Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Tuesday 7th July 2020 - 19:12:32

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Breads > Tio Pablo Fiesta Tortillas - variety 12-pack review

« Ford V Ferrari reviewFord V FerrariTio Pablo Salsa Sabrosa Taco Sauce reviewTio Pablo Salsa Sabrosa Taco Sauce »

Score: 8.5/10  [8 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 8601 - Tio Pablo Fiesta Tortillas - variety 12-pack
Brand / Source : Tio Pable

Tio Pablo Fiesta Tortillas - variety 12-pack
Price:
$7.50 / 12-pack
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Tio Pablo

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via online store and selected retail outlets

Tio Pablo Fiesta Tortillas - variety 12-pack product reviews

Brighten up your next taco Tuesday with our mixed 12-pack of corn tortillas! Four varieties - blue corn, yellow corn, white corn, green jalapeno & chipotle - all in one pack!

Corn tortillas are a staple in authentic, Mexican cuisine. Used in a variety of dishes, such as tacos, enchiladas and even in soup, Tio Pablo tortillas are naturally gluten and dairy free. Tio Pablo bakes 5-6 days a week, using non GM masa harina flour. 15.5 cm (6 1/4 inch) diameter.

Check out Tio Pablo onlineClick here to see all the listings for Tio Pablo Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook Check them out on YouTube They do not have a Pinterest board Check them out on Instagram



Tags:
chipotle   corn   dairy free   enchilada   gluten free   jalapeno   mexican   non gmo   taco   tio pablo   tortilla
Other listings you may be interested in:
Tio Pablo Salsa VaqueraTio Pablo Salsa Vaquera
Rating: 8.5
Tio Pablo Totopitos - FiestaTio Pablo Totopitos - Fiesta
Rating: 8.4
Tio Pablo Salsa Sabrosa Taco SauceTio Pablo Salsa Sabrosa Taco Sauce
Rating: 8.0
Kidscare Rice WheelsKidscare Rice Wheels
Rating: 8.9
Heinz Baby Food Biscottini OriginalHeinz Baby Food Biscottini Original
Rating: 10.0
Oxford Butter Chicken pieOxford Butter Chicken pie
Rating: 9.2
Barrys Bay MaasdamBarrys Bay Maasdam
Rating: 8.8
Raglan Coconut Yoghurt - Blackcurrant and Heilala VanillaRaglan Coconut Yoghurt - Blackcurrant and Heilala Vanilla
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - ChilliFarrah's Mexican Tortillas - Chilli
Rating: 9.4
Marcel's Fancy BlinisMarcel's Fancy Blinis
Rating: 9.9
ViBERi New Zealand Organic Blackcurrant PowderViBERi New Zealand Organic Blackcurrant Powder
Rating: 9.5
L'Authentique French CheeriosL'Authentique French Cheerios
Rating: 9.0
Down to Earth Organic Chutney - GarlicDown to Earth Organic Chutney - Garlic
Rating: 9.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 29th of June, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

Feeling bored with pasta, too late in the day to start a soup and I just didn't feel like potatoes, so I grabbed my review pack of these and set to it. My first impression was the size of the tortillas, they felt too small to make our tummies content. My eleven year old was tasked with helping me cook dinner and was immediately impressed with the blue corn tortilla. I like that all the flavours were listed on the packet but I did find it a little hard to differentiate between the white and yellow corns. I was also concerned about the jalapeƱo and chipotle varieties as whilst my mum and I could handle them, they would very likely put my kids off their meals.

I heated these in the oven, as per the instructions on the packet, it is also worth noting that it tells you how to heat it in the microwave should you wish. I cooked up some onion, mushroom, grated carrots and finely chopped cabbage with some oil and salt. I also cooked some nutmeat (a vegetarian protein) in some pureed tomatoes. Once everything was ready, I put some of the veges , the protein and some cheese on each and then attempted to not give the kids the potentially spicy ones. Out of the five of us who ate these, none of us were entranced by the texture of the tortillas, all the kids asking to never get it again. I liked how thick they were but there wasn't a single one that didn't rip and break, so forks ended up being a must. I ended up liking the chipotle most, but didn't get any hit of spice and none of the kids complained about any spicy tortillas either.

Overall, this wasn't a hit with our family, four of us were still able to finish them, no problem but none of us liked it enough to want to buy these in the future.

Click here to read the profile of fliss1

Review by: fliss1 (Felicity)
Dated: 17th of June, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

The packaging on this variety pack was very informative and I liked the clear instructions on how to use the product (not that I didn't know how to use them but it was nice to see). I love pretty much any mexican food and I find it very versatile and these were high quality to base a dish around.

I loved the variety in the pack, blue corn, yellow corn, white corn, green jalapeno & chipotle - all in one pack and mostly different colours so you can tell them apart. It was good that the pack was resealable as we didn't use them all at once (there was a lot in the pack!). I cut up the last couple into triangles (they were quite small but really great taste and we heated them up again with some dips.. In future I would definitely get them for visitors as they were pretty visually appealing and the taste was great

I heated them in the microwave as they were quite thick and dense. I loved the range of slightly different tastes. My favourite was the white corn (I thiink) but the jalapeno and chipotle was pretty good too. I loved them with chicken and salad. The flavours were not as clear as the visual difference - I thought the blue looked really cook. I then found this was another great product to use in the sandwich press to heat the totillas. These were pretty good value and much healthier than the ones I usually buy.

I have recently tried the taco sauce from this brand and I am very impressed by the quality of their products and I am keen to try more of them soon. I loved the quality and authentic tastes.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 16th of June, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I first discovered Tio Pablo's range through KIWIreviews in 2019 at that stage I hadn't seen the products in the supermarket and I was immediately enticed by them as a mexican food lover and by how much more authentic they seemed compared to other store bought mexican foods like tortillas. The tortilla chips were just like these tortillas in the range of beautiful colours and flavours so seeing this tortilla version pop on the KIWIreviews site I was really keen to try.

You get 12 tortillas in a resealable package, made up of two each of the four different flavours. The blue corn are obviously identifiable by their almost black appearance which adds a really interesting touch to meals, but the others are easy to identify too I am especially fond of the chipotle variety which carries just a hint of sweet spice in the tortilla. Compared to the brands of tortillas I have tried in the past these are quite thick and robust and I found you definitely need to warm them before using to loosen them up a little, they come out beautifully just fried quickly in a pan, but you can just as easily heat them in the microwave or wrap in tinfoil and warm in the oven.

We decided to first try these by making Taco's with some crispy chicken as we were also very keen to try the Tio Pablo Taco sauce alongside the tortillas. After heating the tortilla's we added some mesculun leaves a drizzle of the taco sauce and the crispy chicken and folded the tortilla over. Even though the tortillas are a relatively small size they are very filling having that extra thickness so I found I didn't need a lot though I could easily of gone back for me as they were delicious. Having a family of five the 12 pack was a really good size and left us with tortillas for another day the toughest part was deciding who got which flavour.

The tortillas stayed fresh really well in the resealable package until the next time we were ready to use them, a few days later at which point we had some leftover mince we decided to mix with some refried bean mix and cheese to make quesidillas. I filled the tortillas with the mixture placing another tortilla on top and then heated under the sandwich press until the cheese had melted. I found I needed to add a little bit of moisture to the tortilla to stop it going to crispy in the toaster but other than that it worked really well even when cooked.

We at this stage only had two tortillas left so I decided I wanted to reproduce those amazing Tio Pablo Tortilla Chips myself while my own version were not quite as good as the authentic version they are well worth a try. I cut the tortillas up into small portions brushed them with a little bit of olive oil and then baked until golden and crispy. With the tortillas already having the flavours in them I didn't even need to add any seasoning but my kids did like dipping them in hummus to add some extra flavour.

For a packet of 12 $7.50 is probably a little more than I am used to paying but the quality of these is really reflected in that price and I love that they are gluten and dairy free, I often find it confusing working out which tortillas are gluten free as some brands do a flour tortilla rather than a corn so being clearly labelled as gluten free is such a bonus.

Click here to read the profile of nikkib90

Review by: nikkib90 (Nikki)
Dated: 12th of May, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 8 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

We love to support NZ made products and to find Tio Pablo tortillas are made here in NZ with NZ products was fantastic. There are 12 to a packet which for the cost at $7.50 is very reasonable. The packet comes with a variety of flavours and they are various colours. It was a little tricky to determine the difference between the yellow corn and white corn tortillas but the blue corn and green jalapeno & chipotle flavours were easily identifiable. The tortillas come in a resealable bag to keep them fresh which is an added bonus if you aren't going to use them all at one time.

We had a dinner of Mexican options that included chicken enchiladas and fish burritos. I found the tortillas were easy to fold and held up to being baked in the oven with their texture staying firm and not going soft or smooshy. I heated the tortillas used for burritos in the frying pan with a dash of water, flipping after 30 seconds. They came out perfect to fill and fold with the ingredients for a delicious fish burrito with all the trimmings of sour cream, cheese, lettuce and Salsa Brava Chimichurri sauce.

There wasn't a huge taste difference between the tortillas but the idea of various flavours was appealing. We liked the size of the tortillas as it was easy for the children to hold in their hands, they held enough ingredients and if you were still hungry it was easy to make a second one without having a huge serving of dinner. All in all we enjoyed the Tio Pablo tortillas and will look to purchase them in the future for family dinners and lunchbox options.

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 17th of April, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Tortillas happen to be one of my favourite foods because of how they are just so versatile and convenient, you could have anything on them. When I saw the Tio Pablo fiesta tortillas I just had to try them out. They come in different colours and flavours. Another reason I got them is that it states that they are dairy and gluten-free which is very convenient since my wife is a vegan with gluten intolerance so she can also enjoy these tortillas as well.

They have four different colours to them according to their corresponding flavours as I took them out of the bag and prepared dinner I realized they have a very strong corn smell. Upon sitting down and tasting the tortillas themselves there was no difference in flavour or texture, there was no real way to distinguish them apart except for their colouring which was a little disappointing since I was really looking forward to the chipotle one the most and it just tasted like a normal corn tortilla. My wife tried some and had the same opinion that they all taste the same other than that I enjoyed the strange colours they possessed and I especially liked the pretty bluish colour of the blue corn tortilla.

For the amount you get the price seems fair and even though there was no taste difference the flavour they did have was still very nice and I would still recommend trying the tortillas overall. The only problem I had was with there being no differentiating flavour. The rest of the aspects of this product were good and I enjoyed these tortillas as they were very tasty.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 16th of April, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When you have four hungry mouths to feed and going to the supermarket is not an option these are an absolute godsend. They are so versatile and can be used in a number of ways and they taste fantastic. Looking at the packet you are met with a range of colours and upon investigation I found out there are couple of flavours included in the packet which excited the girls - the only issue was (besides the blue/black looking one) you could not readily tell the flavours apart. They all had a very 'corn' smell to them.

We decided that they must of been packed the same way as the label dictated and as they are all very similar in taste, besides the Jalapeno and Chilpotle one which has a bit of spicy kick to it. You definitely could pick up on the corn in each bite which was really nice and unexpected. The packet did say twelve but we unfortunately only received eleven, and as we were making cheese mixtures it caused a bit of an issue on the last one. We were surprised by the thickness in each Tortilla, they were definitely thicker than the brand we usually get. But the size was a tad smaller than we are used to as well.

We had run out of bread and we did not want to go to the groceries until the following day as the fruit shop was closed. So we decided to make toasties with the Tortillas. Grating some cheese and slicing some onions we put tomato paste on the blue and the Jalapeno and Chilpotle flavours and on the rest used the Tio Pablo Taco Sauce and toasted them until the cheese had melted. Then cut them into quarters.

They were a hit, although we had used to much Taco Sauce on a few so had to have sour cream with them and they were fantastic. The discussion then turned to all the different flavours we could try in the future and even the discussion of a very thin style pizza with seafood on top was discussed. Even cooking under the element and then cutting up into snack sizes and have mini nachos sounded great.

As stated before we were a little disappointed when came to the last one and it had no partner so instead made it into a burrito and used as a pinwheel. But it still worked and I was impressed that it did not rip in anyway and stayed true to form. I am a little turned off by the price mainly because of the size of them and really 12 does not go far with our family and I would need to buy a couple of packets - but on this occasion it did work.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 13th of April, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Despite part of my ethnic heritage coming from Central America, I've never properly gotten into Mexican food. I've never disliked it, but I could probably count the number of times I've had tacos, enchiladas, or quesadillas on a single hand. Wraps I have done, but creating a meal that still needs to be constructed afterwards has always seemed strange to me.

Nevertheless, I'm always curious to try new things, and this mixed pack of flour tortillas seemed like a great place to start, as it has multiple types of tortillas that I can try out in the same meal. That alone is a great selling factor for those that are a bit hesitant to spend money on something they are unsure of. Mixed packs give you the highest chance of finding one or more flavours you'll like. With four different types; blue, yellow, white, and jalapeno and chipotle, it's a visually exciting element as well.

The thickness is quite reasonable (maybe twice the thickness of a Farrah's wrap) which makes it quite sturdy. As it comes out of the packet it does feel quite stiff, but after a quick warm-up in the pan, the tortilla is very pliable and did not tear at all. The texture of the tortillas feels quite absorbent and it holds sauce well. As far as the differences between the varieties, the blue corn tortillas are a bit denser than the others, and the jalapeno & chipotle is by far the most flavourful of the pack. Otherwise, they do not really carry a strong flavour, so you do not need to worry about conflicting flavours in meals.

I used the product in two separate ways. I used half of them the usual way, with some mince, sour cream and beans, which was delicious. For the second batch, I started running out of ingredients in the house and ended up baking them after soaking them in a garlic butter I made. It works surprisingly well if you bake them for long enough to get a proper crunch out of them.

I'm not usually one that goes for foods that end up with wastage and a lot of washing up, but the flour tacos were an absolute treat. While it won't be a regular meal for me, I'll definitely be having it again sometime soon, and I'll be looking for the jalapeno or chipotle varieties (or "chilpotle" as it is advertised on their website).

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 1st of April, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was interested to see the variety of colours contained within the packet. Even before opening them I thought they would be perfect for a special occasion because the tacos would look so amazing as part of a display. The information on the pack confirmed that, once opened, the contents would keep if stored in the resealed bag. That was good to know because even though the pair of us enjoy wraps of all kinds, I don't think we would manage six each in one sitting. I thought we would manage three each, so we decided we would have them for dinner two days running - ensuring that both of us would try all four flavours.

In principle, this was a good idea, but on opening the packet we found that there were only eleven tacos instead of the twelve advertised! This was not so vital for the two of us but it would have been disappointing for a larger group trying to ensure that everyone got the same amount. (Very important when you have children as they are scrupulously fair about allocating exactly the same sized helping to everyone.)

Despite that hiccup, we found the tacos very easy to prepare. They are reasonably solid so they hold their shape well when heated according to the instructions. The first time round we served them with chilpotle chicken kebabs, corn, an assortment of salads, and a good dollop of refried beans. The corn, chicken and beans were all hot so once the ingredients had been assembled and folded inside the tortillas, we had a very presentable and very tasty taco. The second night we combined them with the contents of a Sealord Smokey Harissa Tuna pack, chopped avocado, cream cheese, walnuts, a good dash of Tio Pablo Salsa Sobrosa Taco Sauce, and some sliced red onion. This time around we served the meal cold. By the time we came to eat, the tortillas had gone cold again (because none of the other ingredients were hot) but it did not seem to matter.

Both meals were really delicious. We found the tortillas themselves did not have much flavour - the blue corn variety was slightly stronger with a suggestion of smokiness, but we found it hard to tell the other three apart. In a way this is a strength however because it means they can be used with a greater variety of fillings, and they then take on the flavour of whatever has been added - for our first meal, the chilpotle marinade, and for the second, the harissa and taco sauce. At the same time, the tortillas are pleasantly chewy, adding a satisfying bite to the whole experience. I cannot fault the ingredients: they are certainly healthy when compared to wheat products and have the added advantage of being gluten free.

The size was interesting. We had differing opinions on this. I liked the smaller size because it meant I could have more than one. When I eat larger wraps, one is enough! But my partner would have preferred a larger size as a lot of the filling fell out! I did not mind that - I just cleaned up afterwards with a fork - but I can see the advantage of having a larger one for including in a lunchbox because you can tuck the ends under. I guess the important things are taste and texture - you will never please everyone.

So did we like them? Oh yes! Two VERY nice meals, and something I will buy again because they are so versatile. The next packet I buy might be used with a roast vegetable and sweet pickle filling. I also imagine the tortillas would be a winner with chopped chicken and a sweet chilli sauce, and again with a favourite from my student days: cold roast beef combined with fresh capsicum and garlic salt. Being able to use part of a packet and leave the rest in a cupboard is a plus - although if we were eating with other family members there would almost certainly be none left over to worry about!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.7
Product reviews for listing 8224: Barker's Herb & Caper Vinaigrette -  Produced by Barker's of Geraldine

Product image for Barker's Herb & Caper VinaigretteA delicious dressing for garden greens, new potatoes and baked salmon.

    •  Gluten free
    •  Vegan-friendly
    •  Made in New Zealand
    •  Shake before use. Refrigerate after opening.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"The difference between 'involvement' and 'commitment' is like an bacon-and-eggs breakfast: the chicken was 'involved' but the pig was 'committed'"
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream