 11.22.63 review

« Paddington reviewPaddingtonOrphan Black: Season Four reviewOrphan Black: Season Four »

Score: 8.3/10  [1 review]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 7263 - 11.22.63
Type of Show: Drama

11.22.63
Price:
$34.99 (Blu-ray)
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Roadshow (NZ) Ltd

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by Roadshow (NZ) Ltd or their agents for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
August 2016

11.22.63 product reviews

Based on Stephen King's best-selling novel and starring a terrific cast, 11.22.63 dives into the unpredictable darkness of the American dream. James Franco stars as Jake Epping, a high school teacher searching for meaning in his life.

Encouraged by his ailing friend (Chris Cooper), Jake journeys back to 1960s Texas to prevent the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. As Jake explores the mysteries surrounding alleged assassin Lee Harvey Oswald, his mission is threatened not only by Oswald, but also by a beautiful librarian who steals Jake's heart... and by the Past itself, which doesn't want to be changed.

And if the Past doesn't want to be changed, it will push back - violently.

Check out Roadshow (NZ) Ltd onlineClick here to see all the listings for Roadshow (NZ) Ltd Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel They do not have a TikTok channel



Tags:
11 22 63   112263   assassination   bridget carpenter   chris cooper   dvd   jack ruby   james franco   jj abrams   john f kennedy   lee harvey oswald   stephen king   texas
Other listings you may be interested in:
Royal New Zealand Airforce MuseumRoyal New Zealand Airforce Museum
Rating: 8.3
Stargate Atlantis : The Complete Fourth SeasonStargate Atlantis : The Complete Fourth Season
Rating: 9.8
Jane and the Dragon - Knight LightJane and the Dragon - Knight Light
Rating: 9.5
The Adventures of MerlinThe Adventures of Merlin
Rating: 9.3
Doctor Who - A Christmas CarolDoctor Who - A Christmas Carol
Rating: 9.0
Full Throttle KartsFull Throttle Karts
Rating: 8.5
Zirka Circus - Out of This World 2013Zirka Circus - Out of This World 2013
Rating: 5.5
Laser CombatLaser Combat
Rating: 9.2
Sleepy Hollow: Season OneSleepy Hollow: Season One
Rating: 7.3
Disney on Ice - Dare to DreamDisney on Ice - Dare to Dream
Rating: 9.7
HumansHumans
Rating: 6.5
How I Met Your Mother: Season TwoHow I Met Your Mother: Season Two
Rating: 6.8
Blaze and The Monster Machines: Race in to VelocityvilleBlaze and The Monster Machines: Race in to Velocityville
Rating: 10.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 23rd of August, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Storyline:
Score 8 out of 10
Actors / Animation:
Score 8 out of 10
Soundtrack:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I got asked whether this would be a product that I would be interested in, and as I went through several years of reading as many Stephen King books as possible, seeing one of his novels turned into a mini-series, I felt there was a high chance of me enjoying it, despite having never read that specific story.

The initial premise is an interesting one, the ability to go back in time and change a major historical event for the "better". Of course I use quotation marks because there are always people on both sides of the fence as to how events should have taken place, and the potential butterfly effects of changing that event. Of course one can never truly determine what would happen if something changes, because you are always basing it on events that occurred in a world that didn't change...if that makes sense. In essence, the premise makes you question a lot of things; your priorities, the importance of other personalities involved, how involved you would get, and what other things would you change if you could. It makes you reflect on yourself, and your past.

Again, I haven't read the book, so I didn't know how the story works around the assassination of JFK, but for a story that is based around the ability to go back in time and resetting any time you fail, well, I was expecting more time-travel, and more "alternate realities". As it is, the mini-series plays more like a period piece where the protagonist is a great detective (maybe a 1960s Batman), and getting to the 1960s itself was a bit tumultuous for me. While it was obviously necessary for the storyline to continue, I struggled to empathise with James Franco's character, and couldn't really find the justification in him carrying on with the self-imposed mission of Chris Cooper' character.

Over time through the series the characters slowly grew on me, as their roles started to take up more significance, and the romantic relationships started to become the most compelling part of the series for me. Many times through 11.22.63 I lost sight of the overall plot as I was taken in by the minor story arcs, and it is in these minor arcs where the majority of the action is, as the main story arc is largely "spy" work; listening, following, hiding, sneaking (not the most exciting thing to watch). The difference in action between the major and minor plot lines, means the pacing of the series is rather inconsistent, with some scenes having you on the edge of your seat, while others have you hoping the scene ends soon.

Character-wise, I thoroughly enjoyed Sarah Gadon's portrayal of Sadie Dunhill, and she came across as a completely authentic character from the 1960s, which was a pleasure to watch. On the other hand I have never been a fan of James Franco, every character that he has portrayed in other works seem to have the same quirks and personality, so I don't see the character Jake Epping/James Amberson, I just see an out-of-place James Franco (whether that was the aim for a time traveller, I don't know, but it wasn't to my liking).

The environments were stunning, giving a very dated feel to the show, and I must applaud whoever set up the clothing for the final episode. So much of it looked identical to documentaries I have seen over the years. Looking at the end of the story, it didn't end how I expected, but in may ways it still did. It brought most of the minor story arcs to a close, and managed to leave you with a warm feeling in your chest (Leon Rippy's portrayal of Harry Dunning was very emotive).

Definitely enjoyable overall, and worth a watch, but I would have much preferred, a more loose adaptation, stretched out over many seasons perhaps. There was so much more potential there with the time travel possibilities, and the consequences of time-travel (I haven't talked about it, and I won't. I'll leave that as a surprise).

Random listing from 'Entertainment'...

Score: 7.5
Product reviews for listing 3229: Back to School Collection -  Type of Show: Childrens Collection

Product image for Back to School CollectionLearning is more fun when you do it with friends! This DVD contains a selection of episodes from HIT Entertainment:
    •  Thomas: Thomas & the Colours
    •  Barney: The New Kid
    •  Pingu: Pingu and the Rubberband Plane
    •  Bob the Builder: Dizzy & the Walking ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Political language... is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind."
George Orwell (1903 - 1950)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide