Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Tuesday 15th June 2021 - 21:13:28

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Spreads > Pic's Peanut & Chocolate Butter review

« Raptor Rubs - Lucky Kentucky reviewRaptor Rubs - Lucky KentuckyThrow Throw Burrito reviewThrow Throw Burrito »

Score: 8.0/10  [8 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 8825 - Pic's Peanut & Chocolate Butter
Produced by Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter

Pic's Peanut & Chocolate Butter
Price:
$8.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Pic

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets nationwide.

Pic's Peanut & Chocolate Butter product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsIn the face of pleas from his people to try something new and an opportunity to partner with New Zealand's beloved Whittaker's chocolate, Pic gave his blessing to the creation of Pic's Peanut & Chocolate Butter.

They tossed everything together in a brand-new concrete mixer and ran it through the grind for one squish, producing the most mouth-watering crunchy peanut and chocolate butter.

Pic's Peanut & Chocolate Butter combines Pic's signature crunchy peanuts and the generous mix of Whittaker's Five Roll Refined Creamy Milk and Dark Ghana 72%, with a pinch of sea salt.

Ingredients:
Peanuts (76%), Whittaker's Creamy Milk and Dark Chocolate (20%) (cocoa solids 8% (cocoa mass, cocoa butter), sugar, milk powder, emulsifier (soy lecithin), vanilla flavour), peanut oil, salt

Check out Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter onlineClick here to see all the listings for Pic's Really Good Peanut Butter Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
butter   chocolate   cocoa   milk   peanuts   salt   spread   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Pic's Peanut Butter - OriginalPic's Peanut Butter - Original
Rating: 9.4
Pic's Peanut Butter - Original No SaltPic's Peanut Butter - Original No Salt
Rating: 8.8
Pic's Peanut Butter - SmoothPic's Peanut Butter - Smooth
Rating: 9.2
Pic's Peanut Butter - Smooth No SaltPic's Peanut Butter - Smooth No Salt
Rating: 8.7
Pic's Peanut Butter SlugsPic's Peanut Butter Slugs
Rating: 9.5
Pic's Cashew ButterPic's Cashew Butter
Rating: 9.6
Pic's Almond ButterPic's Almond Butter
Rating: 9.0
Pic's Really Good Boysenberry JellyPic's Really Good Boysenberry Jelly
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's - White Snack WrapsFarrah's - White Snack Wraps
Rating: 9.4
Gluten-Free Garlic Flattie Heat'n'EatGluten-Free Garlic Flattie Heat'n'Eat
Rating: 9.3
Whittakers Kaitaia Fire Chili Dark Chocolate   Whittakers Kaitaia Fire Chili Dark Chocolate   
Rating: 7.5
Rice Sticks: GarlicRice Sticks: Garlic
Rating: 8.5
Barker's Tropical Mango SauceBarker's Tropical Mango Sauce
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 7th of June, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was a late developer with regards to peanut butter as it never really appealed to me until I decided to try it with jam. Then it was game on! I now enjoy peanut butter on its own and love using it to make bliss balls and in baking. Whittaker's chocolate is my favourite brand of chocolate so I was excited to try this combo.

The peanut and chocolate butter comes in a glass jar and I did enjoy reading the rhyming poem about how this will change my life! The main ingredient was obviously peanuts, followed by Whittaker's creamy milk and dark chocolate. The jar states it's a delicious Peanut Slab in a jar. .. I couldn't wait!

When I did the whiff test I could smell chocolate more than the peanuts and I could see the thick, brown chocolate and crunchy peanuts. First up was spreading some on toast and I noticed that it was quite thick and therefore meant there was decent coverage - not sure how long it would last if I used this much every time I had toast though. I also noticed that some pieces had more peanuts on them than others but couldn't see that as a problem. I really liked the texture and taste as the peanuts helped to reduce the sweetness of the chocolate, so it was a great combo that was slightly sweet, slightly savoury, and definitely crunchy!

Next up was making some bliss balls and I used half a cup of oats and half a cup of peanut and chocolate butter. After mixing thoroughly, I made them into balls and left them in the fridge for 30 minutes. Leaving them in the fridge meant that the chocolate in the butter had set and these were delicious treats that my girls both loved. They would make a great addition to the lunch box for a quick and easy treat.

Overall, I was very impressed with this peanut butter. It is quite expensive so would be purchased more as a treat but I'll definitely be keeping my eye open for it when it's on sale!

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 30th of May, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

For a short time I enjoyed peanut butter and celery, in my youth, but those days have long passed and I now only have peanut butter if I'm adding some to a peanut satay sauce. However, I have two children who love peanut butter and thanks to multiple rewatches of The Parent Trap (1998), love to dunk oreos into said peanut butter, and given they also love chocolate I figured this would be a no-brainer to apply to review. Opening it up, there was a thick layer of oil on top, but I made use of a nearby chopstick and gave it a good stir. My three kids and I all dipped a finger in to give it a try. I liked it until the dark chocolate hit, my eldest said it was ok but they weren't interested in more. My younger two grinned in delight and one ran away with the jar whilst the other grabbed, you guessed it... a packet of oreos.

My youngest two have declared this a solid hit for them and were already asking for more even though they hadn't finished what they currently had. Between them they have finished three!!! packets of oreos, but what is good about this peanut butter is that it was runnier than what we usually buy, so they were able to easily dip their cookie into the jar and I'm sure it went a lot further than when they need to use a spoon or knife to help them spread it. They have, between them, tried this on toast a few times but didn't like how it spread, with my youngest saying she found it more annoying and so only did this once. $8.00 feels very steep, price wise, but given how the kids will be using it and just how long it has lasted, I could see us getting this again, if budget allows.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 29th of May, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

As a child I can honestly say I did not overly like peanut butter, I do not know what it was as I liked to eat peanuts by the handful, but as for peanut butter the only way I would eat it was if it was used in a satay sauce. My 3 young children all absolutely love peanut butter however, and we have had to start purchasing the largest jars we can find, yet they still manage to demolish them in record time. I have recently fallen in love with the Reese's peanut butter cups covered in chocolate, so thought that I would request a jar of this product to try to see if it would suit my taste-buds, failing that I was pretty positive the kids would be able to finish it otherwise. I am a proud Whittaker's supporter as I like to support local where possible, plus it is delicious, high quality chocolate.

When the KIWIreviews package arrived the children were so excited, and confused about the fact that in the jar was peanut butter and chocolate. Needless to say they needed to have their curiosity satisfied, we put some bread in the toaster and waited. I read the jar while waiting and apparently there is supposed to be 19 servings in this 290g jar. Once the toaster popped it was time to spread the product, this product is not smooth or easy to spread due to the crunchy peanuts, however we got there in the end. The first few bites for me were alright, however I could not finish the toast, I think I was expecting a more chocolatey taste, but for me this product would have to be a no.
Out of my 3 peanut butter fiends only one child actually enjoyed the product, she has since been left with the rest of the jar to eat. The other two children said that it tasted too bitter for them to enjoy.

I think the brands have a good idea here as chocolate and peanut butter seems to be a very popular food pairing, however I personally feel that using a chocolate that isn't as bitter due to the darkness would be more appropriate, especially for younger consumers.
I personally do not believe that I can justify spending $8 on a small jar of peanut butter and chocolate, especially at the rate that my daughter goes through it. I believe that this product certainly is an acquired taste, but look forward to seeing what other creations Pic's can come up with.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 26th of May, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.3/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

We are huge peanut butter fans in this house we go through jars pretty quick. When I saw peanut chocolate butter couldn't say no to try it. My oldest is on protein shakes and trying different combinations to add flavour to her shake was excited to try. My gut feeling made me recheck ingredients and sure enough traces of gluten so it was out for her before it started.

The jar is nice and simple, easy to open and I do love the star on top which would help to identify the jar if in a draw. The label isn't fancy and shows what is in the jar. Ingredients and the may contain traces is too small for my liking my parents or grandmother would just give to my daughter as it's not actually highlighted. I love that it's made in New Zealand and almost representing peanut slab which I actually like.

My other 4 children tried it on toast and unfortunately none of them liked it including myself. Not sure what it was but it definitely wasn't a good combination for us and definitely can't replace our peanut butter. But I had an idea since we had pretty much a full jar decided to make cookies and that was a lot nicer. The texture from the nuts in the peanut chocolate butter was a nice crunch, the peanuts came to play and the chocolate was subtle. The cookies went down very well.

Even though it doesn't work as a spread in our house and better in baking sadly one whole jar is pretty much used in baking the cookies and for $8 I couldn't do that all the time. The price is way out of my budget, but for a bring a plate, or gift to a teacher, make your own cookie pack I would consider it. It made 22 small biscuits. But in all other aspects, this product is a no for us.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 24th of May, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Holy moly this jar is worth its weight in gold! Now putting it out there I absolutely hate peanut butter - can not stand the smell, texture, taste - the stuff is worst than pumpkins! But alas, I am totally alone on this feeling as I am surrounded by peanut butter lovers. My kids eat it like its going out of fashion and so does my husband. I go through quite a few jars in a month, well really in a couple of days. So in all honesty I was not looking forward to having to do this review.

The day I received my KIWIreviews box of goodies my husbands eyes popped out of his head when he saw it. He opened it before I could say no and stuck his fingers in and said 'omg you have to try this' by this time the little vultures had turned up and they were sticking their fingers into the jar squealing at how good it is. So reluctantly after them cheering do it, do it I finally dipped my finger and in and 'wow mind blown, this is amazing'. It is like a peanut slab crunched up and put in a jar yum. I even went back for a double dip and then realised we were using our fingers eating out of a jar and when I brought this factor up my eldest daughter said as she ran to the kitchen I will grab spoons.

Now, no way am I a converted peanut butter lover but I am in love with this taste. I think a huge factor is probably the smell, it does not smell like the normal peanut butter does but has more of the chocolate heaven smell. I do really like the chocolate element, but seriously who wouldn't its Whittaker's Chocolate. I did try on bread but it was not that appealing to me - tastes like peanut butter and gets stuck on the top of your mouth, so instead for an alterative dessert a couple of spoons of this fits the bill perfectly.

Lucky my husband was on to it because by the next day after receiving it was 3/4 gone and he had to hide it from the little ones or they would easily of finished the jar off. They both were eating it on toast and then because it did not spread that easily changed to just normal bread. They both commented they needed to use more than normal as the peanuts did not spread as easily. When writing this review my eldest even volunteered to show me how it spreads on bread.

Would I buy this again - absolutely on special occasions as, as I have stated it would be lucky to see the next day. It would also have to be brought on the sly and hidden from prying eyes and grabbing hands. Definitely a winner in this house - even with me.

Click here to read the profile of cath_champ

Review by: cath_champ (Catherine)
Dated: 24th of May, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

We are huge peanut butter fans in our household and we usually buy in bulk which still only lasts us for the week. Pic's is generally the PB of choice as the ingredients are simple being just peanuts and is still tasty. This is a great collaboration with Whitaker's chocolate and it's almost like eating a melted peanut slab. The texture is a bit runnier than your normal peanut butter so it's easy to spread on toast and try to eke out and savour the whole jar. The container is a bit smaller than your traditional peanut butter but it being richer in flavour you don't need to use as much and feels very indulgent.

There is a Nutella-like flavour but not as sweet and with just enough chocolate taste coming through that makes it feel like a treat. I served up to my son on toast alongside his usual PB toast and this was gobbled down pretty quick so was definitely a favourite. I would also be partial to a quick spoonful straight from the jar as an alternative to my usual dark chocolate sweet after dinner.

Although I would probably not buy this regularly as it would be gone too quick and on the pricer side, it is a nice and tasty treat that would go nicely on toast or smothered on a chopped apple.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 18th of May, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Pic's has been one of the top quality producers of peanut butter for a while. Much like Whittakers has taken over as the top dog of chocolate ever since Cadbury moved overseas and changed their processes. Whittaker has been bringing kiwi flavours into their chocolates for a while now (e.g. Hundreds and Thousands, L&P, Jelly Tip, K Bar), and have been going the other way as to put their chocolate into other products (e.g. Tip Top ice cream, Lewis Road Creamery milk, Garage Project beer). Now we have a new collaboration of Whittakers with Pic's Peanut butter, and it's quite the treat!

The first thing worth mentioning is that this is a crunchy peanut butter, which makes it difficult to spread a thin layer on your toast if that is what you are into. Personally, that isn't an issue for me as I like my peanut butter to be spread thick. But combine the thickness with the tastiness of Whittakers, and you have the problem of the jar emptying far too quickly. I could empty the whole jar with just five pieces of toast, it is that moreish, and it does take a lot of active avoidance to prevent myself from just eating five pieces of toast in one go.

Flavour-wise, the product has quite a nice balance. The chocolate is certainly adding a certain amount of sweetness to the flavour profile, but the chunky nuts add that savouriness to balance and mellow out the sweet element. The chunky mix does mean that the actual chocolate to peanut mix does vary from bit to bite, depending on the volume of nuts in each bite, but it adds a nice variability to the flavour that makes it so easy to eat.

Like most of Pic's butters, the product does have a little bit of build-up of oils on the surface, so it still needs to be properly mixed each time before use so that the bottom half doesn't dry out, but it looks like it is less of an issue in this product with the chocolate able to hold the oils better, keeping it all much moister for longer.

$8 is a little on the high side though, for a jar that won't get as many uses as other jars (even if only because it tastes so good). The missus put up a fight when it came to trying this one out before, purely based on the cost price, so it will definitely be one of the only real downside's the product needs to overcome.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 17th of May, 2021

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

What a treat! I was sorry I had offered to share this product as I could easily have eaten the whole jar myself, armed with a single teaspoon. However, that would have been counterproductive. Also, it is quite expensive so probably ideal for a special occasion treat rather than an everyday food item. We have agreed that it should be reserved for those times when a celebration is due.

When first opening the jar, you are met with the wonderful sight of peanut pieces - and I mean pieces, not specks as you sometimes find in "crunchy" peanut butters. These could not possibly be anything other than real nuts. And the chocolate they are suspended in is the real thing too, with its enticing aroma greeting you as the lid is removed. As for flavour, it is superb. My partner loaded some on a piece of toast, thinking it would take a thick layer to ensure the taste was strong enough, but we found that half the quantity would have done. This way it was more a case of having some toast with your spread!

We took some on a picnic, intending to eat it with a fresh white braided loaf. There was no butter needed; there was enough oil in the peanuts to make any other spread superfluous. We have both had chocolate spread (other brands) on artisan bread before, but you had to put a lot on and it was frequently too dry to spread properly. The texture of this product reminded me of my grandmother's home-made apricot jam; she always put almonds in the jar so you would get the crunch with the sweetness. Having pieces of nut in a spread also makes you eat more slowly as you have to chew the crunchy bits properly!

I found I really enjoyed a thin layer of the butter on a breakfast cracker. It would go with any cracker of course, but hard baked items like breakfast crackers and cabin bread are easier for spreading purposes. Also, they are filling and a good substitute for bread if you happen to have run out. We always have a couple of packets on hand for bread emergencies, and they keep unopened for some time. Another item it goes well with is a plain shortbread - we spread a small amount on top and it gave the basic biscuit a real boost. Nice for a quick and festive afternoon tea with a few hundreds and thousands sprinkled on top.

I am not sure how it will survive heating; we are thinking of stirring a tablespoon through some home-made fudge just as it reaches setting point. It would add a lovely flavour, but might not work out. Fudge can be tricky at the best of times, and I still have occasional failures despite my training from an aunt who was a fudge expert. However, when it does not set, you just use it as an ice-cream topping and pretend that is what you meant to do in the first place. (She taught me that too!) It still tastes good.

We are both sold on this product and will definitely be on the lookout for it in the supermarket. It will be something to look forward to as an occasional treat - the best kind! I can't wait.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.4
Product reviews for listing 5828: Sunday Best - Prime Beef & Blue Cheese Pie -  Manufactured by Maketu Pies Ltd

Product image for Sunday Best - Prime Beef & Blue Cheese PieTender chunks of prime steak, slow-simmered with chunky onions and herbs, topped with blue cheese then encased in our handmade, flakey, golden pastry

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it."
Olivier

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide