Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on kiwireviews.nz : Wednesday 5th August 2020 - 02:13:12

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Pets > Suppliments > Newflands Hoki Oil review

« Alphasaurs and Other Prehistoric Types reviewAlphasaurs and Other Prehistoric TypesNew World Steak and Cheese family pie reviewNew World Steak and Cheese family pie »

Score: 9.1/10  [5 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 4223 - Newflands Hoki Oil
Brand/Manufacturer: Newflands

Newflands Hoki Oil
Price:
See website for prices
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Newflands

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and selected retail outlets

Newflands Hoki Oil product reviews

Proud to promote NZ products100% New Zealand Hoki, sustainably fished product!

New Zealand takes pride in the fact that it's Hoki stocks are among the best managed stocks in the world.

Available in 200ml and 1L bottles.

Benefits:
    •  Omega 3, 6 and 9
    •  Healthy, glossy coats
    •  Joint support
    •  Cardiac care
    •  Immunity support
    •  Cognitive function
    •  Nitrogen-flushed to prevent oxidation
    •  Filtered to remove many heavy metals and contaminants
    •  Human-safe pharmaceutical grade

Check out Newflands onlineClick here to see all the listings for Newflands Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cats   dogs   hoki   nzmade   oil   omega   pets
Other listings you may be interested in:
AnimatesAnimates
Rating: 8.4
Pet EssentialsPet Essentials
Rating: 8.6
Golden Boy EnduranceGolden Boy Endurance
Rating: 9.3
Wardley Turtle TreatWardley Turtle Treat
Rating: 9.1
Vita Pet Morsomes - Chicken TendersVita Pet Morsomes - Chicken Tenders
Rating: 9.6
Vita Pet Cat and Dog ShampooVita Pet Cat and Dog Shampoo
Rating: 10.0
VitaPet Bird GritVitaPet Bird Grit
Rating: 10.0
My Beau Tasty Oil SupplementMy Beau Tasty Oil Supplement
Rating: 10.0
Chuckit Flying Squirrel FrisbeeChuckit Flying Squirrel Frisbee
Rating: 10.0
Crown Suspension 1.5kg CHICK FeederCrown Suspension 1.5kg CHICK Feeder
Rating: 10.0
Newflands Hoki TreatsNewflands Hoki Treats
Rating: 9.5
Newflands Hoki GravyNewflands Hoki Gravy
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 22nd of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

In my household we have always been fans of fish oil...however we have been fans of fish oil for humans, LOL Icon, So when reading on the KIWIreviews facebook page that they were looking for reviewers to try out Newflands fish oil for animals, well curiosity got the better of me, and I just had to apply. I know how great fish oil has been for my kids and myself, so it was only natural that I wanted to see if it would have the same affects on my dog and cat Smile Icon

So the bottle arrived, its a pump bottle, which is fantastic. All sealed so you have to add the pump to the bottle yourself...So that was my one mistake. I did not pay attention to what I was doing, unwrapped and went to pop the pump in the bottle, the bottle is very very full and so this resulted in my 'wearing' a lot of the fish oil Sad Icon So I can confirm it is quite a slimy liquid, and there is definitely no mistaking the fact that this stuff is fish oil...the smell is extremely strong, and it took a lot of washing to get it out of my clothing and off my skin.

However, this little mishap aside, my dog noticed the smell immediately and straight away was obviously keen to try the stuff out, LOL Icon. So I added a couple of squirts to her bowl, and she ate her food with more zest than ever before. In fact she was so excited about the food, I actually would have sworn if I did not know her, that she had not been fed for a day or two haha. She seemed to enjoy the fish oil in her bowl each and every time it was added. The cat was also very excited with the fish oil added to his bowl. So I can confirm that as far as taste goes, both my dog and cat are very happy with it.

I am also happy to report that the fish oil does wonders for our animals coats. Our dog is a Rottweiler, and her coat is jet black. Sometimes when it gets a bit dry it can look washed out and dusty, which often happens during winter. The fish oil has given her coat its beautiful shiny, jet black look once again. Our cat is pure white, and his coat looks absolutely fantastic - soft, fluffy and shiny.

All in all I believe this is a great product. Our animals look so healthy, their eyes are bright, their noses wet, and their coats fantastic. Granted they have always been kept in good health, so its hard to know how much of their looks is owed to the fish oil, but I am very happy with the product. It seems to last a long time too, which is quite surprising. Definitely two thumbs up from me.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 5th of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Ok I got this thinking it might give my cat something extra and might help his heart problem, even though he is overweight at the moment only cause of the heart problem we need him at 5kgs. Well as much of a fussy cat he as is, anything is worth a go.

To start off with, its a great little bottle and you need to put the pump in yourself, opening up the cap I noticed it was very full and smelt like fish, and I hate the smell of fish so off putting to start with. Well instead of tipping a bit out to put the pump in I just put the pump in, BAD move as it overflowed all over my hands, it was gross, and took a while to wash off my hands and get rid of the smell.

I pumped one pump into my cats biscuits when I was about to give him is 20grams for the day. He ate it up pretty fast, but every day afterwards he wouldn't take to it, refused his biscuits and food so had to stop with him.

I gave it over to my mum and she used it on her dog that has skin problems. She has cleared up nicely and mum will carry on using it for her.

I can't say much else about it as we stopped using it. So for me its not for my cat, but for my mum's dog, perfect.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 4th of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

After trying this on four cats, and finding results to be rather mixed - their coats became a lot shinier and softer, but it was a mission to get them to eat it after 3-4 days and one of the kittens developed a very runny bum until we stopped - I decided to see how it would go with our pet rats.

We have given them Omega-3 capsules in the past and they seem to LOVE chewing open the gel capsules and licking the oil out with huge glee and much squabbling over who gets the next lick... and when I think about what a quality product this is, it makes me afraid as to the quality of the stuff we have been feeding them in the past.

We have 16 pet rats, and I worked out (by pure guesswork) that combined they roughly equalled a cat, so I mixed 1 squirt into each of their 2 daily meals. They seemed to enjoy their food with a little more gusto, but I couldn't be entirely sure, so to see what they thought of it, I tried a blind taste test. I divided each meal in half and put a squirt on only one half. I repeated this for 4 days and watched the rats. It didn't take long to see that the rats would ignore the untreated meal and focus all their attention on the meal WITH the fish oil. Once it was all gone, only then would they start to eat the untreated meals.

After 2 weeks of this, there were significant changes in some of the rats. While all of them had developed a bit of a runny bum, due in large part to a sudden change in diet and the lubricating effects of a high-oil diet, their coats were all a lot smoother, in many cases softer, and in all cases shinier. The rats' behaviour was also markedly different, with more playfulness and energetic activities going on - games of chase, wheel running, playful wrestles, and what I like to call "Rat Parkour" - where the rats seemingly get great pleasure out of running from level to level of their cage setup and sniffing every square inch of it! LOL Icon

The bottle lasted well - 2 squirts a day, give or take, lasted us 26 days in total. Because of the design of the pump, sometimes it was hard to get a full squirt, so an extra 'press' was required to get the full dose and often resulted in a little bit extra from the first attempt. This is no fault at all of the product, it is just the laws of physics demanding gravity be obeyed, causing air bubbles to form in the pump assembly over time.

I did find the oil grew very thick and hard to use when stored in the fridge after opening as instructed, however with the average temperature being so low at the moment, I took the risk and left it in a cool, shaded cupboard between uses. This seemed to cause no issues at all, as the oil retained that "fresh fish" smell and didn't devolve into "stale fish" or "rotten fish" within the month. However, it should be noted that this oil - being fresh, free from unwanted additives and preservatives, is also potent smelling. To mask the strong Hoki scent would require the addition of chemicals and other unwanted extras, so it's something you will have to adapt to if you want to give your pet(s) this excellent product.

Overall, this is certainly something well worth trying... it holds great promise and potential benefits, and it's even safe for humans - should you feel the need for such. I wouldn't advise it personally, but if you find the youngun has snuck into the kitchen and gobbled some out of curiosity, you can relax knowing there is nothing harmful what so ever. (Unless of course they are strongly allergic to fish.) If you have a pet with health issues, this is an affordable option to explore before having to take the furbaby to the vet.

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 3rd of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have 2 dogs and they can be very fussy when it comes to their food, so I was very pleased that they took to eating this fish oil straight away from day one. When I first opened the bottle I was worried because it did smell very fishy! I went to attach the pump lid and saw that the bottle of fish oil was too full and if I had pushed the pump lid all the way down it the oil would have overflowed so for the initial dose I was required to pour it onto the dog food, and since I wasn't aware of how much the pump would pump out I actually poured on more than the recommended daily dose amount.

After the bottle is opened it is recommend that it be stored in the fridge so in it went and when I got it out the following day to apply to their food it was hard to pump out as the oil had thickened while in the fridge....and the pump action was very slow so it took a few seconds for the pump to pump up the thickened oil and this was somewhat frustrating because I couldn't do 2 or 3 quick pumps I had to wait! I know something little but still frustrating.

After a few days of my dogs eating the fish oil their breath started to really smell like fish, and it wasn't a fresh fish smell....it was like they had dug up a rotten fish from the garden and had eaten that so not the most pleasant smell to woke up to in the morning when the dog decides to wake me up to go outside with a stinky fishy lick to the face.

On a positive note however I was impressed they ate the fish oil with such enthusiasm and would actually lick the oil off first before eating the meat in the bowl. I have noticed an increased shine to their coat, more so in my older dog that has shorter hair, and she seems more lively as well, it seems to have given her new energy which I have put down to the joint support maybe as she does seem to suffer from old age and sore related joints so I am totally stoked about this.

I did like the fact that Newflands fish oil has been filtered so all the heavy metals and contaminants have been removed as I am always wary of what fish eat, and how they can pass on what they have eaten and if my dogs are having this fish oil everyday heavy metals can easily build up in their systems and I can rest assured my babies are okay eating this product on a daily basis.

Not totally sure I would buy it again as the fishy breathe is very off putting but the result in a shiny coat and extra vitality due the joint care and support may swing the vote back to buying more, but the price is up there for a small bottle but with only 2 squirts a day it does last a while, but with two dogs in the house using the product I go through it twice as fast! If the product comes on a special offer for less I may consider buying more.

All in all a good product that my two dogs seem to enjoy eating on a daily basis, and I would recommend this product to owners that may have an older dog with joint problems. If you can get passed the fishy breathe it is all good.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 3rd of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am far from being a spring chicken myself, but since my beloved Hinemoa passed on, I have been blessed by the continued company of our old Alsatian, Koru. Koru is coming up 12 years old and age has not treated her well. Stiff joints that give her a lot of trouble in the colder months, a coat that tends more towards wire-brush than silky-smooth, and a slow degrading of her mental faculties. I look at her, and see myself in all too few more years. I agreed to give this fish oil a try only because I thought it could do no harm and held some promise for Koru. I was right.

I was surprised to find the pump attached to the side of the bottle, where every other product I have come across has had the pump already installed. A quick read of the paperwork that came with this, and some research conducted online by my Mokopuna, soon revealed that this is the way it should be done! The pump, even when sealed down and screwed tight, can let oxygen into the product. For a fish oil, that oxidation will cause the oil to break down and rapidly lose its effectiveness. This bottle is sealed after the oil is apparently flushed with nitrogen, meaning it doesn't need horrible chemical protectants and preservatives. On the down side though, the bottle is too full. One of the young ones got too keen and while trying to be helpful, shoved the pump into place spilling oil all over my coffee table. As strange as this may sound, having a bottle with LITTLE BIT LESS in it would be a good thing.

Koru was asleep next to my chair across the room when this happened. The excited noise of the Mokopuna woke her, and when she caught scent of the oil she struggled up and tottered over to check it out. I was surprised at how keenly she cleaned up the table, then gave me the "Dinner time now?" look. It was still an hour and a half to her regular feeding time and she hasn't asked for an early feed in nearly 5 years since Hinemoa left us both. Feeling my own age catching up with me, I got one of my Tamariki Tane to do the honours. Because of her efforts cleaning the table, Koru got an larger than normal dose that first day. She didn't seem to mind at all.

It has been a few weeks now, with Koru getting a full squirt per meal, twice a day. Her appetite hasn't grown much, but it has grown a little. I think she is enjoying the taste of her food more now. Her movement is also improving, with some of the stiffness already clearly gone. Her eyes now sparkle more, and she has started doing some of her old tricks on command which gives me hope for her mind. The biggest result, the one most obvious, is her coat is returning to a shine again and starting to lose some of the stiffness. I think if I keep this up, as the warmer weather returns and she molts away the last of her stiff Winter coat, I will find a younger, softer coat underneath. I can see signs of it now.

I took her to the vet 3 days ago, for a regular check-up, and the vet was very surprised. In his own words, it is as though I had brought in a younger version of her. He gave her a very detailed check and says that in another month or so on this oil, he would expect many of her age-related problems to be significan'tly reduced, to the point I could look at another 6-12 months of her company than I would otherwise be able to expect. For an old man, this is a blessing that no words can express fully, but I will try by saying tena rawa atu koe to KIWIreviews for giving me this wonderful chance, and to Newflands for putting the love and welfare of our kuri in such high regard that they produce a quality product like this. I will be getting more of this.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Pets'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 8633: Newflands Hoki Gravy -  Brand/Manufacturer: Newflands

Product image for Newflands Hoki GravyNewflands Hoki Gravy is an all-natural, super tasty and palatable sauce to tempt even the fussiest of eaters. Generously mix in with your fur baby's food or medication to enhance the flavour and encourage them to eat. Comes in a 315 ml squirt bottle.

Newflands Hoki is sustainably fished off the coast of New Zealand; this gravy is ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of kiwireviews.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Who was the first person to look at a cow and say, 'I think I'll squeeze these pink dangly things here, and drink whatever comes out?'"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream