Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Tuesday 17th May 2022 - 02:26:27

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Trades > Internet Service Providers (ISPs) > Flip NZ review

« Shark Steam Lite Mop reviewShark Steam Lite MopSnap! reviewSnap! »

Score: 4.7/10  [6 reviews]
1 out of 5
ProdID: 4154 - Flip NZ
Website www.flip.co.nz

Flip NZ
Price:
$49.95
Available:
see website for details

Flip NZ product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsFLIP FOR FAIRER BROADBAND AND HOMELINE NZ

Every kiwi should have access to broadband. But the big guys think high speed internet equals high prices.

So join the Flip side with 5GB of free broadband every month when you get a homeline.

Need more? No prob. We have big data packs that don't expire for a full 12 months.

AND no contract term. Nice.

Flip is made possible by being a pre-pay service.

(Pricing based on the flip homeline plus 5GB broadband)

www.flip.co.nzClick out to an external site

NOTE: Flip is part of the CallPlus Group. As of 1st of July, 2014, the CallPlus Group includes Slingshot, Flip and Orcon.



Tags:
broadband   internet   isp   nzmade   prepay   telephone
Other listings you may be interested in:
Slingshot NZSlingshot NZ
Rating: 3.5
OrconOrcon
Rating: 5.9
Post HastePost Haste
Rating: 3.4
AA InsuranceAA Insurance
Rating: 9.0
The CobblerThe Cobbler
Rating: 9.5
CourierPostCourierPost
Rating: 8.2
Hunting & Fishing (Manawatu)Hunting & Fishing (Manawatu)
Rating: 3.8
Woosh Internet Service ProviderWoosh Internet Service Provider
Rating: 3.8
Smith and Smith GlassSmith and Smith Glass
Rating: 2.6
Christchurch GlassChristchurch Glass
Rating: 9.0
Pass The ParcelPass The Parcel
Rating: 3.6
State InsuranceState Insurance
Rating: 10.0
New Zealand Credit UnionNew Zealand Credit Union
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of aslibaat

Review by: aslibaat (Anjali)
Dated: 4th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 2.8/10
Services:
Score 4 out of 10
Reliability:
Score 3 out of 10
Technical Support:
Score 1 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

Yet another nasty surprise with Flip who claim to be 'FAIRER BROADBAND AND HOMELINE NZ'. One can not call international toll free numbers like Apple's support line (00800 76667666 links to USA) for free. I got charged $20 for a single call when their own terms and conditions state that toll free numbers are free. Also according to their price list, calls to USA are 20c/min capped at $2 for 2 hours! No apology, no refund offer. When I asked (via email) for a refund as it would have been cheaper to call on my cellphone, the useless support representative 'Missy' offered $10 as though 'meeting me halfway' was a favour. She totally ignored my request to list any other unusual charging practices they have despite my asking for them repeatedly.

The professional response would have been an immediate refund coupled with an apology. This should have been followed with a 'thank you for finding bug & help improve our service' with a refund of the $25 joining fee as a token of thanks . Lastly a note saying they are working to fix this bug & will let me know as soon as it is done.

No wonder they are the only ones that have a signup fee (I paid $25 as there was a 50% discount special). They zero out the price advantage they have over other providers with unprofessionalism.

Click here to read the profile of aslibaat

Review by: aslibaat (Anjali)
Dated: 30th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.3/10
Services:
Score 7 out of 10
Reliability:
Score 4 out of 10
Technical Support:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

We were connected to flip on 9.4.14. A couple of days later discovered the fax was not working when I needed it. After they claimed to have fixed it, they did not have a number I could send a test fax to. Still to be tested.

30.4.14 discovered that unlike other landline providers they will not redirect all incoming calls to your mobile for free when your line goes down. They will charge 20c. per minute . Also warned me that I may have to pay $138 for a false callout fee if despite all the disconnecting this & that, 3 phone calls (as I had to move furniture) if the fault turns out to be in the roof cavity i.e. within the home.

I also discovered the hard way that I cannot use calling cards on flip so one may end up wasting any money still left on them in addition to paying at least 20% higher charges that flip has over most calling cards

Not sure yet if the lower cost of their service is worth the downtime of frequent malfunctions particularly as they are also supposed to be incompatible with the St John's medical alarm.

However if the faults had not occurred, I would have been very happy to have moved to flip & saved a lot over a year of Telecom.

Click here to read the profile of pearldragon

Review by: pearldragon (Margaret)
Dated: 22nd of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 1.0/10
Services:
Score 1 out of 10
Reliability:
Score 1 out of 10
Technical Support:
Score 1 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

Tried to sign up a friend, so they could FaceTime family overseas especially for Easter. Spoke to sales the week prior, all go no problems. You have to wait 5-7 working days for their tech team to sort you out. Sales spoke to friend, confirmed all details and rang me back to confirm all is good, sounds good.
Then next week I call them cause no text received to say starting up. Was advised through auto system, phone number not known. So I ring back and pick 'technical staff' they advise no knowledge of my request and put me through to sales, they say my request not in their system but they can start the processes for me, will still take 5-7 working days and this is onThursday before Easter!
I tell them who I spoke to, give them ID number and time of call, but as far as they are concerned, they can't do anything. I insist on speaking to Sales Manager, she comes on line and advises the best she can do is look up the call and find out what problem is.
She calls back and says it is either a system problem or an operator problem, they don't know which. Guess what they also have no way of finding out! They admit it is one of these things but say they cannot move faster than the old 5-7 days and are not interested in offering any kind of compensation as.... Wait for it... I'm not a customer yet!
In this day and age this lack of service attitude is dreadful, but of more concern must be the incompetence of their hardware and their inability to find solutions to problems within their own business. The best you can say for them is they don't have contracts so if you do get caught up with them, you can 'flip them'.

Click here to read the profile of cheekymonkey777

Review by: cheekymonkey777 (Matt)
Dated: 19th of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 2.5/10
Services:
Score 3 out of 10
Reliability:
Score 5 out of 10
Technical Support:
Score 1 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

Just trying to sign up to flip was a nightmare...

Firstly, they only operate in 60% of NZ which is ok, but fairly limiting to the other 40% of NZ. We are in a highly populated Auckland town which wasn't able to be reached. I did look at hooking up another property which I also wanted connected.

When I called, I was advised to sign up online. This is also ok, but we ran into a problem as it was advertised as FREE installation - however, our first payment included a $49.95 additional to all fees that were paid in advance. After spending an hour on the phone and talking with 5 different people, I was finally told that we would have to pay this fee and then email them or call them back to get that $49.95 credited back to our account. I asked for confirmation that we would definitely get this credit back, but there was no guarantee. I then asked for the name of the person I was dealing with and only a first name was given.

Sorry flip, but paying $134.95 for a service in advance that comes with no guarantee is sad at best. As a business operator, I understand two things about a successful business. Firstly, a good system is required. I have to say that although the system being used may be cost efficient, it is far from smooth sailing from a customer point of view. Secondly, a good business should excel in customer service. The customer service I received was well below average, with every single person seemingly interested in "fobbing me off" or just getting a sale.

As a result of this experience, I would not recommend using flip, nor will I be signing up with them!

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 8th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Services:
Score 9 out of 10
Reliability:
Score 10 out of 10
Technical Support:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I had a look to see what was available as an alternative to Telecom and noticed an advert on TV for Flip which sounded like a good alternative. I had a look at the website and it was all explained, what was needed to sign up and how much it would cost, there are several options but it was easy to use and navigate.

I phoned the helpline to sign up as I needed to explain a few things that weren't covered in the online sign in process and found the staff extremely helpful and they explained everything so there were no surprises. I didn't need a new modem so that was great, had to get the number changed but they were able to do it with minimal fuss.

The website is easy to use to check your account and top up if needed. I have even discovered how to check what numbers were called and the cost (good to know when toll calls are involved). If you go over the data limit then it says it slows down but I found it was still pretty fast unlike Telecom which would go right down to dial up speed, or you can buy extra data, you just go online and you can do it all from there.

I would recommend Flip to anyone who wants to cut costs and isn't too worried about a huge data allowance, we don't download much so it is perfect for us.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 5th of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Services:
Score 7 out of 10
Reliability:
Score 7 out of 10
Technical Support:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

When researching Internet service providers we looked at joining up with Flip. We looked the fact it was New Zealand owned and operated and also that it was a pre-paid service. The idea of paying for what you needed sounded really appealing.

We checked out their website, which was easy to navigate and understand, and as such made researching everything you needed to know in one place a breeze. And after making sure we were well informed, we decided to go ahead and sign up.

What we did not realise at the time (and perhaps this has changed) was how much it was going to cost to sign up. For a pre-paid service it was going to cost just over $150 to join. This would be debited from your bank account within 7 days (or you could pay by credit card), and then your services would be connected. It seemed like a very costly start up to begin with, and so feeling uncomfortable about it we cancelled our sign up and decided further investigation was needed.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Trades'...

Score: 3.6
Product reviews for listing 3985: Pass The Parcel
Based: Nationwide

Product image for Pass The ParcelPass the Parcel is a simple online courier solution for sending your parcels.

We offer a courier pick-up from most places in New Zealand. If not, simply drop your parcel into one of our depots or agents around New Zealand.

Our courier packs are free and our boxes are a great low cost packaging solution. Remember to check ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Biologically speaking, if something bites you it's more likely to be female"
Desmond Morris

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide