Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Sunday 25th February 2024 - 04:32:37

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  

I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > RJ's Orange Choc Triple Logs review

« Fabulicious - Tropical Sherbet Fizz reviewFabulicious - Tropical Sherbet FizzWhites reviewWhites »

Score: 9.1/10  [9 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 8831 - RJ's Orange Choc Triple Logs
Manufactured by RJ's Licorice

RJ's Orange Choc Triple Logs
Price:
$2.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by RJ

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been provided to KIWIreviews by RJ's Licorice or their agents for the sole purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was requested, offered nor accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets nationwide

RJ's Orange Choc Triple Logs product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsA first-ever for RJ's both the chocolate and the licorice is infused with Orange flavour to deliver a best-in-class flavour hit combined with an indulgent burst of choc.

Check out RJ's Licorice onlineClick here to see all the listings for RJ's Licorice Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel They do not have a TikTok channel



Tags:
chocolate   licorice   liquorice   nzmade   orange
Other listings you may be interested in:
RJ's Pineapple Choc Triple LogsRJ's Pineapple Choc Triple Logs
Rating: 9.4
RJ's Salted Caramel Choc Triple LogsRJ's Salted Caramel Choc Triple Logs
Rating: 9.8
Pods - TwixPods - Twix
Rating: 8.8
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Vegetable Pilau RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Vegetable Pilau Rice
Rating: 9.5
Saffron Lime CurdSaffron Lime Curd
Rating: 8.8
Hellers Chicken Parmigiana Gourmet SausagesHellers Chicken Parmigiana Gourmet Sausages
Rating: 7.3
The Coffee Club, BethlehemThe Coffee Club, Bethlehem
Rating: 10.0
NZ BBQ Sauce - ChilliNZ BBQ Sauce - Chilli
Rating: 8.8
Whittakers Braeburn Apple with Vanilla ChocolateWhittakers Braeburn Apple with Vanilla Chocolate
Rating: 8.8
Blueberry and Thyme VinegarBlueberry and Thyme Vinegar
Rating: 8.8
Texas Mesquite Smoked CheeseTexas Mesquite Smoked Cheese
Rating: 9.0
Farrah's Wraps - Mediterranean TomatoFarrah's Wraps - Mediterranean Tomato
Rating: 9.5
Baxter's Jolokia Rum Voodoo Hot SauceBaxter's Jolokia Rum Voodoo Hot Sauce
Rating: 9.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 30th of July, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

In our house, we are a distinct mixture between salty and sweet treats, so seeing these come up in a different licorice, I immediately requested them. The packaging is pretty clear with what you are getting, and similar to other items they make. This is a good choice, and having ever tasted RJs before you would know what they are. I opens easily, but then there is the issue that there is no way to reseal it in case you are not planning to eat them all in one sitting. However, maybe in the future than may come.

Inside the packet there are three logs - and for $2 (currently) I think that is a good serving. I opted to use these first of all as a treat to top some ice cream. My kids saw me slicing up the logs and were very interested in knowing what I was doing. While they looked cute on the top, my children said that they would rather just have the licorice. The next time I added them to biscuits I was making - and though I am not sure what I thought would happen to the licorice didn't, so the chococate ended up wrapped in gummy licorice.

Looking at the nutritional details of this - they are clearly not an everyday food (gosh I would like chocolate for breakfast!) and are a special treat food. The orange licorice does change the sweetness a bit, I found these not as sweet as the red version.

I think I would buy these again, and next time I may be lucky not have to share with my children!

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 27th of July, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We love RJ's confectionary in our household and with the brand adding more and more new products to the range we are all finding new faves! My husband can't go past the original allsorts and loves when the grandparents come to visit with a large bag they picked up while passing the shop in Levin. The kids are quite fond of the allsorts too but are loving some of the new varieties like the fabulicious pieces or twisters

While for me the licorice logs are always going to win with my absolute favorite being the raspberry milk chocolate logs but I'm always keen to try new flavours. So I was very excited to try the new orange chocolate flavour! I know for some chocolate and orange is a contentious combination sort of like pineapple on pizza but I just love it. When I opened the package I could smell the sweet orange straight away.

The chocolate orange flavour of these is great I love the combination of chocolate and orange flavour and the orange flavour in the licorice combined with the chocolate inside the log is amazing. Sometimes orange flavoured confectionery can taste very artificial but these had a very authentic orange flavour. I love the softness of the licorice against the bite and creaminess of the chocolate.

If you love the combination of orange and chocolate-like orange choc chip ice cream, or jaffas then you will absolutely love these orange chocolate logs. They are a great price and with three logs inside each packet great value for money. I will usually only eat one in a seating so a packet would last me for three treats.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 31st of May, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am a huge fan of RJ's licorice and their Raspberry Choc Logs are one of my top sweet treats. I have always been impressed with the quality of their licorice and the fact they are a NZ-based company is an added bonus. Chocolate orange is one of my favourite combos so I was really excited to try their Orange Choc Logs. They come in a foil-lined 3 pack with each log being a very reasonable 40 grams. The orange is very dark and encloses a solid tube of milk chocolate.

Upon opening the pack, my kids swarmed around me so I cut one log into thirds and shared it around. The licorice was lovely and chewy but not overly orange and the chocolate complimented it to perfection. Both kids agreed that this was yummy and I was surprised at how filling a third of a log was.

Once the packet was open, I wasn't sure what to do with it as it was hard to seal so I put them in the fridge. This was a great idea as the chocolate had a lovely crunch to it when bitten. I personally would have preferred a stronger orange flavour but it was delicious and a great addition to their range. I think they are a great price for what you get and now I'm going to be torn between Orange Choc Logs and Raspberry Choc Logs when I go shopping!

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 29th of May, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Orange and chocolate are two flavours I know a few people disagree with combining and find the tastes opposing each other but I couldn't agree less with that as I feel that chocolate and orange secretly belong together as something about the bold bitterness of chocolate and the sweet citrus taste from orange blend so well and as they say opposites attract. I have had the RJ logs before in the other flavours and they are all so great but this one is my fave of the bunch now. They all have that chew outer shell coating a hard chocolate centre that always has a sharp crack through the chocolate as you bite it which is so satisfying.

These packs consist of 3 chocolate logs around 150mm long which is excellent value for $2 and is a convenient pack to cut up and share or have to yourself if you please. They are a great pack to store away for camping or going for a hike as they don't take up much space and will give you a great energy boost. I'm sure there are other ways you can use these as in decorating cakes or muffins but I'm far too impatient for that and just eat them as they are.

If you are a fan of RJs liquorice then if you haven't tried these next time you come across them grab them or even better purposely go and get them now just in case you forget. I will be getting these again and sharing them with the family.


Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 17th of May, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Since I was going away for a long weekend, I took my supply of Orange Choc Logs with me as I knew I would have three people to help me evaluate this new product. We decided to eat one pack straight from the wrapper and see if we could come up with some creative ideas to use the other one. Since all four of us are foodies, we were looking forward to seeing who could come up with the most innovative ideas.

But first, the basic product so we could get everyone's feedback on the flavour combinations. I cut two logs in half, and each of us took one piece. One person said that the minute he bit into his piece he was reminded of the jaffas of his youth. However, he added that it would not be possible to replicate the game he and his friends used to play with them because the shape and texture were different. (He was referring to the dubious activity which involved going to the movies and sitting near the back in the cheap seats, where there was a sloping wooden floor. They would launch jaffas under the seats to see how far they would roll before stopping!)

The others also drew comparisons with other orange/chocolate combinations they had previously encountered. However, all four of us found the orange in this particular product especially fruity; it tasted like the real fruit rather than offering the metallic after-effect present in some confectionery. And if you sucked the orange outer there would be a sudden burst of liquid chocolate as the area around it melted, and even I, as someone who normally eats very little chocolate, enjoyed this sensation.

There were some interesting ideas for using the product in other ways. We tried two of them and both were well received. Sometimes you want the flavour and effect of a product enhanced by serving it with other items, and the two we tried worked well. We have still to try the others but that means we first need to replenish our log supply!

The first variation was to chop a log into 1 cm lengths and mix it into a dessert. The recipe we chose was a simple home-made custard and fresh fruit mix; since we had a supply of persimmons, we sliced them into the bowls, topped them with custard, and then simply placed the log pieces on top. The custard was hot, so the pieces melted into it slightly; it tasted quite rich so I did not finish mine - I put it into the fridge to finish next day. When I retrieved my leftovers, I found the log had changed its texture considerably. The orange licorice was really soft while the chocolate core had gone hard! However, the flavour was unchanged.

As we were going out for a tramp in the afternoon, we made up individual pottles of scroggin with nuts, dried fruit, coconut chips, and small pieces of log. I was interested to see if the logs would melt, but the pieces held their shape and flavour. There was nothing nicer than eating one of them with a nut - the combination was brilliant. Just the right mix of crunch and chew!

Our next plans are to serve logs cut into thirds with a dish of hot dipping chocolate - I don't think I would manage that but the other three were keen. We also plan to add log pieces to a fruit-and-cheese platter for a party. Finally, we will mix and match with plain licorice to make a miniature log cabin to top a child's birthday cake. The logs will be stuck on to the outside of the icing. I am looking forward to that project, and the six-year-olds at the party are sure to love it.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 14th of May, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Love a good licorice and really enjoy RJs sweets. When orange choc logs came up I just had to try as all I could think of was yummy choc chip orange icecream which is my favourite. I love that this has 3 logs in a packet which means I get 2 and hubby gets 1 and kids zero.

The packaging is simple took me a bit to get into it, but once in the orange smell hit me along with a smell of chocolate this got me really excited to try it. In my true form I had to pull it apart first. The orange licorice was nice and soft the orange didn't seem to actually wow me, it didn't remind me of oranges which I was hoping it would, it tasted more like a very watered down juice. I tried the chocolate on it's own next and it was soft again but because the packet says orange choc I was hoping it would taste a bit like orange choc I got a very very light hint of possible orange but nothing exciting.

Of course having it as a log I had to eat it as it's TRUE form and while it was nice with the chocolate coming through the licorice the slight hint of orange was then overpowered. After a little while I had a after taste of orange but it wasnt a bad aftertaste. Think I would prefer more orange flavour but overall it was definitely delicious and different from red and black.

I love that it's made right here in New Zealand, love 3 logs in the packet for only $2 will be something I will buy to snack on when doing crafts. I have found I can only do 1 log at a time which is serving size, normally a packet would go in one sitting.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 14th of May, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

You know you have a house hold of licorice lovers, when as soon as they realise a new flavour of licorice is in the house and both of the girls and the husband are trying to manipulate their way into opening a packet to try it. 'Mum if we open it now you and dad can have one each and Kaylee and I will split the other one' 'mum I am still hungry but I am sure the orange surrounding that chocolate will fill the spot' 'mum oh it does look good I am sure it will taste just as yummy as the picture' and so on and so on, until I eventually caved. Even the cats came running (for entirely a different reason). You could not silently open the packet because it does crinkle rather loudly (cats thought it was their Temptations).

Opening the packet I was met with a sweet orange aroma and honestly could not wait to bite into it. The first bite was like drinking a Fanta and then the chocolate mingled in and I was reminded of Jaffas. My eldest said 'if anyone doesn't like it I will take it off your hands - dad do you want yours' in which she was met with a 'hands off its mine'. All three of the ogling the other packet.

Now I have been brought up on licorice from my nana and even now when we go to her house we all bee line to the kitchen to grab whatever licorice she has in the bowl. Both of my girls first loliies was licorice and even my mum goes crazy for the stuff. Licorice is basically in our blood and I usually have some description of licorice sitting in my fridge. I adore all flavours especially the black or the raspberry licorice logs. So it goes without saying I was very excited to try a new flavour especially when it is wrapped around the chocolate.

RJ's has not disappointed with this flavour. I could easily eat the three logs over a period of an hour or so. It has the right consistency and the flavour is spot on. It is a little sweet but it works perfectly with what I was hoping for. There were discussions of where it rates in the licorice grand scheme of things and it was very high for hubby and one of my girls - in the others defence she did say she would need to try all of the licorices from the sparkles up to the licorice straps to make an informed decision (she's a tryer!) This is a nice option for those days you just need something a little sweeter.


Click here to read the profile of cath_champ

Review by: cath_champ (Catherine)
Dated: 13th of May, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I am a huge RJ's fan so was delighted to discover a new orange flavour. I love a good licorice log, be it black or raspberry or with a chocolate middle so was very excited to try this new variety. There are three sticks in the pack so the only argument with the husband would be who would be getting the third log.

The taste of the orange wasn't overpowering, and in fact was a little underwhelming. It wasn't the 'orange' flavour I was expecting and was more like a raro juice packet watered down orange flavour. I was probably expecting more of the same texture as the RJ raspberry logs and this was more jube/jelly-like. The chocolate is meant to be orange flavoured as well but I didn't get that coming through.

Overall, if you aren't partial to black licorice and prefer not overly sweet treats then you would probably enjoy these. I would describe it as a jelly stick with chocolate in the middle so you can't go too wrong. And with three logs per pack you can savour it over the week and not feel too guilty, or eat all in one go like me yum yum yum

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 12th of May, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have never enjoyed the flavour of black licorice, so if I was ever given liquorice allsorts as a child, I was the one that was picking the layers apart; eating the coloured pieces, and discarding the black pieces. Not a lot has changed since those days, all that has changed is that I sometimes notice the nutritional information.

Credit to RJ's where credit is due. They keep on trying new things, knowing how to appeal to the Kiwi love of novelty. Moving away from the limited forms of black licorice, they have been testing out new fruity flavours, from pineapple to raspberry, to apple and grape. Now we have orange.

Citrusy flavours can be difficult and require a bit of trial and error. Too much flavour and it all tastes too artificial. Too little flavour and it tastes like a watered-down Mizone sports drink. Clearly, though, RJ's have put a fair amount of trialling into this (and have experimented with citrusy flavours before with the pineapple, because the flavour is right where it needs to be.

If this was only an orange licorice bar, I would no doubt wish to vilify RJ's for failing to provide that strong intense hit of orange. But this is orange licorice with a milk chocolate filling, and because of that filling, we don't just need flavour, but we need a sense of balance between those two flavours. While it is slightly reminiscent of the old orange Raro cordial drinks that only had one packet in a two litre jug, the restrained choice in orange intensity works in its favour, allowing the chocolate flavour to sparkle. The chocolate hits with a slick, velvety mouth-feel, and as the chocolate washes away, the orange perks up in the back end of the flavour profile, leaving the mouth feeling refreshed, ending with just a hint of tartness.

The ratio of chocolate to licorice is adequate, and the licorice itself is only slightly sticky to the touch. Apart from the flavour, the only other element that I really worry about with licorice, is the consistency and texture. There have been some varieties that are quite solid and get stuck in the throat, or too soft and get stuck in every single tooth it could possibly come into contact with. This product is in the middle, just veering slightly onto the soft side, getting stuck in the teeth on the odd occasion. The softness does help it out though, as it allows a more controlled release of flavour as you chew.

I like it, and I've already eaten two out of the three logs while I've been writing this review. The only other thing I need to mention is an explanation for my earlier point on nutritional information. I hate black licorice, but it has a natural sweetness that unfortunately needs to be replaced in the non-black varieties. As such, this orange choc variety has more than double the calories of the black licorice logs. Each of those logs being the equivalent of a bottle of beer, of a full glass of orange juice. If you aren't calorie minded though, this is a more subtle product compared to the British Terry's Chocolate Orange, and that subtlety makes it much more dangerous because you can eat so much more of it.

Oops, the whole three-pack is gone now.

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.9
Product reviews for listing 7979: RJs Sour Twisters Logs - Cola & Raspberry -  Manufactured by RJ's

Product image for RJs Sour Twisters Logs - Cola & RaspberryHungry for an exciting new treat? Try RJs Twisters. They come in a range of delicious flavours to tantalise your taste buds, but here's the real twist... they don't contain licorice.

A delicious Cola gummy, filled with a sour Raspberry sherbert filling.

Ingredients:
Cola Log: wheat flour, cane sugar, glucose syrup (wheat/corn), water, humectant (E422), rice bran oil, acidity regulators (E296, ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"There's more to a person than the things they have done"
from 'Eastenders' TV show.