Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Thursday 30th June 2022 - 20:16:14

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Personal Hygiene > Reach Natural Antibacterial Toothpaste - Fresh Mint review

« Romantic Road reviewRomantic RoadReach Natural Antibacterial Toothpaste - Mild Mint reviewReach Natural Antibacterial Toothpaste - Mild Mint »

Score: 9.3/10  [10 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 8679 - Reach Natural Antibacterial Toothpaste - Fresh Mint
Brand: Reach

Reach Natural Antibacterial Toothpaste - Fresh Mint
Price:
$4.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Reach NZ

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by Reach NZ or their agents for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected retail outlets

Reach Natural Antibacterial Toothpaste - Fresh Mint product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsIn response to demand for products that are 'better for me and better for the planet', new Reach Natural Antibacterial Protection Toothpaste uses an extract from the magnolia tree to safely kill the bacteria that cause bad breath, cavities, plaque and tartar. With fewer of the odour-producing bacteria that are found along the gumline, gum health is also improved.

In line with recommendations by the NZ Dental Association, Reach recognises the importance of including fluoride to substantially strengthen tooth enamel and lower the risk of cavities. The new Reach Toothpastes offer the best of both worlds: the power of nature, combined with fluoride that is recognised as essential for strong teeth.

Reach natural antibacterial protection toothpaste is free from triclosan, parabens, sugar and preservatives and has a delicious fresh mint flavour for really fresh breath.

Check out Reach NZ onlineClick here to see all the listings for Reach NZ Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel They do not have a TikTok channel



Tags:
antibacterial   magnolia   mint   nzmade   toothpaste
Other listings you may be interested in:
Reach Natural Antibacterial Toothpaste - Mild MintReach Natural Antibacterial Toothpaste - Mild Mint
Rating: 9.4
Closer to Nature Electric SteriliserCloser to Nature Electric Steriliser
Rating: 9.3
Roto DusterRoto Duster
Rating: 9.3
'Fresh Mountain Spring' Bathroom Cleaner'Fresh Mountain Spring' Bathroom Cleaner
Rating: 9.0
Earthwise Dishwash Gel Concentrate - Baking SodaEarthwise Dishwash Gel Concentrate - Baking Soda
Rating: 9.2
Earthwise Aloe Vera and Grapefruit Body WashEarthwise Aloe Vera and Grapefruit Body Wash
Rating: 9.3
Earthwise Fabric Softener Aloe Vera and PapayaEarthwise Fabric Softener Aloe Vera and Papaya
Rating: 10.0
Green Tea ScrubGreen Tea Scrub
Rating: 8.9
Only Good - Delight Natural Body WashOnly Good - Delight Natural Body Wash
Rating: 9.7
Earthwise Multi-Surface Cleaning Spray - Tea Tree & ThymeEarthwise Multi-Surface Cleaning Spray - Tea Tree & Thyme
Rating: 9.3
Soused Soapery - Herb's TieSoused Soapery - Herb's Tie
Rating: 9.2
NZYME Urine Stain & Odour RemoverNZYME Urine Stain & Odour Remover
Rating: 9.0
Terra Baby Wipes - Water Terra Baby Wipes - Water 
Rating: 7.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 31st of July, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

"We go together like ..... toothpaste and a toothbrush" Usually not something I would say, but golly, this toothpaste is really really good!! Having five people in our house - three children included in that - toothpaste is a bit of a fussy, and sometimes argument-inducing topic, so I hoped that requesting and trying this might end that particular battle!

In general, we have usually just stuck to the same two toothpastes, with one for the kids and another separate one for myself and hubby. However, having just one tube of toothpaste on the sink bench would be great! We do not have any real teeth issues in our house, however all of the children have mild hypoplasia, where the enamel is wearing off their teeth, and also tight contacts, so the importance of a fluoride-containing paste has become very prevalent for us.

Children are usually the most honest so I asked the three kids to try this paste and tell me what they thought. Both hubby and I tried it as well, and both really liked it. I personally liked that it is sugar-free, which again, you have no real thought about until you have kids and realise that it is a hidden horror in a lot of things. I particularly liked that when I got up in the morning, my teeth still felt clean from the previous night brushing right before bed. All three of the kids really liked the paste as well, saying that it was just the right flavour for them - not too strong or minty and was nice and firm rather than a runny consistency, with not too much foaming.

The packaging and top on the paste was really easy to open and close and I actually found that the kids all kept the cap closed - but maybe that was just a fluke?! I will be buying this toothpaste again, as it ticked most of the hard to tick boxes for my family.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 5th of June, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have sensitive teeth and have been recommended a few brands by my dentist, but I find some are very chalky and don't leave my mouth feeling minty fresh. I had tried and loved Reach's Spearmint Natural Antibacterial Protection Toothpaste, so was keen to try their Fresh Mint flavour. The toothpaste came in a stylish tube and one of the things I liked was the flip lid. I know it may sound silly, but I get fed up with having to undo a lid and put it back on, twice a day. I am all for convenience and this flip-top lid was an added bonus. The toothpaste itself was thick, white with no bits, and was smooth when brushing my teeth. I only used a pea-sized amount and it produced a nice froth and left my mouth feeling clean and minty fresh, but not overpoweringly so.

My daughter is quite fussy with her toothpaste choice and as she's 10 (this toothpaste recommends no one under six uses it) I thought I'd let her try it. She gave it the thumbs up and asked if she could have the rest of the tub. She liked the fresh mint flavour and said it felt really nice on her teeth.

I'm all for using natural products where possible and was impressed Reach has used Magnolia Extract. I was curious as to how this would affect the taste/ appearance of the toothpaste but didn't notice anything. I would definitely recommend this toothpaste to people who are looking for natural alternatives to toothpaste (I don't fancy going back to the 'olden' days and using charcoal!) and also found it suitable for my sensitive teeth.

Click here to read the profile of hjproffit

Review by: hjproffit (Heather)
Dated: 16th of January, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Toothpaste is not usually something you think a lot about if you have good teeth. You grab it off the supermarket shelf and put it on your toothbrush and brush. It cleans your teeth and leaves you with fresher breath. As my son has the tooth condition Molar-Incisor Hypomineralisation (MIH) where his teeth don't have enough calcium, toothpaste has became an important item in our house.

Due to the MIH we need to use a decent toothpaste which has to contain fluoride to help the teeth. The Reach Fresh Mint natural antibacterial protection toothpaste with magnolia extract ticked l the boxes.

At first I wasn't sure about the magnolia extracts. Was it going to have a weird taste or a gritty feeling. But the natural antibacterial protection interest me so onto the brush it went. The toothpaste was white a quiet thick. I like both these qualities as I didn't feel I was brushing with an artificial coloured gel. Being thick I found I didn't need to use a lot to get a good brush. It coated the teeth well, foamed good and left my teeth feeling clean. The fresh mint flavour was the right mint level for me. Some toothpastes are just too strong and have me nearly gagging. This hasn't happened using the Reach fresh mint. After using I felt my breath was still minty fresh but not over powering. And a bonus, my son likes the flavour too. He doesn't usually like minty tastes.

I have used it for a couple of weeks now and still have a decent amount left. The tube is only 120g but with the thicker paste I feel I am using a lot less on the brush. I also like how the tube is designed to stand on the cap and the cap is larger and easier to open. I have found my kids have actually closed the lid on this toothpaste not leaving it open to go hard. This may be due to the fact that the larger cap is easier to open with little hands. The packaging is plain but effective with the splash of green on the front. It has all the information you require clearly printed onto the tube.

As a family we like the Reach Fresh Mint toothpaste.

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 9th of December, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

No one would ever really think that there is much to say about toothpaste that was until I tried Reach's natural antibacterial fresh mint toothpaste. Reach's antibacterial toothpaste states that its better for the planet and its all-natural, at first I thought that it wouldn't clean very well because of that but I was pleasantly surprised when I first used it. It did an amazing job of cleaning my teeth and definitely removed the plaque from my teeth.

The texture of the toothpaste was smooth but seemed a little thicker than average. It didn't really cause any issues other than the fact that it was a tiny bit harder to squeeze out of the toothpaste tube. The tube itself stands up unlike other kinds of toothpaste which makes it way easier to use and store away when finished. For all-natural toothpaste, it had a great minty flavour to it where it was not too minty but at the same time not too mild either. The after taste was pleasant as well and it definitely kept my breath fresh after I had brushed for a longer time than other kinds of toothpaste I've tried in past.

Overall the reach's natural antibacterial toothpaste was very effective and easy to use. The price you get it for is amazing and definitely worth the quality of the toothpaste. I would 100 per cent purchase this toothpaste in future.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 24th of August, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Toothpaste wasn't something I thought about a lot although I purchased it regularly until recent years when I learnt of the differences in toothpastes and the number of chemicals some contain. Having young children using natural products is important to me and looking after their dental health so I put a lot more consideration into buying toothpaste and knowing the difference between them. With a youngster who is opposed to strong mints this often required buying multiple different toothpastes to please the whole family. The fluoride content was also important to me as I know how important this is in protecting teeth so some natural brands were not as appealing.

Seeing this new natural toothpaste from Reach was exciting as straight away I could tell it would please the whole family while still having those two factors that were important to me added fluoride and natural ingredients. This fresh mint variety while slightly more intense than the mild mint is actually mild enough for even the children to use and has a very pleasant flavour that is not overpowering while still leaving you with fresh breath. I felt my mouth and teeth felt clean after using and left a fresh feeling for awhile after use. My son who is not a fan of strong mint and can be a little bit resistant to teeth brushing when there's not a mild toothpaste to use accidentally used this instead of the mild mint we also received and while he did note it was more minty than the green one said he didn't mind it.

I will definitely be buying this toothpaste again it is perfect for the whole family and gives me reassurance that my childrens mouths arent being filled with unnecessary chemicals especially my young toddler who often still eats the toothpaste. The tube is a great size and lasts our family of five a good amount of time so it is excellent value for money.

Click here to read the profile of jasminem

Review by: jasminem (Jasmine)
Dated: 22nd of August, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Toothpaste is toothpaste, or at least that is what I expected to say. Reach Natural Antibacterial Toothpaste - Fresh Mint has been very enjoyable to try over the last few weeks. I often find mint toothpaste very strong tasting and unpleasant. This toothpaste is not like this though, the flavour is subtle and pleasant on the tastebuds - a taste I am happy to leave in my mouth before heading to work. Typically I would need to repeatedly rinse to remove the strong taste from my mouth, so this toothpaste is very nice in comparison.

Reach Natural Antibacterial Toothpaste stands up and remains this way. I have noticed this is unusual for many brands of toothpaste which is frustrating to look at, but also in particularity. Having a toothpaste which can remain standing allows gravity to work its magic and drip the toothpaste down into the opening is great - no need to squeeze and roll the tube any longer!.

I am yet to see any remarkable change in my teeth or breathe. So it will be interesting to determine if anything changes with my teeth or breath given time due to the magnolia tree extract claiming to "kill bacteria" - does this toothpaste kill more bacteria than my typical toothpaste, time will tell. I suggest to all users to allow a few months to really give a fair representation of the Reach Natural Antibacterial Toothpaste.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 17th of August, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Is there much to say about toothpaste? Not a lot really. One thing I can say for certain, however, is that I love this new trend of the "standing up" style of tube. Having had to survive 5+ weeks of lockdown, living in a 3 bedroom flat that effectively had 2 teens and 4 adults fighting over a single bathroom and kitchen, storage and efficient use of space was paramount, and you would be surprised at how much space a tube of toothpaste takes up laying down. There is also the additional benefit of allowing gravity to move the toothpaste towards the cap instead of having to continually try and squeeze it out from all sides. It's a small design change, but it does so much for the teeth brushing experience.

As for the paste inside the toothpaste tube, the product is actually a paste. This doesn't seem to be a gel-like 99% of the other kinds of toothpaste, and it isn't chalky, unlike the other 0.7% of pasty pastes. This puts it in a very small niche area. The paste comes out of the tube a bit slower because of the thickness, which I consider a great trait; there is full control of the amount you use. The hole isn't huge either, so you aren't filling your toothbrush with too much toothpaste accidentally. The paste acts a little different when you brush your teeth as it doesn't instantly get jammed into the bristles of the toothbrush, so it takes a little adjustment to get used to, but it is more than made up for my its foamability.

I don't know how many times I've brushed my teeth with other kinds of toothpaste and my mouth just fills with foam well before I have finished brushing. I'm always stuck with the dilemma of do I a) spit it out and then try to continue brushing in a dry mouth, or b) keep brushing and look like a rabid animal as foam overflows out of my mouth. It's a horrendously silly thing to get annoyed about, but it has led to so many shirts having to be needlessly changed because I got toothpaste on it. This Reach variety has low foam, so unless you absolute load up your toothbrush, you can actually brush your teeth in peace.

As for the anti-bacterial side of things, I'm yet to notice any specific changes to my own breath. The aroma of the toothpaste is quite mild, which tells you they aren't just trying to cover up the smell, but I haven't noticed any major difference in my own breath. Perhaps I'll take that back, there has been one noticeable change; the girlfriend is much more amorous after a good teeth brushing session...so maybe that says enough.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 12th of August, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Thanks to the glorious mystery of genetics, I have never had great teeth, however, a couple of years ago I was assaulted and some nerves in my jaw were badly damaged causing the breakdown of my teeth to accelerate as they started dying from the roots up. Naturally, this created 'bad breath' problems and it is something that has made me extremely self-conscious when in close proximity to other people. I was at my wit's end trying to deal with it, and the only solution I found was to basically keep a couple of small mints tucked away in my mouth at all times.

However, my interest was aroused by the appearance of this toothpaste on the market. Claiming to have a natural antibacterial agent in the recipe that would slap the bad bugs into submission, I figured I had nothing to lose by trying it, and I was very pleasantly surprised by the results achieved in a very short period of time. Less than a week after starting to trial it, I noticed a distinct reduction in the unpleasant odour when I exhaled. It didn't fully remove the bad breath, but then I didn't really expect it to.

The paste itself feels thicker than regular toothpastes, and has less of the chalky texture that I have come to expect from non-gel pastes. I did find that because of the extra thickness, it tended to cling to the area of my mouth where I start to brush rather than the brush, so I had to adjust the method of brushing slightly - instead of starting to brush immediately, I now 'paint' the paste across all my teeth first, then begin to scrub. This has the added benefit of allowing the paste to sit and soak into and around the teeth a bit longer, and that can only be a good thing.

I have also come to appreciate the stronger mint flavours when it comes to toothpastes, and I found this to be a bit milder than my preference. As this is the stronger of the two flavours to date, I doubt I will bother with the other one. I'd like to see a third, even stronger, flavour hit the market - a 'super mint' if you will - to give a bit of extra peace-of-mind and longer-lasting freshness. I suspect that may be a little while away, if at all, but one can but hope.

Overall, this is a bit of a godsend for me, and anyone else who suffers from bad breath that can't be halted short of full dental removal. The price is a little higher than the regular pastes, but well within range for a high-end toothpaste. I'm sold on it, and can't wait to see it rolled out into more stores. It's a bit slow to get traction - I can't find it at any local supermarkets yet - but in time I am certain it will go mainstream.

Click here to read the profile of loten10

Review by: loten10 (Katie)
Dated: 11th of August, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

As a family, we try to be as environmentally aware as we can. We always actively try to find products which have little to no lasting effect on our environment, particularly our waterways. However, one thing which I will no compromise on is fluoride within a toothpaste. Knowing how important fluoride is to developing and maintaining the health of my family's teeth, I would never consider a toothpaste without it. Because of this, I have never before been able to use a 'natural' toothpaste, as nothing has contained fluoride. I was so excited to see this toothpaste appear on the market from Reach, as it looked like it would be perfect for my family.

One of the first things that we noticed about this tube of toothpaste was a great size. So often with more natural toothpastes there is a much smaller bottle on offer, but this one was a standard 120g size which makes it perfect for the family. Having read the packaging, I was excited to read that I could use it exactly as per my normal toothpaste, and also as per my usual toothpaste, it is not recommended for children under the age of six.

My hubby and I have been using the toothpaste for a week, and have been very happy with it. This fresh mint flavour is fantastic, not being to 'stingy' or astringent in the mouth, but still leaving a lasting fresh breath. The clean has been fantastic, equally as good as our standard toothpaste with our teeth feeling lovely and clean between brushes. We certainly haven't missed any of the other antibacterial ingredients normally contained within a toothpaste, and if anything, my breath and teeth feel cleaner than they did before.

Overall this is a fantastic fluoride toothpaste. Knowing that we are protecting our teeth, but not at the cost of our waterways is a really great feeling. We also love the clean and fresh feeling our mouth's now have. Try it, as you will not be disappointed.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 28th of July, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Over the school holidays, I spent a couple of days with family members so I took the toothpaste along with me and left it in the bathroom, instructing everyone to use it so we could get a range of impressions. They took me at my word, and by the end of the second day I had plenty of useful comments. And there were some people with very fresh breath as well. Me too!

For Miss Eight, this was the first time she had used an "adult" toothpaste. She squeezed a little on to her toothbrush and immediately said it was too strong. We took most of the toothpaste off and left just a small amount on the bristles. This time she said it was perfect, just like peppermints (which she loves), and not strong at all. She continued to use it every time she brushed her teeth over the next few days, and told me she really liked the flavour. She also suggested that I record the fact that you don't need to use too much - which is useful because the tube will last longer.

Mr Ten was the next to try it. Having been forewarned by his sister, he squeezed out a very small amount - roughly the size of a dried pea - and said that it was strong enough for him. Any more would have been unpalatable. It was interesting that he liked it enough to go back to it the next time because he is choosy about flavours, and has been known to make a fuss when given something he does not enjoy.

My daughter was impressed by the packaging. Because the tube is designed to stand on end, the contents are easy to get out. Everyone in a family squeezes from a different part of the tube, and with some toothpastes that means there can be a lot of waste. This tube is constructed from a rigid plastic which does not go out of shape when squeezed, and because it needs firm handling you don't dispense too much at a time. The contents settle back into the lid area once the toothpaste is capped and put back on to the basin. The information on the outside of the tube is clear to read; there is no small print or non-essential wording.

The ingredients were also up to my daughter's standards. Although she did not recognise all the names - as she said, you would have to be a chemist to know all of them - she did spot the words "natural" (in a large font) and "fluoride" so was prepared to take the manufacturer's word for the purity of the rest of the product. She was interested to see that magnolia bark is one of the ingredients. This is also commonly used in chewing gum; it is the component that sweetens breath, and also helps to make the mouth really clean. In turn, this is bound to have a positive effect on oral health. And yes - she and my son-in-law liked it too!

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 9.7
Product reviews for listing 7474: Earthwise Dish Wash Liquid Concentrate - Elderberry -  Brand / Manufactured by: Earthwise

Product image for Earthwise Dish Wash Liquid Concentrate - ElderberryThe Earthwise Home and Body range has been specifically developed right here in New Zealand for you and your living environments. From your bathroom to your kitchen, Earthwise products are designed to be naturally powerful and naturally kind. The Earthwise philosophy is simple - if nature makes it, then we don't need to,

Earthwise Dish Wash is mild and gentle on your hands. It leaves your dishes squeaky clean and streak-free.  ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why does your Obstetrician or Gynaecologist leave the room when you get undressed if they are going to look up there anyway?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide