Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Monday 29th November 2021 - 21:29:03

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Baxter's Sweet and Smoky BBQ review

« Starfish the Star reviewStarfish the StarBaxter's Spicy Bourbon BBQ reviewBaxter's Spicy Bourbon BBQ »

Score: 9.0/10  [6 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 8899 - Baxter's Sweet and Smoky BBQ
Produced by Baxter's Original NZ

Baxter's Sweet and Smoky BBQ
Price:
$8.50 / 300ml bottle
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Baxter

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by Baxter's Original NZ or their agents for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via online store and selected retail outlets

Baxter's Sweet and Smoky BBQ product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsIt's the best thing since tomato sauce, and your kids will love you for it! And of course, it's perfect for their parents also! If you want all of the flavour without the heat; this is the Baxter's Original creation for you.

Made with cane sugar and hickory smoke, Sweet and Smoky BBQ is a serious all-rounder that goes great on anything, the name says it all! Pairs well as a marinade on your pulled pork, or add it to your burgers, pizza, veggies, and on the kiwi classic fish and chips, get on this sauce!

    •  Heat: Mild
    •  Suitable for vegans
    •  Gluten-free
    •  No artificial colouring or preservatives

Check out Baxter's Original NZ onlineClick here to see all the listings for Baxter's Original NZ Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board Check them out on Instagram They do not have a TikTok channel



Tags:
baxters   bbq   chili   chilli   gluten free   hickory   nzmade   sauce   smokey   vegan
Other listings you may be interested in:
Baxter's Spicy Bourbon BBQBaxter's Spicy Bourbon BBQ
Rating: 9.2
Baxter's Dragon's Breath BBQBaxter's Dragon's Breath BBQ
Rating: 10.0
Baxter's Teriyaki SauceBaxter's Teriyaki Sauce
Rating: 9.1
Baxter's Chilli Lime Hot SauceBaxter's Chilli Lime Hot Sauce
Rating: 9.8
Baxter's Jolokia Rum Voodoo Hot SauceBaxter's Jolokia Rum Voodoo Hot Sauce
Rating: 9.1
Muffin Bakes - Apple and BranMuffin Bakes - Apple and Bran
Rating: 8.8
Olive Grove Falafel MixOlive Grove Falafel Mix
Rating: 10.0
Dannys Pita Bread - Long-Life OriginalDannys Pita Bread - Long-Life Original
Rating: 9.4
Old El Paso Mexican Sour Cream ToppingOld El Paso Mexican Sour Cream Topping
Rating: 1.5
Pacific Crown Tuna - Naturally SmokedPacific Crown Tuna - Naturally Smoked
Rating: 8.3
RJs Sour Twisters Logs - Grape & LimeRJs Sour Twisters Logs - Grape & Lime
Rating: 8.6
Texas BBQ Beef BrisketTexas BBQ Beef Brisket
Rating: 9.3
Graze Skinny Dipped Almonds - Dark ChocolateGraze Skinny Dipped Almonds - Dark Chocolate
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 6th of November, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

It was my eldest turn to make dinner and whilst we both knew that potatoes were going to be on the menu, we just had to decide what was going to go with it. We ended up deciding to go with mashed potatoes and we cooked up some onion, garlic, mushrooms, cauliflower and nutmeat (a vegetarian protein). Once it had been cooking for a while the dilemma of which sauce came up and thatā ™s when I suggested that we use this sauce in dinner, which my 14 year old was happy to once they had tasted the sauce out of the bottle (something that everyone else had to do an all agreed it was rather yum). We ended up using over half the bottle to ensure plenty of flavour for the five of us.

My 14 year old kept trying bits out of the frying pan, which means it was a hit with them but it epwould be interesting to see what my mum thought as she has never been a fan of any bbq sauce. We dished out the potatoes, plopped on some of the sauce/veges and a little bit of cheese. The meal ended up being full of flavour, even my mother thought it was delicious and was a little disappointed that there wasnā ™t any leftovers for her to have the following day. We still have some sauce left, which Iā ™m going to eat with some hot chips next, just a nice and simple meal which Iā ™m looking forward to, I think weā ™ll be getting this again for sure.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 31st of October, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We had tried a few of Baxter's sauces and loved them. Hubby has even claimed that the Dragon's Breath BBQ sauce with his all-time favourite. Although a little hot for me, I was looking forward to trying this milder sauce and I was not disappointed. Upon opening the bottle, the smell instantly reminded me of Jimmy Jacks' ribs, which are my all-time favourite. I instantly decided to use this as a marinade and liberally doused some cubed chicken breast in the sauce before leaving to marinate for the day. The result was a huge hit with the whole family and had a gorgeous, sweet, but smokey hickory BBQ taste. It was delicious!

Baxter's claim that this is the best thing since tomato sauce and I would claim that this is in fact better than tomato sauce. It is so good with everything, from hot chips to nachos. Both my daughters loved the sweet flavor and the bottle was easy to use with the sauce being thick, but not so thick that it took ages to run out of the bottle. My only issue would be the price, but that's only because we used a whole bottle in less than a week. I will definitely be buying this again but because of its popularity, will have to look at rationing it and bringing it out for special occasions!

Click here to read the profile of cath_champ

Review by: cath_champ (Catherine)
Dated: 13th of September, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

We are not huge BBQ sauce eaters and only have on special occasions. But when we do have it the bottle goes pretty quickly. A good BBQ sauce will always evoke nostalgic and happy memories of either a Eagles Boy pizza or Burger King BBQ Bacon Burger - both of which we haven't eaten in years.

This sauce I would say has a good flavour and not overly sweet which, even though is in it's name, is probably a good thing. However, it didn't make me go 'Oh Wow, this is the best'. I like the fact that it is gluten free and has no artificial colouring or preservatives so this would probably make me lean towards buying it in the future considering the cost. However as a Whitlocks girl through and through, their BBQ sauce tastes so damn good that would be my first preference.

This sauce would make a good base on pizzas, rub on ribs, drizzle on burgers and dipping sauce for hot chips if you are looking for a nice BBQ hit. I would prefer a little more smokey flavour to give it that punch but I still wouldn't be disappointed if I was served this in a pub.

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 4th of September, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

BBQ sauce is my go-to sauce for when it comes to smoked meats and sausage in bread so when I saw this I knew I had to give it a go especially after having tried some of the other Baxter's sauces which have impressed me in quality and flavor. We had Pre-cooked sausages for lunch so I layered on the sauce and dived in and it was very delicious bursting with a tangy rich smoky flavor with a sweet kick to it. After lunch, I knew I had to try it out on a more substantial meal so I decided to give it a shot as a pizza base sauce and sauced on top of the pizza also.

I covered the pizza base with the BBQ sauce and layered on top salami, mushrooms, olives, and dare I say it pineapple then I covered it with cheese and the sweet and smoky sauce. I allowed it to bake removed it from the oven, cut into it and dived into eating it. It was very tasty and if anything cooking it up enhanced the flavor of the sauce. Next time I use it I think it would do very well as a Chicken nugget dipping sauce which actually reminds me of the closest comparison I can give this sauce as it tastes very similar to the Mcdonald's BBQ sauce but this sauce is thicker and has more tanginess to it.

If you're looking into trying out more flavorsome sauces then you definitely have to add this sauce to your collection and you will not regret it. The kids loved it which I predicted they would and for $8.50 for a 300ml bottle it is a great value for money. I can see myself trying this on a lot of other meals and I can foresee this bottle not lasting very long between myself and four kids who love it.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 30th of August, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Pulling a Steak and Onion pie out of the oven, my daughter yelled out 'don't forget the Tomato Sauce' to which my husband said 'no lets try one of the new sauces' a quick discussion was had and this flavour won the vote. Everyone got to apply the sauce as they saw fit and it is rather amusing the different ways a pie can be eaten. My husband scoops out the filling onto bread and puts sauce on the bread and also in the crust of the pie. My eldest pulls the top off and puts sauce on top of the filling and then replaces the lid. My youngest put sauce to the side and I put it on top of the pie and eat it like a normal person.

I myself found it way too sweet for the flavour of the pie. Whereas the other three said it was fantastic. I couldn't even bring myself to finish the pie (but I think that's a reflection on the pie, not the sauce) but, I did decide that this would be great on pork chops or spare ribs.

As my regular butcher is shut, we were limited for choice at the supermarket - but did settle for some very overpriced pork chops. I marinated them in the sauce once getting home and then left it for a couple of hours. We have just started getting Hello Fresh and had some cheese sauce left from the night before and also a bit of pear salad. I mashed up some garlic potatoes and put the cheese sauce on some vegetables which was amazing in itself.

Taking a bite I noted the sweetness was still there but there was a hint of smokey flavour. I could not work out what it reminded me of and then my youngest said it's like 'Burger King' and she's right. It's spot on to their BBQ sauce and so everyone was commenting on making burgers next weekend. It will be perfect with Pineapple and Cheese with Meat Patties and Bacon.

It did give the pork a nice glaze and the combination was fantastic - just wish there was more pork! My eldest daughter was so taken by it she asked if she could make a sandwich with just the sauce - suffice to say ground rules were quickly made and no one is allowed to have without hubby or mines say so or else it would not make it thru another day, we are already down to less then a quarter of a bottle.

This sauce is nice if you have the right combination. I do find it a tad sweet but to the rest of the family, it is the best thing since sliced bread. I am looking forward to when the fish and chip shops reopen and we can enjoy them down on the beach with this sauce tagging along. It is a tad expensive considering sauce bottles do not last very long in this house so it would only be purchased when on special.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 16th of August, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Never mind the kids, everyone went for this product. Although it is essentially an enhanced tomato sauce, it has much more going for it. There is a richness which reminded us of the sort of marinade you get with spare ribs, dark and juicy and full of flavour. Everyone tried a few drops on a teaspoon first, just to see if they would like it. So far so good!

We had decided to use it with two different dishes. The first was a simple meal of chicken tenderloins with mushrooms, greens from my garden, and potato chips. The chicken was marinated in half a cup of sauce for an hour and then fried gently over a low heat. When it was ready, I transferred it to a warm oven so I could cook the sliced mushrooms in the pan juices. This ensured that none of the sauce was wasted - it was absorbed straight back into the mushrooms.

What would have been a very mundane meal with a regular tomato sauce was transformed into a Southern US treat. The smoky flavour and the tang of the added tamarind made it special, and if I had been hoping for leftovers I was going to be disappointed. There was not a single scrap left on anyone's plate.

I used the sauce a couple of days later as a table condiment. We were having home-made Hawaiian burgers for lunch, with beef and onion patties, pineapple, and sliced cheese. Rather than adding the sauce myself, I left the bottle on the table for people to help themselves. I was interested to see that most people took a generous amount, more than I would have given them - with the exception of one person, they were the same group that had tried the marinated chicken two days earlier, so they were already familiar with the product.

When served as a table sauce, it was quite different. The flavour was more intense with the smoky element becoming more obvious. One person thought he could detect a hint of chili, but if it was there it was muted; unlike with some of the Baxter's sauce range, there was no discernible heat. And although none of our children had been present on the two occasions we had sampled the sauce, I am certain they would enjoy it too. As they get older, they are willing to be more adventurous with their eating, so my plan is to let them try it next time. It would be interesting to see what they make of it. We are planning a family get-together at the weekend and someone has promised to bring a whole ham on the bone; I think the sauce would be superb with that.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 4621: Wilton Dab N Hold Edible Adhesive -  Brand / Manufactured by: Wilton

Product image for Wilton Dab N Hold Edible AdhesiveThe quick and easy way to attach edible decorations to cakes and treats! Food safe adhesive is easy to apply. Spreads thin and attaches fast. Use to apply Sugar Sheets, edible decorating paper shapes to fondant or crusted buttercream icing, create layered decorations and more.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Proof that God doesn't exist: If God created the earth for mankind, why is it that we can only live on a less than a quarter of it?"
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide