Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Thursday 20th January 2022 - 09:48:50

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Fantasy > The New Hunger review

« Spirit Animals #2: Hunted reviewSpirit Animals #2: HuntedPlanes reviewPlanes »

Score: 6.3/10  [1 review]
2 out of 5
ProdID: 5155 - The New Hunger
Written by Isaac Marion

The New Hunger
Price:
$18.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Penguin Random House

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by Penguin Random House or their agents for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
January 2014

The New Hunger product reviews

Julie Grigio drives with her parents through the crumbling wastelands of America - a nightmarish family road trip in search of a new home.

A few hundred miles away, Nora Greene finds herself the reluctant, terrified guardian of her younger brother when her parents abandon them in the not-quite-empty ruins of Seattle.

In the darkness of a forest, a dead man in a red tie opens his eyes. With no memory of who or what he is, he must unravel the grim mystery of his existence - right after he learns how to think, how to walk, and how to satisfy the monster howling in his belly...

Two warped families and a lonely monster. Unknown to any of them, their paths are set to cross in a startling encounter that will change the course of their lives - or deaths - forever.

Check out Penguin Random House onlineClick here to see all the listings for Penguin Random House Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel They do not have a TikTok channel



Tags:
isaac marion   movie tie in   prequel   warm bodies   zombie
Other listings you may be interested in:
Warm BodiesWarm Bodies
Rating: 9.2
The Language of Stones 3: Whitemantle (The Third Coming of Arthur)The Language of Stones 3: Whitemantle (The Third Coming of Arthur)eXtreme GolfeXtreme Golf
Rating: 9.3
Klutz - Headbands & hairstylesKlutz - Headbands & hairstyles
Rating: 9.8
The Boys' Book of AdventureThe Boys' Book of Adventure
Rating: 9.3
The Girl's Book of FriendshipThe Girl's Book of Friendship
Rating: 8.8
Kissing SinKissing SinThe Collector - 1 - Dead HarvestThe Collector - 1 - Dead Harvest
Rating: 8.0
The Last Thirteen #06 - 8The Last Thirteen #06 - 8
Rating: 9.9
The Singing MermaidThe Singing Mermaid
Rating: 10.0
Sebastian Lives in a HatSebastian Lives in a Hat
Rating: 10.0
Why Did the Chicken Cross the RoadWhy Did the Chicken Cross the Road
Rating: 9.9
Tilly and the Lost FairytalesTilly and the Lost Fairytales
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 12th of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Level of Realism:
Score 7 out of 10
Rereadability:
Score 7 out of 10
Lose Track of Time:
Score 3 out of 10

I LOVED the movie Warm Bodies and have watched it several times so was very excited to have the chance to review The New Hunger. Being the prequel to Warm Bodies I was expecting great things and was looking forward to finding out where the beloved characters from Warm Bodies came from. I was also looking forward to find out how the world was destroyed and the Zombies came about as Warm Bodies start several years after the first zombie. I hate to say it delivered none of that for me and I was very disappointed.

The New Hunger follows three different stories, that of Julie (A main character in Warm Bodies) who is on a journey with her parents to find a new home after their town is overran. Julie's story is set in the family car as they travel to safe zones they have heard about. Julie's story tells a little about her old life and the life she now finds herself living.

Nora, who finds herself suddenly responsible for her 6 year old brother. The two of them were left by their parents to fend for themselves when the world went crazy. Now they are wandering mindlessly around trying to find a safe haven, hoping they survive each day. Halfway through the book Nora and her brother start getting followed by a zombie- he doesn't seem to want to hurt them he just stands back and watches.

The final story told throughout the book is that of a man who wakes up in the middle of a forest. He slowly learns how to walk, move and think again. He also has to learn how to satisfy his hunger.

While the book is readable it is a little confusing at times as it moves from one persons story to another. At the end all three stories collide as their paths all cross. I did enjoy the story even though it was nothing like I expected, it was a book that is easy to put down as you don't get lost into the pages very easy. It felt very disconnected to the Warm Bodies story, if it hadn't of been advertised so much as the prequel to the hit movie I may not of been quite so disappointed.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 6672: Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials Movie Tie-In -  Author: James Dashner

Product image for Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials Movie Tie-InThe second book in the Maze Runner series that is soon to be a motion picture, hitting theaters September 18, 2015. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. This special movie tie-in hardcover edition features an eight-page full-color insert with photos from the film.

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end.
Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"It ain't the parts of the Bible that I can't understand that bother me, it is the parts that I do understand."
Mark Twain

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide