Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Friday 23rd February 2024 - 19:20:46

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  

I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Computer Hardware > System Memory > HyperX DDR2 800MHz - KHX6400D2ULK2/2G review

« High School Musical - on stage reviewHigh School Musical - on stageWRT350N - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with Storage Link reviewWRT350N - Wireless-N Gigabit Router with Storage Link »

Score: 9.5/10  [1 review]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 1766 - HyperX DDR2 800MHz - KHX6400D2ULK2/2G
Manufactured by Kingston Technologies

HyperX DDR2 800MHz - KHX6400D2ULK2/2G
Price:
$290 +/-
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Kingston Technology

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been provided to KIWIreviews by Kingston Technology or their agents for the sole purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was requested, offered nor accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at quality hardware retailers

HyperX DDR2 800MHz - KHX6400D2ULK2/2G product reviews

HyperX DDR2 modules are specifically engineered and designed to meet the rigorous requirements of PC enthusiasts. HyperX DDR2 offers faster speeds, lower latencies, higher data bandwidths and lower power consumption than DDR. HyperX is available in single and dual-channel memory kits.

HyperX DDR2 features:
    •  1.8 Volts operation, reducing power consumption by about 50 percent
    •  Memory signal termination inside the memory chip ("On-Die Termination") to prevent reflected signal transmission errors.
    •  Operational enhancements to increase memory performance, efficiency and timing margins.
    •  CAS Latencies: 3, 4 and 5
    •  Currently available in speeds up to 1.2GHz and capacities up to 2GB.

Kingston's KHX6400D2ULK2/2G is a kit of two ultra low-latency 128M x 64-bit 1GB (1024MB) DDR2-800 CL3 SDRAM (Synchronous DRAM) memory modules, based on sixteen 64M x 8-bit DDR2 FBGA components per module. Total kit capacity is 2GB (2048MB). Each module pair has been tested to run at DDR2 800MHz at low latency timing of 3-3-3-10 at 2.3-2.35V. The SPD is programmed to JEDEC standard latency 800Mhz timing of 5-5-5-15 at 1.8V.

Check out Kingston Technology onlineClick here to see all the listings for Kingston Technology Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel They do not have a TikTok channel



Tags:
dimm   ddr2   sdramm
Other listings you may be interested in:
ValueRAM DDR2 800MHz - KVR800D2N5K2/2GValueRAM DDR2 800MHz - KVR800D2N5K2/2GKS/PD2-S-256MKS/PD2-S-256M
Rating: 8.0
Platinum Range : Voyager HD EnclosurePlatinum Range : Voyager HD Enclosure
Rating: 9.3
Extreme III CompactFlashExtreme III CompactFlash
Rating: 8.8
OneTouch 4 PlusOneTouch 4 Plus
Rating: 9.8
Wacom BambooWacom Bamboo
Rating: 9.8
Microsoft Arc MouseMicrosoft Arc Mouse
Rating: 9.8
SCX-3405 Multifunction Monochrone Laser PrinterSCX-3405 Multifunction Monochrone Laser Printer
Rating: 9.0
In-Win Desert Fox (Commander III)In-Win Desert Fox (Commander III)
Rating: 9.8
D-Link EXO AC2600 MU-MIMO Wi-Fi Router - DIR-882D-Link EXO AC2600 MU-MIMO Wi-Fi Router - DIR-882
Rating: 10.0
Epson EcoTank Expression ET-2710Epson EcoTank Expression ET-2710
Rating: 9.5
LaCie Portable SSD - STHK500800LaCie Portable SSD - STHK500800
Rating: 9.5
D-Link AX1800 Dual Band Seamless Mesh Wi-Fi 6 System (3-Pack) - COVR-X1873D-Link AX1800 Dual Band Seamless Mesh Wi-Fi 6 System (3-Pack) - COVR-X1873
Rating: 9.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 27th of May, 2008

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Features:
Score 10 out of 10
Extras:
Score 8 out of 10
Reliability:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

For the last 2 decades, Kingston has been a major player in the Memory field, and having been the first to design the SIMM layout, which is still the default design these days, they have repeatedly proven themselves as the pack leaders. With the roll-out of the 'Hyper-X' badge as the mark of top-flight excellence in 2002, we started to see the best of the best hitting our shelves at reasonable prices.

This RAM isn't the fastest, clock-wise, but it sure does have the lowest CAS latency you're going to find on stock RAM, and so we leapt at the chance to give it some of the ol' "Speed vs Timings" testing... and to do that we built a system up using an Intel DP35DPM motherboard, an Intel E8500 CPU, a juicy Seagate 1 terabyte HDD and a lot of grunty games that chew up RAM like it was gum! Now the thing we didn't realise until it was too late was that the motherboard had a voltage limit of +1.8v for RAM, forcing the RAM to revert to stock timings of 5-5-5-15... hardly anything close to the CAS-3 'holy grail' of 800MHz RAM, so we had to tear the machine down and build a second system using a borrowed board to really get to those lower latencies. Unfortunately, for legal reasons, we can't disclose what the motherboard was at this stage, but it gave us a lot more freedom for testing.

Now this RAM is a kit, with 2 x 1gb sticks giving you the 2gb required. Personally, I quite like this arrangement, as it spreads the workload between DIMMs and thus lowers the overall heat on each chip. Well, that's the theory, and I have to say that during testing the RAM, with it's nifty and stylish metallic blue heatspreader, got to a heat that still left it touchable, if a tad uncomfortable at times. We compared this to a comparable 2gb DIMM in one of our office machines, which became too hot to touch during normal usage.

First off we tried adjusting the RAM using stock settings, Latency set at 3-3-3-10, clock at 800MHz, and we got some excellent 'defaults' to work with. Our next test was to see how far we could lower the timings while retaining the 800MHz clock speed, followed by one where we ramped up the clock as far as possible without any significant 'loosening' of the timings. This is where things got a little hinkey...

First off, we couldn't effectively lower the timings at all! The RAM wasn't going to let us get away with such antics. However, with the CAS at 3, we were pretty much as low as we were going to get it, so I guess we couldn't complain too much. Wink Icon After an hour of trying to ji-ji-jiggle it a bit, we gave up and admitted that the RAM was already running at lean as we could get it... time for the next test... keeping the timings 'stock' at 3, we started to ramp up the clock, but with the voltage at nearly 2.5v, slightly over the Warranty-maximum of 2.35v, we managed to squeeze out a bare 18MHz more... indicating that this RAM is already set for it's best, with little to no safe room for overclocking.

When compared to some lower-spec'd but overclockable memory, the Hyper-X doesn't make a great show, but manages to hold pace quite well... which is great when you take into account the 266MHz clock differentials... to be able to keep pace at slower clock speeds is quite a feat, and Kingston should be justifiably proud of this stock.

Now, something to consider... these results were based on an Intel-CPU-based system. A few brief tests in an AMD-based board, and this RAM proved itself even better, because of the integrated memory controller, which just adores low-latency RAM. Something to keep in mind.

Overall, a few key things to keep in mind... Firstly, this RAM seems to be pre-tweaked for best drop-&-go performance, with little room for adjustment. Running at CAS-3 means there isn't much room to drop the timings any lower, but some of the tests indicated that if you were to raise the CAS to 4, you could punch a lot more clock cycles through it and get some interesting boosts for certain gaming applications, such as recent versions of "Counter Strike" and "Half Life". If you are a die-hard hardware tweaker, this RAM will frustrate you... but for the home user who likes to play some high-end games without messing about with the hardware, these are perfectly suited for that "stuff'em-in-and-let's-go" system. The price is fairly reasonable, though you could find comparable performance at a lower price, but not at this level of quality.


Random listing from 'Computer Hardware'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 742: FlashClub mini optical mouse -  Manufactured by Swann Communications

Product image for FlashClub mini optical mouseDare to be different:
    •  The Flash Club mice are daringly different, with cool flashing lights inside the scrollwheel.

Smoother experience:
    •  With no mouseball attached, it provides a smoother click & move ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Horse sense is the thing a horse has which keeps it from betting on people."
W.C. Fields