Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Friday 25th September 2020 - 05:11:55

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Barker's Tomato Sauce - Homestyle review

« Barker's Tomato Sauce - Original reviewBarker's Tomato Sauce - OriginalBarker's Tomato Sauce - Sweetened with Fruit and Veges reviewBarker's Tomato Sauce - Sweetened with Fruit and Veges »

Score: 8.6/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 8624 - Barker's Tomato Sauce - Homestyle
Produced by Barker's of Geraldine

Barker's Tomato Sauce - Homestyle
Price:
$5.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Barkers of Geraldine

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected retail outlets nationwide

Barker's Tomato Sauce - Homestyle product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsBarker's Better Homestyle tomato sauce blends onion, parsley & basil with spices to create a traditional and flavoursome tomato sauce.

Made with heaps of NZ tomatoes but 40% less sugar and 30% less salt than the market-leading sauce. A traditional home-made style tomato sauce that delivers true Kiwi flavour.

    •  Gluten free
    •  New Zealand tomatoes
    •  Made in New Zealand
    •  No added preservatives, artificial colours or flavours
    •  Vegan friendly

Shake before use. Refrigerate after opening.

Check out Barkers of Geraldine onlineClick here to see all the listings for Barkers of Geraldine Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
garlic   gluten free   herbs   nzmade   onion   salt   sauce   spices   sugar   tomato   vegan   vinegar   yeast
Other listings you may be interested in:
Frescarini Tricolore TortelliniFrescarini Tricolore Tortellini
Rating: 9.3
Trouble PizzaTrouble Pizza
Rating: 8.8
Vege Grande PizzaVege Grande Pizza
Rating: 9.0
Chicken and Veges DumplingsChicken and Veges Dumplings
Rating: 8.1
Cream Wafer Sandwich BiscuitsCream Wafer Sandwich Biscuits
Rating: 7.9
GoNatural Sesame Crisp 4-packGoNatural Sesame Crisp 4-pack
Rating: 9.3
GoNatural Nut Delight barGoNatural Nut Delight bar
Rating: 9.1
Hubbards Berry Tricks MixHubbards Berry Tricks Mix
Rating: 8.8
Santa Rosa Sliced TurkeySanta Rosa Sliced Turkey
Rating: 8.8
Raglan Coconut Yoghurt - Strawberry & AcaiRaglan Coconut Yoghurt - Strawberry & Acai
Rating: 9.2
Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - ChocolateDr. Oetker Easy Icing - Chocolate
Rating: 8.7
SpiceCraft Original Salt RocksSpiceCraft Original Salt Rocks
Rating: 9.8
Down to Earth Organic Soup - French LentilDown to Earth Organic Soup - French Lentil
Rating: 8.6

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of fliss1

Review by: fliss1 (Felicity)
Dated: 24th of August, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Tomato sauce is not something I feel passionate about so this sauce was a bit of an experiment for me. I liked the fact it had less sugar and salt but being a salt lover I did wonder if the flavour would suffer for me - spoiler alert, I loved it more!

I appreciate that the jar is good for the environment but it did make it significantly heavier than I was expecting. Not that this was a big issue but it was something I did make the 84 year old aware of along with the under 6 year old. It was a bit harder for them to manage so I used dishes when we had guests.

I used the sauce for dipping chips (as shown) and as I am not a sauce pourer this was perfect (I would recommend the original if you like to pour as its a lot smoother). I liked the consistency a lot! I put it in toasted sandwiches and added it to wraps. I didn't try this on a pie which was probably my only regret. It was clearly more of a strong relish to me and that make it a hit for me - but I don't like the original classic kiwi tomato sauce taste or consistency and don't add that to anything.

Right - onto the actual taste. I loved the tart tomato-ey kick. It was a strong flavour that meant I added a bit less which meant it went a bit further. Husband says you would not confuse it for his usual sauce and it was nice for a change but not a replacement for him. We loved it on burgers and will buying more for the summer where we thought it would be really useful.

It spread well and tasted amazingly homemade to me - tasted really fresh to me. I will be buying this again but probably not for guests as they were all a bit surprised and not necessarily in a good way - expecting a sweet salty sauce which it is not. Packs a punch for the volume you use.

Click here to read the profile of jasminem

Review by: jasminem (Jasmine)
Dated: 22nd of August, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Tomato sauce is a large part of my families diet. I requested this item having seen it had 40% less sugar and 30% less salt!, to me, this was a huge benefit. I was excited to try it and see how the taste went down with our tomato sauce fiends.

Funnily enough without realising, my mum used this towards her lasagne thinking it was our usual pasta sauce. Although it wasn't the planned ingredient, I can happily say it did the job. We then tried the remaining sauce on various meals throughout the week and enjoyed the taste. I love homestyle chutneys and sauces, so was particularly excited to see how it went down. For myself, I thought it didn't quite hit the mark with the "homestyle" taste, but for my sister who loves the good ol Watties tomato sauce, she found this product more enjoyable and a good middle ground between her usual and homestyle tomato sauce.

I love this Barker's Tomato Sauce has no preservatives, artificial colours or flavours. I prefer more natural products so knowing this item had none of this harsh ingredients was great. Although no one in my house is vegan or gluten free, knowing these products suit these needs too is awesome!

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 18th of June, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

When I think of 'homestyle' I envision a thick and chunky homely sauce so I was rather let down when I poured this sauce onto our dinner of fish and chips and found it way thinner and watery then I was expecting. The flavour was definitely there and you could taste the richness of the tomatoes but I did not enjoy the consistency so much.

Tomato Sauce is a used regularly in our house - so much so, that I find I have to buy a new bottle every week. I am not sure entirely how it gets used as I find unless I open the bottle myself by the time I go to get it to use it is usually down to its last portion. My husband and I have been brought up on one particular brand and I find I gravitate to that brand when doing the shopping - I was keen to find a replacement and I had high hopes for this particular item but unfortunately it did not cross the bar I was going for.

We currently have three sauces in the house at the moment and I have found this is the one everyone would grab last. I have used it with a couple of dishes over the week and a bit, most recently Devil Sausages last night - where as it is so easy to pour and comes out freely, which a great bonus, I just don't like the substance of it. My husband prefers the taste of this one compared to the others and thinks he can taste a smokey flavour where as I find it pleasantly rich and oozing tomatoes.

I do like that it is a glass bottle and it will be so easy to clean when the time has come to wash it. It will be awesome for crafting activities for the girls as the shape is great and the label is removable. Speaking of labels I am drawn to the vibrant colour of the green and the luscious tomato it really catches the eye. It also informas there is 40% less sugar and 30% less salt which is fantastic especially with younger children who seem to want to use it on everything.

Although, this was not a favourite I am pleased to say we all loved Barker's Fruit and Veges flavour and in future that is the one we will be purchasing - this one just missed the mark with us.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 12th of June, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Tomato sauces are a staple of my diet. My unfortunately unhealthy diet. A lot of fatty foods in that diet. Invariably at various points, I've been trying to find a way to eat healthier without compromising the flavours I have come to love in my life. With less sugar and less salt, this Homestyle sauce looks like it could be a great substitute. I've not usually enjoyed chunky sauces because I never liked the texture of cooked tomatoes or onions, but over the years I've grown used to it, and the Tuimato sauce is currently one of my favourites despite its chunkiness. I mention chunkiness because this homestyle is not as homogenized as most sauces. It lacks that consistency but is more uneven than chunky. Still, it was a noticeable difference.

What is also noticeable is the flavour. With onion, parsley, basil, and other spices, the one thing that came to mind when I first tasted it, was pasta sauce. The level of savouriness is exceptional and very prominent. It isn't something that I would really use as a table sauce. I could easily add some tomato puree and chilli sauce, and throw it in with some pasta? Bam! Dinner!. Smear it on a pizza base and sprinkle some sliced deli meats and cheese? Bam! Dinner! Warm it up and pour over some ravioli? Bam! Dinner!

The packaging is quite well designed, with the jar being a good height and thickness to hold a lot of sauce but not take up too much place in the fridge. I like that it is made of recyclable glass, instead of plastic, but I do still prefer the ease of a squeezy bottle when it comes to pouring a certain amount out on a plate.

Despite the lower level of sugar in the product, the vinegar doesn't overpower the flavour at all, which is ideal. It is still quite smooth and has the consistency of a tomato sauce, but the savoury flavour isn't something that I could personally add to anything. It twists it towards the more Mediterranean flavours, as an ingredient in the cooking of a meal, rather than a supplementary addition after the meal is completed.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 9th of June, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

While tomato sauce is a Kiwi staple for pies, sandwiches and with your fish 'n' chips, I'm a little more adventurous. Or lazy... I suppose that could be fair. When it comes to finding new flavours for foods, that is. I like to experiment with foodstuffs in a manner they were not originally designed for, so when I tasted this sauce and it's smokey, rustic flavour and semi-chinky texture, all I could think of was it would make for an interesting base to a pasta sauce.

I was also in the mood to experiment with pork meatballs, having seen them made quite quickly and easily on a cooking show I had watched recently, so quickly set to work. Making the meatballs was even simpler than I thought, and cooking pasta is a doddle, but since they are not the focus of this review, I'll focus on the sauce.

Setting a small pot to simmer on the stove, I fried off some onions and garlic with a bit of pepper and salt until the onions were translucent and tender, then up-ended the bottle of Barker's sauce into the pot. Not all of it, but about 2/3 to 3/4 of the bottle went into the pot, along with half a can of tinned tomatoes and some Italian herbs and spices. Letting it simmer away for about 10 minutes ensured a nice medium-thick pasta sauce that smelled amazing and tasted pretty impressive. The hint of smokiness added an interesting new layer to the flavour profile and gave it a bit of "fusion flair". French New Orleans came to mind. If I had thrown in some chilli, it would have fit right in I think.

Serving the dish to a guest was a little nerve-wracking because I really wasn't sure how they would like it, but the first forkfull showed the delight on their face as the sauce ran down their chin, and that was a huge relief. I dived in for my first bite and was blown away by how well it worked! The next day, I opted for a more "traditional" test and dolloped some on top of a good ol' Steak and Cheese pie, and found it to be quite nice, but not to my personal preferences. I'm not really big on smokey flavours unless they are paired with something spicy or extra-savoury. Still, it paired up well enough that I ate the pie with delight.

Overall, a surprisingly good sauce that may find great appeal after these Lockdown Days. If you enjoy that hint of smoke and a slight tang, you certainly could be right in the key demographic for this tasty morsel.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 6th of June, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

"Homestyle" is an interesting way to describe a sauce. For me that has connotations of being produced in my own kitchen, using only fresh ingredients and skipping the additives. But that would describe most of the sauces in Barker's range, so I needed to find out why this one is special. There is one interesting ingredient listed - smoke extract - which is a natural food flavouring, produced from woodsmoke and then condensed. Although it is not the "real thing" insofar as it is added as a liquid (as an alternative to just smoking the ingredients the oldfashioned way), we really could not tell the difference. I spent years living in a remote part of Europe where much of our meat and fish was smoked over an open fire, so I am familiar with the taste of "real" smoked food.

However, with this addition, we thought the sauce did have a more sophisticated taste, one more likely to appeal to adults. The tomato flavour is enhanced, and although we could taste the "smokiness", the balance was pretty well perfect as there was no competition between the two. I am not a fan of plain tomato sauce normally, but this one really appeals to me. Over the course of several days we tried it with a variety of dishes and agreed that it did offer that sophisticated extra that would appeal to many older folk.

We tried it both as an accompaniment to a meal and as an ingredient in other dishes. We served it with a roast chicken loaf, mushrooms and roast root vegetables; as an accompaniment for goujons; combined with reduced cream as a dip for crackers and crudites; and mixed with mayonnaise to make a thousand island dressing to have with fish. All of these combinations were successful, and both of us enjoyed the new take on familiar flavours.

Venturing further into the realm of added ingredients, we added a couple of tablespoons to a vegetarian stir fry and to lasagne. Although the sauce itself could not be tasted in these dishes, we did think the overall flavour was much rounder - we tasted a little of each before adding the sauce then again after it had been mixed through, and there was a definite improvement in the taste. Although it seems a bit wasteful to use it in this way!

Our one reservation was that we liked the sauce so much that we were tempted to use it on everything - although we avoided foods like chips and sausages as we thought it would be wasted on them. We will probably reserve it for adult meals, and keep a second bottle of Barker's regular sauce for when the children come over - a pity to use the Homestyle version up on them!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.5
Product reviews for listing 2245: McDonalds - Grand Angus -  Produced by McDonalds

Product image for McDonalds - Grand AngusThe irresistible new prime Angus beef burgers are made from 100% New Zealand beef, sourced from regions such as Taranaki and Hawkes Bay.

Known around the world for it's quality and taste, Angus beef has a finely marbled texture that's rich with mouth-watering flavour, and independently verified by AngusPure ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Politics is not a bad profession. If you succeed there are many rewards, if you disgrace yourself you can always write a book."
Ronald Reagan (1911 - 2004)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream