Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Friday 29th May 2020 - 06:41:19

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Snack Foods > Proper Crisps Tortilla Chips - Cheeza-peno review

« Proper Crisps Tortilla Chips - Salted reviewProper Crisps Tortilla Chips - SaltedThe Paris Of The East reviewThe Paris Of The East »

Score: 9.2/10  [6 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 8584 - Proper Crisps Tortilla Chips - Cheeza-peno
Brand / Manufactured by: Proper Crisps

Proper Crisps Tortilla Chips - Cheeza-peno
Price:
$4.69
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Proper Crisps

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at supermarkets nationwide

Proper Crisps Tortilla Chips - Cheeza-peno product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsHola Amigos, Proper Crisps is proud to present our New Proper Tortilla Chips! Its Proper Tortilla Chips are crafted in the same, traditional way they've been made in Mexico for generations.

Made with White GMO-Free Corn Kernels and Ground using Volcanic Stones.

Made using a non-dairy cheese alternative.

Available in Home Compostable bags. Buen Apetitio!

Check out Proper Crisps onlineClick here to see all the listings for Proper Crisps Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
compostable   corn chips   dairy free   gmo free   jalapeno   nzmade   proper crisps   stone ground   tortilla   white corn
Other listings you may be interested in:
Proper Crisps - Smoked PaprikaProper Crisps - Smoked Paprika
Rating: 8.6
Proper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea SaltProper Crisps - Cider Vinegar and Sea Salt
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crisps - Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 9.0
Proper Crisps - Rosemary and ThymeProper Crisps - Rosemary and Thyme
Rating: 8.2
Proper Crisps - Kumara CrispsProper Crisps - Kumara Crisps
Rating: 9.2
Proper Crisps - Parsnip CrispsProper Crisps - Parsnip Crisps
Rating: 9.2
Proper Crisps - Chipotle & Garlic Kumara CrispsProper Crisps - Chipotle & Garlic Kumara Crisps
Rating: 9.0
Proper Crunch Corn Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crunch Corn Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 8.4
Proper Crunch Corn Cider Vinegar & Sea SaltProper Crunch Corn Cider Vinegar & Sea Salt
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Onion with Green ChivesProper Crisps - Onion with Green Chives
Rating: 8.6
Proper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea SaltProper Crisps - Organic Potatoes with Marlborough Sea Salt
Rating: 9.3
Proper Crisps - Purple & Gold Potatoes with Cracked Pepper & Sea SaltProper Crisps - Purple & Gold Potatoes with Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt
Rating: 9.6
Proper Crisps - Kumara Pepper with OnionProper Crisps - Kumara Pepper with Onion
Rating: 8.9
Proper Crisps - Cracked Pepper & Sea SaltProper Crisps - Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt
Rating: 8.6
Proper Crisps Tortilla Chips - SaltedProper Crisps Tortilla Chips - Salted
Rating: 8.6
The Edge CrustThe Edge Crust
Rating: 8.8
Sauce for Fruit - Maple & WalnutSauce for Fruit - Maple & Walnut
Rating: 8.5
Chicken CarbonaraChicken Carbonara
Rating: 8.4
Pickapeppa Gingery Mango SaucePickapeppa Gingery Mango Sauce
Rating: 9.3
NZ Blueberries with CranberriesNZ Blueberries with Cranberries
Rating: 9.7
Cadbury Dairy Milk Freddo - Peppermint LilypadCadbury Dairy Milk Freddo - Peppermint Lilypad
Rating: 9.0
gftreets - Delicious Mini Hotdogsgftreets - Delicious Mini Hotdogs
Rating: 9.4
Top Notch Macadamias - Sweet 'n' SaltyTop Notch Macadamias - Sweet 'n' Salty
Rating: 9.3
Innestyle Sauce - Double GarlicInnestyle Sauce - Double Garlic
Rating: 9.0
Farrah's Enchilada Meal KitFarrah's Enchilada Meal Kit
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Burrito Meal KitFarrah's Burrito Meal Kit
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 8th of April, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

It has become apparent that I cannot start a review on a Proper Crisps product without mentioning how much I enjoy the integrity of the brand. Whether it be the minimal flavouring that they use (compared to the over-dusted flavours of Doritos), the impressive strength and crunch of the crisps, or the consistency with which they promote good ideals (biodegradable bags, gluten-free, vegan-friendly, GMO-free, etc), Proper Crisps has never let the brand go stale and is constantly introducing new items to the range, or improvements to the packaging etc. These Cheezapeno tortilla chips are almost a perfect product; there is only really one element that has a negative quality to it.

The first thing that you notice when you open the pack is that gorgeous aroma. It has that rich cheesy scent that you get with Doritos, but a quick scan of the packet shows that Proper Crisps manages to reach this level of aroma with the bare minimum of "flavour dust". This minimal seasoning works really well because it leads to variations in the amount of flavouring per piece. The chips aren't all fully loaded, so some have more flavour, some have less, and it allows each mouthful to have a different landscape of flavour. The variation keeps the flavour fresh and makes the product very moreish, as it doesn't overload the taste buds.

The chips themselves are also different sizes, and with that inconsistent size, comes variations to how well cooked they are. Some being cooked more than others, they are browner in colour and have greater crunch and an earthier tone to their flavour. It all comes together to make for a highly enjoyable bite. The cheese flavour hits the taste buds first, but the jalapeno rounds out the flavour into the aftertaste. Great savoury flavour.

The one aspect that I don't enjoy is the overall texture. These aren't the traditional corn chips; these are tortilla chips. Your flat round tortillas, baked and cut into pieces. Combine this style with the very fine ground of the white corn and you end up with quite a solid chip. While the browner chips have a good crunch to them, the majority of them feel like the outer layer is quite solid, and gives the product the texture of a stale corn chip. As if the pack was left open and you have to bite through to the interior that hasn't been exposed to the air to get a crunch. Granted it isn't a significant amount of non-crunchiness, but it is quite noticeable. The solid nature will mean it will work well with salsa and dips. Less likely to break, but the balance between strength and crunch is not quite there for my taste.

Apart from that textural issue, the flavour is great, and I managed to eat the entire pack on its own. I didn't make a meal, nor use a dip. They were tasty enough to consume a whole pack on my own. So take from that what you will.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 29th of March, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I opened up this bag, expecting to try a chip that was a bit cheesy and rather spicy, and struggling to find something to use it in, but that didn't end up being the case at all. I grabbed out a tentatively small handful and started to nibble away. I did find it took a little getting used to how tough they were to chew but that didn't take too long happily. I grabbed a tzatziki dip out of the fridge and dunked a chip in and it was a fabulous combination. I then grabbed a garlic aioli dip to try this with and before I knew it the packet was empty, to my huge dissapointment. Luckily my local store sold these, so I grabbed a few more packets.

When I grabbed my second bag, that's when I discovered that this was a vegan product and I was very pleased that it tasted so good and I can grab a packet when my vegan family come to visit. My ten year old and a friend both helped themselves to these chips, thoroughly enjoying them, as did another friend of mine. All three of them were shocked to discover that there wasn't any cheese in this at all and all were keen to have more again. I didn't end up doing anything other than eating these with a variety of dips, I found it worked best with the aioli and tzatziki over any red based dip. This is a definite snack that I will be getting again and again.

Click here to read the profile of michelleh

Review by: michelleh (Michelle)
Dated: 22nd of March, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

We get through far too many tortilla crisps in our household and my husband fancies himself as a connoisseur of them so you can imagine the delight when the family saw these. We are also huge fans of Proper Crisps so were excited to see if they could offer anything new to the tortilla market.

The packet is very eye-catching and has a clear window on the front. They also have the advantage of being made with natural ingredients, having a 4-star health rating and a home compostable bag.

Upon opening, I couldn't really detect a flavour as such, just the smell of corn. The crisps were a decent size and were quite thin and crispy with a few air bubbles in some. The crisps didn't look like they were coated with flavouring as opposed to other crisps (Doritos for example). We all dug in and I found them very crunchy and hard which would make them ideal for nachos. Everyone went back for more and hubby proclaimed that these were his new favourite tortilla crisps. I must admit I was a little disappointed with the flavouring as I thought they would be spicier and hotter but were very mild. The crisps didn't last more than one sitting which suggests this wasn't a problem for anyone else. I bought another packet for nachos and they were great. Having the mince on top softened them slightly but they didn't break which other crisps commonly do. These are definitely our new preferred nacho tortilla.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 19th of March, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

In our household we love food with lots of flavour, nachos are a particular hit at dinner time, especially with the children. We are constantly trying different brands and flavours of tortilla chips to see which we prefer. When I saw that Proper Crisps had released some tortilla chips I knew I needed to try them. The first flavour I saw was the Cheeza-Peno flavour, I thought that with the jalapenos they could be spicy, and that would be right up my alley.

I grabbed the packet and was instantly impressed by the packet, bright colours and bold text, with a window so you could see the product inside. This packet would certainly stand out among the rest on the grocery shelf. The next thing that caught my eye was that the bag is compostable, incredible! The 4 star health rating is impressive, these are Gluten Free and vegan friendly. The reverse of the bag gives a run down on how the tortilla chips are made.
In the past I have enjoyed the products I have tried from the Proper Crisps range, so I had high hopes for this product.

When I opened the packet I was greeted by a strong corn smell which made my nose wrinkle. I picked up a chip and they were a decent size. The chip is fairly rigid so didn't crumble after the first bite, therefore perfect for using for nachos. There were some air bubbles on the chips, and upon biting there is a definite crunch with a pleasant texture.
I must admit that after eating several of the chips, I was a tad disappointed, personally I found the taste of jalapenos was understated, I was waiting for the KAPOW of flavour. However these are still delicious and did manage to stay together with a pile of mince on top.

Overall I liked these tortilla chips, and liked that they used a dairy alternative cheese, this means my dairy intolerant friend will be able to enjoy too. If these were on special I would purchase, but unsure if I would go hunting for them. Look forward to trying some more in the range.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 10th of March, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

It is all too easy to think nachos when deciding on ways to use tortilla chips, so we decided to be a little more innovative this time round. We were with family on the East Coast, where seasonal fish is fresh and plentiful, so an assortment of various dishes was already planned for dinner. There was home baked rewena bread available, but we had already had some of that earlier in the day so opted to forget about more bread and instead serve the tortilla chips with the meal.

The various taste combinations were intriguing. The "cheese" flavour in these chips comes over quite strongly, usually blending quite well with the different fish flavours, but there was one interesting exception. We quickly learned that cheese chips do not work with whitebait - the flavours vie with each other and the result is an extreme clash of opposites. We thought that plain tortilla chips would be fine with whitebait, however, as they don't have the same intensity.

The rest of the dishes were fine - all different, which meant dinner was a fun experience of mixing and matching. The chips really came into their own with raw fish; their crunch was a perfect foil to the softer fish pieces. We had smoked mussels and fresh mussels served in the shell; both were a good combination with the chips although the textures were quite different. The fresh mussels in particular needed lots of chewing. At the end of the meal we combined the leftover juices from the raw fish and smoked mussels, and this mixture of coconut and garlic did not go to waste: we dipped the leftover chips in it!

I had taken my usual precaution of keeping a few chips back so I could test them with a couple of other dishes. (Despite this, there were plenty for four of us to share at the fish dinner - because they are thick cut, they are quite filling.) The first test was just two of us, sharing a can of tomato soup as a snack. The soup was very basic so we stirred in some chopped basil and grated cheese, then took a few chips apiece. All kinds of off the shelf chips and crisps go well with tomato soup, but these are the best because you can break them into pieces and drop them into the soup like ersatz croutons and they maintain their crispness! A humble soup transformed into a delicious treat.

Finally, we gave in and tried the last few with a couple of home-made dips - onion dip, made the good old-fashioned kiwi way with onion soup and reduced cream, and avocado dip made with mashed avocado, lemon juice, and pine nuts. Both were predictably up to standard. I will certainly be buying these chips again, and I think some of the other family members will be joining me in the queue at the checkout. And a special thanks to Flynn for preparing such a versatile product!

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 8th of March, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Nothing is easier than Nachos. It takes no time to prepare and can be as fancy or as bland as you like. With these Tortilla Chips I knew would be a perfect combination. I absolutely adore the packet it is nice and vibrant and screams out quality. The added bonus is the bag is compostable and they are gluten free, vegan friendly and there is no added MSG and of course they are made in the South Island of Nelson. I also like that the procedure of how they were made from traditional Mexican ways is broken down - it is nice to be able to read while cooking sometimes.

Frying some chopped onions and garlic, adding the mince with some grated cheese and Mexican beans and corn with salsa and a can of garlic tomatoes and presto the meal practically cooks itself. As there were the four of us to feed I was concerned about not having enough Tortilla Chips for everyone so I gave the girls a different variety and my husband and myself shared the bag of these. Topping the mince mixture on top of the chips and adding some cheese and sour cream and the meal looked and smelt divine.

The Tortilla Chips were of a good size and could hold a lot of mixture on them. I found they did not go soggy at all with the mixture and they held their true form at all times. It definitely had a crunch to them and I actually found it was rather a work out on the jaw while eating as they were rather hard - which is a blessing and a curse at the same time. The Tortilla chip itself has so much flavour and for some, it would be a great snack on its own. I myself found it rather a hard bite which is unfortunate. My husband adored them and when both girls tried they said they like the taste of them. On hind site there probably could of been enough Tortilla chips for everyone, and the two packets were not required.

Where as I found the chip itself pleasant, I just can not get past the bite aspect of it. Also looking at the price it is rather expensive compared to other 'chips' on the market. Still a nice change to what we usually have, but I think I will stick to my normal variety in the future.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.4
Product reviews for listing 5254: Meyer Italian Herb Gouda -  Brand - Meyer Cheese

Product image for Meyer Italian Herb GoudaThe newest cheese in our range, Italian herb has great flavour, texture and looks great. An Excellent choice for dinner parties and cheese boards but its hard to beat on a Grilled cheese sandwich.

We call it our pizza cheese as the herb blend used is much the same as you would use on a traditional pizza and it also tastes that way too.

They are available in 10 and 5 kg wheels, 1kg blocks and also 150gram retail unit.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"No man deserves punishment for his thoughts. It is the actions that should be punished."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream