Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Sunday 9th August 2020 - 06:27:51

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Biscuits and Crackers > Down to Earth Organic Papadum - Green Gram (Moong) Plain review

« Down to Earth Organic Papadum - Chickpea (Chana) Masala reviewDown to Earth Organic Papadum - Chickpea (Chana) MasalaDown to Earth Organic Papadum - Green Gram (Moong) Masala reviewDown to Earth Organic Papadum - Green Gram (Moong) Masala »

Score: 9.2/10  [6 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 8377 - Down to Earth Organic Papadum - Green Gram (Moong) Plain -  Brand: Down to Earth

Down to Earth Organic Papadum - Green Gram (Moong) Plain
Price:
$4.29 / 200g pack
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Down to Earth

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via online store and selected retail outlets

Down to Earth Organic Papadum - Green Gram (Moong) Plain product reviews

At Down To Earth, we have researched the age-old recipes to make papads that can remind you of the perfect homemade taste and provide the zing to this appetizer cum mouth freshener.

Papad mung dal plain is a thin Indian wafer described as a cracker or flat bread, circular in shape. It is served as an accompaniment with an Indian meal or eaten as an appetizer or a snack and can be eaten with toppings. Our organic Papad Moong Plain is made by using high-quality moong (green gram dal). Aroma and flavour of these mung dal Papad are pleasing and make them ideal for serving in festive parties.

Use of cumin seeds enhances its taste. Papad with low-fat content, delectable taste and nutritional ingredients would be a boon to a population looking for low-calorie food with retention of organoleptic profile.

Check out Down to Earth onlineClick here to see all the listings for Down to Earth Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board Check them out on Instagram



Tags:
asafoetida   caraway   corn free   cumin   dairy free   egg free   gmo free   gram flour   nut free   oil   organic   pepper   salt   soy free
Other listings you may be interested in:
Down to Earth Organic Papadum - Chickpea (Chana) MasalaDown to Earth Organic Papadum - Chickpea (Chana) Masala
Rating: 8.0
Down to Earth Organic Papadum - Green Gram (Moong) MasalaDown to Earth Organic Papadum - Green Gram (Moong) Masala
Rating: 8.8
BurgerFuelBurgerFuel
Rating: 8.3
Meat Pie PizzaMeat Pie Pizza
Rating: 8.6
The Crown CreperieThe Crown Creperie
Rating: 9.6
Complan 500gComplan 500g
Rating: 8.8
Roasted Pumpkin and Chicken RisottoRoasted Pumpkin and Chicken Risotto
Rating: 10.0
Stir Fry Creations - Honey, Soy & Garlic ChickenStir Fry Creations - Honey, Soy & Garlic Chicken
Rating: 9.1
Farrah's Wraps - WholemealFarrah's Wraps - Wholemeal
Rating: 9.4
Ready To Serve Prepacked Meal Tomato & Basil Tortellini Ready To Serve Prepacked Meal Tomato & Basil Tortellini 
Rating: 10.0
GEM French-style Chicken Coq au VinGEM French-style Chicken Coq au Vin
Rating: 9.0
Avocado SpreadAvocado Spread
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - TacoFarrah's Mexican Tortillas - Taco
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of fliss1

Review by: fliss1 (Felicity)
Dated: 17th of June, 2020

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am a big fan of papadum - well really the indian restaurant poppadums I am used to but these were a whole new level of amazing! Sadly I still struggle with the spelling like hummous Smile Icon

I have tried a few down to earth products and they are high quality across the board. I like the simple packaging and they were a bit smaller than I expected but they tasted so great it was fine and you get a lot in the packet.

So the instructions say there are several ways to prepare these and I tried the shallow fry (bit greasy for me) an then microwave (not crunchy enough). The real find for the perfect way to prepare these for me (and we ate them all this way once we tried it!). I tried putting them in the panini maker in grill mode. Truly amazing! The flavour was perfect for these. They were crunchy and broke up in a good way. They were a great addition and I will be buying them again. I am also keen to try the other flavour they make as well.

I had friends over for dinner (curry) and they actually asked what kind of papadums they were as they were so yummy (we ended up making more!). The grilled version was so easy to make and tasted really nice. The taste was truly unique and I really loved them. I am now super keen to try the other flavour. We loved these and they were a real hit with every one that tried them and you get lots in the pack.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 11th of December, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

There is not a lot I love more at an Indian restaurant or with an Indian meal than to accompany it with papadoms and naan bread. However these papadums are a little different to the usual ones that you have as they are made from green dal and have cumin seeds all mixed in, so I was interested in seeing what difference it may make in terms of taste, cooking and also strength, as you cannot have weak papadums that break!

These little babies can be cooked a few different ways which is outlined with easy guidance on the box. I usually either microwave or shallow fry mine when I make them, so opted to keep it simple and try those two methods first. Microwave took about 20 seconds per side, and shallow frying took even less once the oil is hot. Both have a nice finish and taste - personally, as I do not like waiting, I prefer the microwave version as they do not have to rest and let the oil be absorbed. However, the shallow fry ones did look nicer and have a bit crunchier crunch, if that makes sense!!

As well as using these in a traditional way, I opted to use them as kinda of a chip type idea - breaking them into smaller pieces and popping avocado on top. Absolute delicious snack to have like that too - and the kids enjoyed me putting them into there snack boxes for after school snacks on the way to or from sports. One thing I really loved about that was that they were not crumbly and messy!

In terms of taste I did feel like it could have more, as it was quite plain and neutral - however, that is not necessarily a bad thing - it does mean that they do not detract from the true flavour of the main meal. All in all I found these really nice and can see them sneaking into my shopping regularly.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 12th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

We have our favourite Indian restaurant and I am always guaranteed to order two things, the first is a mango lassi and the second is papadums (including some to take home afterwards, cause I love them so much). The packet gives you directions to make these five different ways, over a flame, grilling, microwave, in a pan or deep fried. I opted for the microwave option for two reasons, the first being that my kids would be able to do it without needing me watching them and secondly being that it means less oil in our diet. Plus, I like nice and easy with minimal mess.

I worked out that I can do twenty seconds, flip, twenty seconds, flip, rest for ten seconds and then heat it for another twenty seconds, giving me a papadum that is cooked through, nice and crispy and not burnt at all. Win! Trying this, I enjoyed the overall taste, I found there was a hint of spice to it but it was just that, a hint, so nothing to put me off trying it. Both my papadum loving children enjoyed it as well, I found that this was pretty close in flavour to the ones I get from my local Indian restaurant, which was a plus for me. They were all in one piece, which adds in its favour. Price wise these work out well, I could get the same quantity, ready to eat, from my local but this packet has the benefit of being at home and thus a saving on petrol. I think I will be buying this again.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 4th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The fact that there are so many ways to prepare these is fantastic - over a flame, grill, microwave, pan or deep fry with times varying from a few seconds up to about 25 seconds makes this a very handy snack to have sitting in the pantry. It is so versitile that you can have on its own, with sauce as a dip or with a meal prepared using it as the base line or as a addition.

Tonight we had satay chicken with rice along with these to add just that little bit more substance. The papadums tasted great broken up and mixed with the satay sauce. They also came in handy while scooping up the rice and the chicken. The taste didn't over power the dish at all and instead worked with the combination perfectly.

We choose to deep fry in oil - placing it in the pan it bubbles right up and curls in the corners. A quick flip with the same results and the whole procedure takes less than 20 seconds total. I find I prefer it stays in that little bit longer and browns right up. It recommends sitting around for about an hour on absorbent paper to help drain the oil but we prefer to drain for about a minute and eat straight away so its still warm. I also threw one in the microwave to see the difference, as there is actually a lot of difference taste wise. Where as we prefer the deep fry method I find microwaving brings out its true taste. It recommends 20 seconds each side but as out wattage is less I do for 30 seconds each way.

I found it rather yuck and a plainish taste but when I added the pineapple and coconut yoghurt it is an extremely yummy dish with no greasy residue at all. This is perfect for an after school/work snack or an alternative to chips and dip while watching a movie and better yet you get to have heaps of yoghurt which is better for you.

I like that there is no spice or heat in these ones so works better with flavourable meals it also works better as a snack as you are not fighting flavours. Its extremely quick to prepare and they are the perfect size and fit on your plate better. Throw in they are organic and its up to you what way to prepare it, it really is the ideal item. I think out of all the 3 flavours this is the one I will stick with.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 4th of October, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

My taste bubs always get so happy when I eat Papadum and when I used to work in the restaurant as a chef it was always a treat I would put one in the deep fryer to snack on. I also love when used as the shell with pulled pork dishes or Mexican or anything really. They go so well with many different flavours so I was excited to get the Down to Earth Organic Papadum - Green Gram (Moong) Plain flavour in the box of goodies to review.

Straight away it brought back the yummy kitchen days and eating them in the restaurant. I knew my family would enjoy them just as much as me and I was so right. They really enjoyed it and wanted more and were amazed to not have tried it before. My partner made the comment that I need to be buying these more often now.

I really liked these for my older son who loves chips like all the time so this mixes it up a bit. I also gave it a go cooking them in the air fryer and they worked fine. I love the quick and easiness of cooking them and the crunch they bring and how they can be used with so many different dinners, dips, snacks or or there own. I will be looking out for these to buy in the next shop. I had never thought about buying them at home and forgot how easy they were to cook up.

Click here to read the profile of savta

Review by: savta (Jo)
Dated: 14th of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

In our family we all love crackers and crisps with a variety of dips, pates and cheeses so when we visit one another we often arrive with the makings of a platter. On reading the information on the Green Gram Plain Papadum packet, I realised that this would be a great alternative to the crackers-and-crisps idea. As a bonus, it would be a healthier option for those of us who are slightly over our optimum weight! And because this variety is plainer than others in the range, it would not mask the flavour of the other foods. Best of all, the price is competitive - in fact, I think it would work out cheaper than what might be paid for an average bag of crisps.

We made up some platters with several kinds of cheese, chunks of focaccia, pork terrine, herb butter, and home-made garlic dip. Lastly, I microwaved the papads and broke them into largish pieces. They broke cleanly without spreading crumbs everywhere, and I scattered them among the other items on each platter. There were 12 people present (including children) so this would provide lots of feedback as they grazed.

Before trying the papads with any other combination, everyone was asked to have a taste of the product on its own. Reactions varied from "pleasantly salty" to "can just taste the spices" to "can I have another one?". Nobody gave a negative response, not even Miss Four who likes her food plain and boring. In fact, she asked if she could have another one to herself as she did not want any of the yukky stuff on the platter!

In effect, I could have done the review with far fewer people as most of them were in agreement anyway. One even put a little apricot jam on his and said it was yummy, but nobody else wanted to try that combination! Brie was a winner - we had left it out of the fridge to soften so it was easy to dip a papad piece into it. I had to top up the brie as it was going faster than the other items. The blue cheese, however, was rather too strong and overwhelmed the delicate flavour of the papads, so we decided that could be used only in very small quantities. The terrine (again in small quantities), garlic dip, and herb butter were all universally popular.

Now that I know how successful this product is when used in this manner, I am going to try some other combinations. I am interested to try it with a topping of cheese and pimientos, or anchovies with a scrape of pate. There are lots of possibilities given the mild flavour of the papads and the strength of the cooked product; it holds its shape well and does not disintegrate when combined with other soft foods. A must on my shopping list for the future.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 7.9
Product reviews for listing 1014: Kumara Croquettes with Sweet Chilli -  Produced by Kauri Coast Kumara

Product image for Kumara Croquettes with Sweet ChilliThe Kauri Coast Kumara Croquette with sweet chilli is made from the Tokatoka gold variety of Kumara. This variety has a smooth texture creating a soft creamy croquette.

The sweetness of the kumara is complimented by the mild flavouring of the Sweet Chilli sauce. The initial flavour of the kumara is followed by the bite of the sweet chilli which lingers on your palate.

Kauri Coast Kumara Croquettes are a perfect alternative for weekend lunches.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Ever notice that 'what the hell' is always the right decision?"
Marilyn Monroe (1926 - 1962)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream