Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Sunday 25th February 2024 - 04:15:29

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  

I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > Haribo Vulcano F!ZZ Gummies review

« The Quokka Logic and Baking Book reviewThe Quokka Logic and Baking BookBarker's Marinade - Fiery Wings reviewBarker's Marinade - Fiery Wings »

Score: 8.9/10  [9 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 9143 - Haribo Vulcano F!ZZ Gummies
Manufactured by Haribo

Haribo Vulcano F!ZZ Gummies
Price:
$3.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Haribo NZ

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been provided to KIWIreviews by Haribo NZ or their agents for the sole purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was requested, offered nor accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at retail outlets nationwide

Haribo Vulcano F!ZZ Gummies product reviews

Haribo Vulcanos are volcano shaped candies in lemon, blood orange and grapefruit flavours, that are filled with sour-apple flavoured liquid 'lava', and coated with a foam sugar base. Probably the most delicious volcanic eruption there is.

Check out Haribo NZ onlineClick here to see all the listings for Haribo NZ They do not have a public website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel They do not have a TikTok channel



Tags:
apple   confectionery   grapefruit   haribo   lemon   orange
Other listings you may be interested in:
Haribo Balla Stixx - StrawberryHaribo Balla Stixx - Strawberry
Rating: 8.2
Haribo BerriesHaribo Berries
Rating: 8.5
Annie's Fast FoodAnnie's Fast Food
Rating: 8.3
Simla Indian CafeSimla Indian CafeCorn Nuts - OriginalCorn Nuts - Original
Rating: 7.4
Caramel Cashew Nut BarCaramel Cashew Nut Bar
Rating: 8.4
Edmonds Sweet Muffin MixEdmonds Sweet Muffin Mix
Rating: 10.0
New Zealand Redcurrant JellyNew Zealand Redcurrant JellyNZ ApricotsNZ Apricots
Rating: 9.6
Cecile's Creative Kitchen Fruit & Nuts with Seeds & Fine OatsCecile's Creative Kitchen Fruit & Nuts with Seeds & Fine Oats
Rating: 9.3
Snyders of Hanover Pretzel Pieces - JalapenoSnyders of Hanover Pretzel Pieces - Jalapeno
Rating: 8.8
Pretzel Crisps - Gluten FreePretzel Crisps - Gluten Free
Rating: 9.2
Down to Earth Organic Soup - French LentilDown to Earth Organic Soup - French Lentil
Rating: 8.6

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 1st of October, 2023

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I have three kids who all have a sweet tooth and one in particular who loves sour lollies, so I knew these were something that we needed to try. It is easy to see, thanks to the transparent portion of the packaging, that there are three flavours to hopefully enjoy. The kids all agreed that the packaging looks fun and all were eager to give this a good try. We did each try to take one of each flavour but did find, as with a lot of packets of lollies, that there is always a disproportion of flavours, so we just did the best we could.

Everyone agreed that it was a little hard to differentiate between the three flavours, particularly the blood orange and the grapefruit (we all agreed the lemon stood out slightly from the rest). The inside definitely had a slight apple taste to it and a sour hit, though my sour loving kiddo remarked that it wasn't sour enough for their liking. All of us were left wondering where the 'fizz' came into it, as we certainly didn't find any and were all left a bit disappointed since 'fizz' is right there on the packaging. The top half of the lollies (the coloured sections) were nice and soft but we found the base a bit harder to chew than anticipated - this was enough to put me off having anymore.

Out of the four of us, this was a hit enough with one, who will finish off the bag. Two who said they would eat them if they didn't see anything they liked more on offer. And one who won't be eating them again.

Click here to read the profile of hjproffit

Review by: hjproffit (Heather)
Dated: 29th of September, 2023

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This household definitely has a sweet tooth, but Haribo sweets don't usually feature as we usually stick to the known. But Haribo Vulcano Fizz... wow. I think these are going to make it into our sweet rotation if I can find them at our small local supermarket.

I am impressed with the Vulcano Fizz packaging. It is so bright and fun with the yellows, greens, reds and oranges. I love the erupting volcano on the front with his fingers in his ears and his large smile. This packaging is truly eye-catching. The back of the package is the standard Haribo packaging with the nutrition information and ingredients, but this package also has a small image in the top left corner with the flavours of the sweets. Opening the package is by ripping it down which I'm not a fan of as we tend to rip too far and loose the product out of the packet.

There are three flavours in the packet, grapefruit, lemon and blood orange all with a sour apple center. We were all eager to try these as we do love a sour sweet. We all tried one of each flavour. The volcano itself is a gummy which I found a little tough. The bottom is a soft white gummy-like texture and the centre is a runny sour filling. We all loved the sour apple, but all agreed that grapefruit was not our flavour. I loved the lemon and so did one of the kids with the other loving the blood orange. We tried these by trying each part of the sweet and then the next one all parts together. We all came to the conclusion that these were tasty and we needed to buy them again.

The size of the packet is 140g and we found that this was a good size for the three of us to share. And at only $3.00 a packet, I think these will be found in our treat stash more often. As the kids said, these are YUM!

Click here to read the profile of fliss1

Review by: fliss1 (Felicity)
Dated: 13th of September, 2023

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I am not the biggest sweet consumer in the world so these were quite a treat and not my usual fare. I generally like a good "sour sweet" so had high expectations for these. I am not familiar with Haribo much having usually purchased New Zealand sweets in past so this was quite a new experience. I liked the "warnings" on the packet to not go mad and consume in moderation Smile Icon The name is quite cute too. Vulcano is a good selling point, especially for kids.

I liked the packaging and the bright colours along with the viewing window to see what I was getting. I thought the volume in the packet was about right and we shared between four over a weekend. I found the smell was very much a reminder of childhood and all the "sweetie smells" I do like to catch a whiff of. The texture was quite firm and it was pretty hard to separate the sweet from the sour centre bit with your teeth which I thought was good. The different texture between the outside and the inside (sour) was well done and made a good change of taste.

The taste was hard to discern between the individual sweets and their flavours for me and others said they had preferences for the lemon but I found it hard to tell. I liked the sour centres as I found the sweet gummy a bit too sugary for me - yes I know that is what it is supposed to be. I probably wouldn't purchase these again but this might be that I like my sweets a little bit "less" than these were. If you were a regular sweet eater they might be more popular.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 10th of September, 2023

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Although my family and I are not huge lolly/sweet lovers, we do enjoy them sometimes and have a soft spot for gummy lollies as well as sour tasting ones. In my opinion, the more sour and tongue curling, the better, though my kids like the quickly dissipate type of intense flavour lollies, so upon seeing these we were keen to put them to the test. We have tried a lot of different lollies from Haribo, and to date, there are none that we have been unhappy or disappointed about, so the Vulcano Fizz was very appealing to try.

Haribo brand products are very well designed and packaged, with bright and fun packets that grab your attention and want to know more about the product inside. These are no exception, the packaging is effective at catching your attention, with a clear window you can see a fair amount of the product, enticing you even more to devour these. It also contains 140g, so had a good amount of the lollies to share.

Once you open the packet, you are greeted with a pleasant lolly aroma, and a variety of coloured morsels. There are three flavours, all with the sour apple fizz - lemon, grapefruit and blood orange denoted by a mostly red colour, an orange and yellow, and a bluey one. They remind me of the strawberries and cream gummy lolly you used to get, in appearance only. To be honest I did not pick a huge difference in the main lolly flavour, though the lemon was possibly a little more tart. The lolly itself is a firm gummy and is quite firm to chew to start with, and although the kids tried to split the lolly to get the sour stuff out, they didn't have much luck. When you now into this lolly and you get to the sour centre, you get a little burst of flavour, but I wouldn't but really describe it as a fizz, or a vulcano type experience, and that was a bit disappointing, however, the lolly itself is a great texture and flavour, and is delicious!

All said, these are quite delicious, with a firm texture and burst of sour flavour that myself and the kids really enjoyed. I would absolutely but these again, but may have to hide them from the kids so I can eat them all!

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 9th of September, 2023

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Two of us shared a packet of these sweets, and although I don't really have a sweet tooth so did not expect to eat many, I found that the first sweetness was speedily replaced by a satisfying sour effect as I bit into the soft outer. Unexpected despite the information on the packaging, so I ended up eating my full share. This caused some minor irritation to my partner, who is used to getting the lion's share when we share confectionery! For myself, it is useful to find a lolly that I enjoy - to the extent that I will return for more.

We found the size was really good. It meant that the sour hit did not kick in too soon; you got the benefit of the sweetness as well, and once the outer was breached, the flavours mingled together. Although there were three flavours included, we could not really tell them apart. However, they looked attractive in the packet and just as colourful when emptied on to a plate. We ate most straight from the packet, but put the last few on to a slice of leftover birthday cake which was threatening to go stale. I had put some cream cheese icing with a little golden syrup on top to soften it so it could be served as a dessert, and with the lollies added it looked festive until they started to slide off! Nonetheless, the taste combination was good and the lollies added an interesting texture.

We thought it was cute that the product was marketed as Vulcano Fizz because the effect was exactly that - an eruption which fizzed out into your mouth rather than exploding out as an uncontrolled projectile. I was interested that the less usual spelling was used instead of the common "volcano". The word originates from the island of Vulcano off the Sicilian coast - Vulcan, the Roman God of Fire, gave his name to it. Like the thermal parks around Rotorua, Vulcano has constant low-key "leaks" of sulphur rather than full-scale eruptions, so it makes perfect sense that a product designed to tickle your mouth rather than blow it to pieces would be named after a less threatening natural feature.

I would like to have asked our children to give their opinion; alas, there are only so many lollies in a packet, and the two of us managed to eat them all. However, I have promised them that I will share the next round when I get round to buying more.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 9th of September, 2023

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

My children and I love trying out new lollies, we are particularly partial to gummy lollies, one child does not like sour lollies, but will usually try at least one before making his mind up. We have tried the majority of the Haribo product range, so when I saw a couple of new flavours, I knew the kids would be excited, first up to try was a packet of the Haribo Vulcano Fizz!

As usual with the Haribo brand, the packaging is effective at catching your attention, and these would certainly be noticed on a shop shelf. The packet is brightly coloured, has a large window so you can see the product inside, and states that inside the vulcano is a sour liquid centre, the packet size of 140g meant that there were plenty to share around the whole family.

Upon opening the packet, I decided to hand the children each a lollie that was predominantly reed colour, this was the lemon and sour apple flavour, they popped the lollie in their mouths and started chewing, after a short amount of time, my youngest went to the bin and spat his out and proceeded to get a drink - he was not keen to try another flavour. I tried one, the lollie is a gummy style and is quite firm to chew to begin with, but when you get through to the sour centre it was delicious, but I found there was not much of a fizz taste.

Next was the grapefruit and sour apple flavoured gummy, again quite chewy with a definite sour inside that made my tastebuds go into overdrive. I wasn't particularly enjoying this flavour, and did not want to eat another, finally it was time to try the last flavour - blood orange and sour apple, this was by far my favourite out of the three varieties. The tartness teamed with the sourness of the apple in the middle was the perfect combination, the other two children also said that this was their pick out of the bag.

One of the children decided to see if they could squeeze the product to see if the sour centre would come erupting out of the top of the gummy, however he was left disappointed as the top of the lollie was too hard, but then he found out he could pull the bottom sides apart and just suck out the sour filling.

Overall, these were quite delicious, but with the children mainly preferring only the blood orange flavour, I do not think I would be purchasing in the future.

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 8th of September, 2023

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Haribo is a name that is well-known when it comes to lollies and they have such a diverse range of different candies so you know they must know a thing or two when it comes to producing sweet confectionary. The Haribo Vulcano F!zz lollies are basically what the name suggests and that is that they are Vulcano-shaped gummies with a liquid sour centre.

They have three different flavours of gummies which are lemon, blood orange, and grapefruit each with colours matching their flavours, and all of them are filled with a sour-apple liquid within. The packet has a welcoming aesthetic which is bursting with vibrant colours and has a see-through portion to view the gummy lollies.

Me and my children aged fourteen, twelve, and ten each took out a couple of the gummies and tried them out and they were delicious. They had a flavorful chewy outer gummy that gave way to the sour liquid centre that had a sherbet-like taste to it. My kids took little bites out of the top of the gummies and squeezed the liquid up and out saying that is the way I must eat them as they are in fact vulcanos.

We all liked the blood orange one the best as it had a nice citrus flavor which wasn't over the top with sourness.

I recommend these lollies to anyone with a sweet tooth or who has children that love lollies. If you enjoy candy that is chewy with a bursting liquid centre and a sour, tart, and tangy taste to them then look no further as these are exactly that. I will be keeping an eye out for these and will have to get them again and I also need to look back into the Haribo range to see what other new products they may have out without my knowledge.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 5th of September, 2023

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

These Vulcano Fizz lollies are the funniest thing I have had in a very long time. The reaction on the first time made me scream and then watching everyone else experience the 'squirt' was so funny. It was totally unexpected. I am not a huge fan of sour lollies so I was just trying to see how sour they were and was fully concentrating on the taste when this squirt came out of nowhere.

There are three different flavours and I think its fair to say everyone enjoyed the Blood Orange with the sour apple the best, followed by Lemon with the sour apple and lastly the Grapefruit with the sour apple. Unfortunately our packet was mainly made up of the Lemon flavour so it was a real fight for the Blood Orange.

I was really impressed with the flavour of them. Usually I find most lollies can be really bland and the flavours are usually over promised and usually under delivered but in this case these lollies were right on point. Even after a few minutes the taste is still lingering in your mouth. I found even though the packet was eaten rather quickly it was still relatively slow as you don't require too many to be content.

These honestly would be the best thing for a birthday party as I can just imagine all the little kids reactions. While we were eating them both of my girls were mentioning friends and what they thought would happen and both girls have begged for me to buy them a packet so they can take to school. I think the price of the packet is perfect and I can see us having them again. I hope they make more of these kind of unique experiences because the world needs more fun and laughter.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 3rd of September, 2023

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

My family loves sour lollies and there is nothing better than watching a family member taste a sour lolly and watching their eyes go all squinty! There was much excitement when the Haribo Vulcano F!zz lollies was brought out. The volcano-shaped lollies come in an attractive bag with a clear window so you can see exactly what you are getting. They are filled with fruity sour liquid flavours, such as apple, grapefruit, orange and lemon, and coated with a foam sugar base. The foam sugar base is spongy and when you bite into one, you can feel the liquid oozing out in the middle. I wouldn't describe these as really sour, no one in our family had an eye squint moment (the true sour test) and I don't know where the 'fizz' comes into play as there was no fizz going on! My favourite was to bite the bottom and then squeeze the liquid into my mouth and then chew the rest of the lolly. They were very chewy and very flavoursome!

These lollies got the thumbs up from the whole family who agreed that they were very tasty and they loved the liquid middle. My daughter liked to bite the top off and then lick out the liquid before popping it all in her mouth. These are unique lollies - I haven't tasted anything remotely similar - and are reasonably priced which means I'll definitely be buying them again. Be warned though, they are addictively moreish and it's hard to stay to the recommended daily intake!

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.6
Product reviews for listing 8386: RJ's Smallsorts -  Manufactured by RJ's Licorice

Product image for RJ's SmallsortsWelcome our newest member of the Licorice Allsorts family, Smallsorts. A 180g bag of Small licorice allsorts with mixed flavours.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"There's more to a person than the things they have done"
from 'Eastenders' TV show.