Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Sunday 27th September 2020 - 04:24:53

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Barker's Tomato Sauce - Original review

« Planet reviewPlanetBarker's Tomato Sauce - Homestyle reviewBarker's Tomato Sauce - Homestyle »

Score: 8.9/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 8623 - Barker's Tomato Sauce - Original
Produced by Barkers of Geraldine

Barker's Tomato Sauce - Original
Price:
$5.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Barkers of Geraldine

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected retail outlets nationwide

Barker's Tomato Sauce - Original product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsBarker's Better Original tomato sauce proudly uses New Zealand homegrown tomatoes. It's a great tasting family sauce that you feel good about putting on the table with 40% less sugar and 30% less salt than the market-leading sauce. A traditional home-made style tomato sauce that delivers true Kiwi flavour.

    •  Gluten free
    •  New Zealand tomatoes
    •  Made in New Zealand
    •  No added preservatives, artificial colours or flavours
    •  Vegan friendly

Shake before use. Refrigerate after opening.

Check out Barkers of Geraldine onlineClick here to see all the listings for Barkers of Geraldine Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
gluten free   herbs   nzmade   onion   salt   spices   sugar   tomato   vegan   vinegar   yeast
Other listings you may be interested in:
GoNatural Macadamia and HazelnutGoNatural Macadamia and Hazelnut
Rating: 8.7
Pics Peanut Butter - OriginalPics Peanut Butter - Original
Rating: 9.4
Uncle Toby's Oats Quick SachetsUncle Toby's Oats Quick Sachets
Rating: 9.5
Heinz Little Kids Tomato Mini Corn CakesHeinz Little Kids Tomato Mini Corn Cakes
Rating: 9.4
Hubbards Berry Tricks MixHubbards Berry Tricks Mix
Rating: 8.8
Avalanche Coconut FlourAvalanche Coconut Flour
Rating: 9.3
gftreets - Southern Style Coated Chickengftreets - Southern Style Coated Chicken
Rating: 9.9
Awesome Naturals - Milk BottlesAwesome Naturals - Milk Bottles
Rating: 9.9
Chocolate Pineapple BallsChocolate Pineapple Balls
Rating: 9.5
I Love Baking - Manuka Honey Muesli CookiesI Love Baking - Manuka Honey Muesli Cookies
Rating: 9.1
Bennetto Coconut Dark Chocolate Mini BarsBennetto Coconut Dark Chocolate Mini Bars
Rating: 9.2
Country Pride Shaved Leg HamCountry Pride Shaved Leg Ham
Rating: 9.6
House of Dumplings - Cantonese Free-Range Chicken Coriander DumplingsHouse of Dumplings - Cantonese Free-Range Chicken Coriander Dumplings
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of fliss1

Review by: fliss1 (Felicity)
Dated: 24th of August, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Tomato sauce is not my thing and I am not a great enthusiast for table sauces in general. My husband would probably say that no meal cannot be improved by tomato sauce so this was a new test of whether it was the processed apple-based sauces that I am not a fan of or the concept of tomato sauce at all.

The jar was a bit harder than I would have liked to open initially but then it was fine and it didn't get "gooped up" over the weeks so that was a great start for me who hates drippy bottles in the fridge. I also found that the sauce tasted colder because it was stored in glass (a bit like milk does) which was a little added bonus for me as usually, we have our tomato sauce stored in plastic. Watch for the bottle being a bit heavy though. I used it a few times in dishes for guests and some commented it was different but didn't seem to be critical of the taste or particularly excited.

Tried it on toasted sandwiches and it was a bit wasted on me but that is probably personal preference of more texture. Husband liked it and rated it well for chips especially when I mentioned it was healthier. I found a few uses in dishes but tried not to "lose" the taste which meant it was more of a table sauce test for us.

Being a Barkers product it is high quality and you feel it is a bit of a cut above, between the taste and the lovely colour. I liked the smell and it definitely had a good tomato taste. We also tested the homestyle (first) and I think that ruined me as I preferred the more "lumpy/herby" taste of that though. For the price, I would prefer the homestyle but this is still a high quality sauce more in line with an old fashioned tomato sauce taste and look with none of the nasties.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 19th of August, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

"Kiwi's love.... tomato sauce on meat pies" like the new kiwiburger ad says, but, we love tomato sauce on lots of other things and as a condiment it really adds to a meal! I mean,a luncheon sandwich is just not the same when there is an absence of tomato sauce on there, right?!

Seeing this sauce come up for review, I was excited to try it for a number of reasons. First of all, that it is a New Zealand made and produced product, with no added preservatives or nasties, Second, the improved original sauce has less salt and sugar in it so it is better for us all health wise, while (apparently) keeping the good taste and Third (and no less important) being that it is packaged in glass, I can reuse the bottle, or gift it on to a friend who also makes homemade pasta sauce - win win!

I received the KIWIreviews package and it was nearly lunchtime, so I decided to stick with what I had planned, scrambled eggs on bagel halves, and to add the sauce to finish it off. As you can see from my picture, I definitely added a good dash of sauce (slop of sauce?? not sure how to word it!) to really give it a good taste.

First things first - the labels on each of the bottles is a little bit different - so it is very easy to distinguish between each of the types which is great for busy parents doing the shop, or trying the tell the kids which one to go and get off the shelf. The sauce is packaged in glass bottle making it more eco and reusable. It was easy to twist off and I personally like look of the glass bottle in the fridge (weird right?!).

Onto the most important, taste, liquidity and texture! Having three kids, I have some hard reviewers, but you will be pleased to know that this sauce definitely passed their stringent test, and we are allowed to buy it again!! It is not a really free flowing/thin sauce, but also does not pour too fast either. I did give it a shake before pouring, as figured a more homemade sauce would probably settle a bit more. It is a very smooth sauce - no lumpy bits which is again great for kids. The taste is delicious - lovely full tomato flavour, not sweet or salty, and adds to the taste of anything you would normally put sauce on!

We will definitely be buying this sauce again, my only negative is that it is not really in our price range for a "use all the tine sauce" but I would buy it for a treat, and just had a thought that it would great in a gift basket !

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 28th of June, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

My kids have certainly taken after me in my enjoyment of using tomato sauce, although I have grown out of dousing my food in the stuff nearly every meal, my kids still love to use a good quantity whenever the meal suits, so trialing out a new sauce was worth giving a go. The design on the jar certainly caught my eye and I like the simplistic look to it, it just tells you what it is, no fuss. A turn down for me, however was the lid, because it is just a simple lid, I was concerned about the flow of the sauce coming out of the bottle in too much of a rush for the kids to be able to control on their own, particularly my youngest.

Having a pie and chips for dinner, all three kids were keen to try this out, my eldest had no problems with his quantity though said he preferred bottles where you squeezed it out. My middle child decided it was heavier than other bottles and wasn't a fan. My youngest ended up with one giant plop of sauce on her pie, which she wasn't a fan of and in her quest for as little help as possible, wasn't happy that she needed my help with this one.Tasting it, it wasn't my cup of tea, I tried it over a few different meals but it just didn't hook me at all. My three kids gave up on it after two meals and it seems to have made its way to the back of the fridge.

This wasn't a hit in our house, the flavours just didn't gel for us and other brands are far more preferred.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 27th of June, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My daughter loves her tomato sauce and at one stage would eat it with everything, from a roast dinner to goulash! She is quite particular about the tomato sauce she eats and although she is happy to try different sauces, if it doesn't meet her high standards, she won't try it again. Rather than put the bottle on the table, I thought I would just put some sauce straight on her plate so she could do a blind taste test. She dug in and although I could tell she knew it was different to her usual sauce, she finished the sauce and asked for a top-up. I had to come clean. She said it was so nice that her younger sister (who is the opposite and does not have sauces on anything) asked to try. They both said it was lovely and very tasty. Asked which sauce she preferred, her usual sauce or this sauce, she admitted that this was nicer.

I personally love tomato sauce with hot chips and although not as fussy, I don't like my tomato sauce too sweet which is a problem with a lot of brands. I had a good sniff and had to admit that if it tasted as good as it smelt, we were onto a winner. It had a rich tomato aroma and took me back to my childhood, eating fish and chips on the beach with a dollop of tomato sauce. This tomato sauce has been used in burgers, with hot chips, with chicken, in fact, it's been consumed so quickly I haven't been able to take a photo!

I love Barkers of Geraldine products and they have produced yet another quality product. With 40% less sugar and 30% less salt (than market-leading brands) it's a lot healthier without the taste being compromised. The ingredients are easy to read and recognise with no added preservatives, artificial colours, or preservatives. The sauce comes in an attractive clear bottle although some of the text on the label is hard to read as it is light grey. It is more expensive than other sauces but hey, you get what you pay for! That being said, I think I may need to start investing in Barkers of Geraldine shares...

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 18th of June, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

What is the biggest thing as Kiwis that we share in common other than being proud to be a New Zealander? Its got to be our love of tomato sauce right? I for one am an absolute fan of tomato sauce and find it is so diverse in the amount of food you can use it on ( I'm not as devoted to it as the people who apply it to ice cream though). Tomato sauce is one of those condiments that just adds that extra punch to food that takes it up the extra notch. To me, tomato sauce has to have a rich, bold and tangy flavour that has that zesty taste and Barkers of Geraldine have hit the nail on the head with this. The first thing you notice when looking at the Original tomato sauce is its deep red hue that assures you it's packing some flavour.

The first thing I decided to try the sauce on was fried eggs on toast for breakfast and the sauce suited the meal very well with its lovely tangy taste. Then that night I applied the sauce on to my dinner of sausages, eggs, potatoes and mushrooms and again the sauce just went so well with the food. I have to this point been a constant Watties sauce user but the Barkers of Geraldine sauce has taken the top spot for me and I believe this will become my staple tomato sauce in the fridge. It boasts so many positives with it being Gluten-free, Vegan friendly, having no added preservatives, artificial colours or flavours and is made in New Zealand using New Zealand tomatoes.

Barkers of Geraldine is one of my favourite brands as their quality is top-notch and they are such a loving New Zealand company with a diverse range of products that just keeps growing. I really love this tomato sauce and so does my family which is a great thing to have a product that everyone in our household can use and like. Keep it up Barkers of Geraldine you are doing an excellent job and I look forward to seeing your future products.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 4th of June, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When you have a family to cater for, plain and simple is often the way to go. Kids like their food to be predictable and what may appeal to older palates is not always acceptable to the younger members of the family. However, there are some additives that help to make things kid friendly, and tomato sauce must be at the top of the list. What child does not enjoy a meal liberally seasoned with bright red sauce? It can mask hidden vegetables and all sort of other things that are good for them; they will happily devour everything without spotting the grated carrots or shredded greens lurking in the meat!

Spaghetti bolognese is a firm favourite with our family; it is quick to make, reasonably cheap, and enjoyed by everyone. To top it, you need grated cheese (obligatory) and a proper tomato-tasting sauce. Not the cheap imitation that tastes like rusty metal, but the real thing. In this sauce, there are no added chemical nasties, and the tomato content is a healthy 79%. As Mr Ten pointed out, the sauce counted as a vegetable. He might have just been right.

At first, we all thought the sauce was a bit runny. The children both put a large amount on their dinner as it came out of the bottle so fast - as Miss Eight said, it was quite watery. We thought it would not be economical to use as we needed so much. But then my daughter thought to look at the label again and there it was, almost hidden in the very pale writing down the side, the instruction to shake the bottle before pouring! None of us would have thought to do this as sauces do not usually need shaking, unless they are home made when the contents often settle to the bottom - and once we knew to do this, the sauce came out much thicker (or "blobbier" as Mr Ten described it). The flavour was also more concentrated of course.

We were all impressed by the list of ingredients - all natural and relatively good for us - and also by the packaging; glass is so much more environmentally friendly than the plastic bottles that many sauces these days come in. The sugar and salt components have been drastically reduced compared to most similar products; this is always a good indicator as to whether the product is safe to eat in large amounts. As someone who has to be careful around both these items, any reduction in either sugar or salt is a bonus for me.

Apart from spaghetti bolognese, we would also use it with sausage rolls and with barbecued meat. I tried it myself with toad-in-the-hole and found it was a good solid addition to the rather boring flavour of plain beef sausages. I also put a dash into some home-made curry sauce as I had no fresh tomatoes available, and that too added more depth to the flavour without altering the curry taste.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 2.8
Product reviews for listing 223: The Golden Horse
Located: 45 Victoria Ave, Wanganui

Product image for The Golden HorseLocated on Victoria Avenue, between Maria Place and Ridgeway Street, near the river in Wanganui.

Serving Chinese and European takeaways, or dine-in in our restaurant.

Open normal hours, you can phone 0-6-345 2844 for more details.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Internet is so big, so powerful and pointless that for some people it is a complete substitute for life."
Andrew Brown

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream