Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Sunday 9th August 2020 - 03:08:05

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Games & Puzzles > Card Games > Top Trumps : Dinosaurs review

« Top Trumps : Specials - Roald Dahl : Goodies & Baddies reviewTop Trumps : Specials - Roald Dahl : Goodies & BaddiesTop Trumps : Super Cars 2 reviewTop Trumps : Super Cars 2 »

Score: 9.0/10  [7 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 924 - Top Trumps : Dinosaurs
Developed by Top Trumps

Top Trumps : Dinosaurs
Price:
$9.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Top Trumps (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
At Quality Stationary and Games Outlets

Top Trumps : Dinosaurs product reviews

What is it about dinosaurs that make them so appealing to generation after generation? Whatever it is we've got it in bucketloads. Full of beautiful, realistic and dramatic illustrations, Gigantosaurus, Velociraptor, Brachiosaurus and Triceratops all feature. Compare facts such as Height, Weight, Length, Killer Rating, Intelligence Rating and Age (million years).

2 or more players can play. Players deal the cards amongst themselves and one player will read out a fact from their top card the other players must openly compare the same fact. Whoever has the highest fact, wins the opponents cards. The winner will be the person who has all the cards at the end. If you don't know your Archaeopteryx from your Euoplocephalus you need this Top Trumps pack now!!

Check out Top Trumps (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Top Trumps (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
-none-
Other listings you may be interested in:
Top Trumps : Specials - HorrorTop Trumps : Specials - Horror
Rating: 10.0
Top Trumps : Specials - DC Super Heroes 1Top Trumps : Specials - DC Super Heroes 1
Rating: 9.7
Top Trumps : Specials - Harry Potter and the Goblet of FireTop Trumps : Specials - Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Rating: 9.6
Top Trumps : Specials - Marvel Comic Heroes 3Top Trumps : Specials - Marvel Comic Heroes 3
Rating: 9.3
Top Trumps : Specials - NarniaTop Trumps : Specials - Narnia
Rating: 9.6
Top Trumps : Specials - Roald Dahl : Goodies & BaddiesTop Trumps : Specials - Roald Dahl : Goodies & Baddies
Rating: 9.5
Top Trumps : Super Cars 2Top Trumps : Super Cars 2
Rating: 9.6
Top Trumps : PredatorsTop Trumps : Predators
Rating: 9.6
Top Trumps : SkyscrapersTop Trumps : SkyscrapersTop Trumps : SpaceTop Trumps : Space
Rating: 9.7
Top Trumps : Specials - Harry Potter and the Prizoner of AzkabanTop Trumps : Specials - Harry Potter and the Prizoner of Azkaban
Rating: 9.8
Zoo Tycoon 2 : Marine Mania expansion packZoo Tycoon 2 : Marine Mania expansion pack
Rating: 9.5
Number Chase:  The Game Where You Guess The NumberNumber Chase:  The Game Where You Guess The Number
Rating: 9.9
Sonic GenerationsSonic Generations
Rating: 6.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of blackrose

Review by: blackrose (Kylie)
Dated: 23rd of October, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Easy to Understand:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My son (5yrs) is Dinosaur mad so we got him these as a reward for reading well. We love these cards over all the others he has collected, as these have great facts and the game is very fun to play.
In our house the only person that can pronounce the Dinosaur names is my son, so he gets to be the boss when we play, which turns this into a very educational game. My son learns to be a Dinosaur Expert and Teacher, which boosts his self-esteem, aswell as ability to lead a group. We have found it easy to play the game and we all love the artwork.
My son found and old pack of the same Dinosaur cards in his uncle's old toy box, the pictures are exactly the same, this has given my son the urge to collect all dinosaur cards for when he is old. I would use this as a gift for people 0-100 that loves Dinosaurs.
Especially those budding Palaeontologists like my son.

Click here to read the profile of ibnita

Review by: ibnita (Anita)
Dated: 16th of February, 2011

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Uniqueness:
Score 7 out of 10
Easy to Understand:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

My son is mad about dinosaurs, and spent ages before even attempting to play the game reading the facts about the dinosaurs and marvelling over the pictures so i could see that as well as being entertaining they are educational as well. The game itself was fun, the hardest part being trying to pronounce some of the dinosaur names.

Click here to read the profile of black-kat

Review by: black-kat (Dave)
Dated: 26th of April, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Easy to Understand:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Being somewhat of a Dinosaur fan I was suitably impressed when I saw this offering from the Top Trumps range, it has all your favourites such as the T-Rex, Triceratops and the Velociraptor as well as a whole heap more of their not so well known cousins. The images on these cards are top notch and the information contained on each card makes it very easy for people of all ages to understand. And of course the game itself is very easy and lots of fun to play.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 25th of April, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Uniqueness:
Score 9 out of 10
Easy to Understand:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Being one of the 'Classic' series, this is an older-style deck, and that is reflected in the somewhat faked up artwork... but let's look at this in perspective... Last time I checked, dinosaurs were still all dead, and thus rather difficult to get a decent photo of... and since we still don't have wormhole cameras that will allow us to film the ancient past, all we have is best-guesses from the experts.

So, with some highly detailed drawings and paintings, and some rather clever image editting and compositing, these cards actually do have some reasonable artwork, but not up to the shiny minty-fresh artwork of the Specials deck range.

The Classics range are great to throw a deck or two into the car's glovebox or caravan entertainment cupboards for those times of need when away from home. Just as good as any other deck from whatever series takes your fancy, but just something a little more down to earth I guess.

Overall, still a great game, this deck is more for older kids with better language skills. The dino names can be a bit tongue-twisting for the little ones. One thing that came to mind when I grabbed for this deck however was the colour-coding of the cases themselves makes for easy selection from a number of decks. Though I couldn't see any of the titles in the box of decks, I had a fairly good idea of which one's were which... this translucent green really signified "Reptiles" at first glance.

Click here to read the profile of vivid

Review by: vivid (Matt)
Dated: 25th of April, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Uniqueness:
Score 8 out of 10
Easy to Understand:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I quite liked this game, even though I could hardly say some of the names. The images were very clear, if a bit flat on some cards. Even though some of the other decks are more interesting, more fun or have extra features, this is still a good 'standard' deck. I would see this deck more as a functional deck, rather than a deck I would make a gift out of. A fun deck for kids at the higher end of the age bracket.

Click here to read the profile of diogenes

Review by: diogenes (Rob)
Dated: 25th of April, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Uniqueness:
Score 9 out of 10
Easy to Understand:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

After looking at the special releases of Top Trumps and coming to the dinosaurs I was a little disappointed in the artwork - it hadn't seemed to have changed since the 70's and was strongly reminiscent of my original purchase come 30 years ago. The packing case had changed a lot - the cards hadn't. Then I as reminded that these were Top Trumps Classic Range and probably are reprints of the original game and I was beginning to get nostalgic for a mispent youth playing Top Trumps with my friend in the desk next to me in French lesson. It was difficult to play without the teacher seeing - and when we did get caught, I remember having to learn all the number in French and having to play in French - I guess in hindsight, it was a useful educational tool - though I won't be forcing my daughter to learn Spanish, French or Japanese with this deck - That would be too mean....

Anyway, back to the cards, well, the card case. I have recollections of a pale green case that seemed to crack very easily from all the school boy abuse it recieved both in French lessons and in the playground afterward. We would all vie to play our deck; I, desperately hoping that the other kids would want to play Dinosaur Top Trumps instead of Helicopters or Trucks or whatever the other titles were...but I digress yet again....

The Card are illustrated clearly with nice, clean artwork - not up to today's modern CGI images - but not too shabby either. Do remember this is the Classic Range and probably is from the original production plates and you won't be disappointed if you have just been playing with their new Specials range. The only thing I would suggest that would make the cards more fun to the younger player would be to include a phonetic pronunciation guide underneath the name. I am still, 30 years later, an ardent dinosaur fan - I even have a Plesiosaur vertibrae on top of my TV. I can pronounce the dinosaur names with reletive ease. I am the minority.
That minor grumble aired, I will say it does not detract fromthe game in any way. The game was enjoyed by my daughter (Mad Reader), and I know it will be in her regular play list.

Click here to read the profile of mad reader

Review by: mad reader (Tara)
Dated: 19th of April, 2006

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Easy to Understand:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I found the dinosaur names hard to read but I had a lot of fun trying to read them. I think something to make the names easier to say would have been really helpful because they are very long names. They would be interesting words to read.

They had some nice pictures of dinosaurs and I think this will be one of my favourite packs. I think the boys and girls in my class at school would be interested in playing this game because it is really cool.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Games & Puzzles'...

Score: 6.0
Product reviews for listing 4996: The Simpsons Game
Developed by EA Games

Product image for The Simpsons Game The Simpsons Game features a hilarious, sprawling, and mind-busting storyline crafted by the TV show's Emmy Award-winning writers. For this action-comedy, the full cast of voice actors from the TV show and movie reprise their roles to lend the ultimate in authenticity and realism to the game.

In The Simpsons Game, Homer, Marge, ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"No man deserves punishment for his thoughts. It is the actions that should be punished."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream